Taranto’s Tarantella

In addition to being the most rational, logical, and analytical (not to mention funny) journalist writing today, The Wall Street Journal’s James Taranto must be a very, very nice man. I say that for two reason: 1) he often responds to my emails, and B) he recently did a very, very nice thing – he greatly raised public awareness of WorldNetDaily’s campaign to force President Obama to produce an actual valid birth certificate by launching a specious attack on the site and its owner, Joseph Farah.

Now I am not the biggest fan of Farah & Co. myself because they routinely infuse their stories with highly questionable religious ideology such as “Does XYZ Signal the Coming of the Apocalypse,” and also because they employ Bill Press and Ellen Ratner who, if you don’t know, are two of the looniest of liberals around, which is to say, they’re typical liberals!

However, I have read several stories on WND regarding the site’s questions about Obama’s birth and how it might reflect on his eligibility to be President, and I found them to be cogent. More importantly, they did not say, as James claims they did, that Obama wasn’t born in America.

In essence, and I hope WND forgives me for any inaccuracies, what they want is real evidence of where and when Obama was born because it may be relevant in light of the fact that his father was a British subject and, if I’ve got it right, because his mother may not have been old enough to confer eligibility under laws in effect at the time. But to my knowledge, no conclusions have been drawn. Only questions have been asked.

And it’s Obama’s secrecy (where are his grades and his college papers for example?) that has allowed this controversy to fester. In fact, recent polls have indicated that it may even be growing.  The President has apparently even spent money and employed people to keep such things hidden. Why?

Contrary to what Mr. Taranto states, the Certificate of Live Birth is not the same as a birth certificate. Not even close. It’s like the difference between the standard required to be found guilty in criminal court as opposed the standard to be found liable in a civil court. The birth certificate is proof beyond a reasonable doubt. At it’s worst, the COLB may be merely the recording of a statement by an interested party. Mr. Taranto certainly knows this. He even recently took notice in his column of Hawaii’s Governor Abercrombie and another loony liberal (if you’ll pardon redundant alliteration), Chris Matthews, broaching the subject of an actual birth certificate.

So why attack WorldNetDaily? There’s simply no other reason why a man of Taranto’s stature and intelligence would do so other than to help increase public awareness of WND. And Farah is playing right along pretending to attack back. But did it kill Mr. T. to have to momentarily abandon journalistic principles in order to help his former coworker (Farah)? Well, someone is still claiming to be him in his three subsequent columns, so I sure don’t want to become known as a “deather.”

But I must add this, Mr. Taranto’s attempt to parody yellow journalism by saying that the New York Times was in danger of becoming the leftist counterpart of WorldNetDaily… well that’s actually green journalism – it made me nauseous! Not to mention that I, for one, recoiled in horror at the thought that the Times could rise that high, that fast!

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Humor, Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taranto’s Tarantella

  1. Aput says:

    Hi Ted. Long time no hear.

    Where the heck have you been after Vox? 😛

    Keep in touch,
    Aput

    • tedwest says:

      HI! It’s nice to hear from you. I hope you’re doing well.

      I haven’t done much since Vox. I commented on the NY Post for a bit, but I’ve pretty much hung it up when I came to hate conservatives even more than liberals! Now I basically spend my days cursing the Christian god. That’s not as bad as it sounds though, since there’s no possibility it exists!!

Leave a Reply

