Remember when…? Me Neither

Do you recall when you used to think that journalists had insight and knowledge of facts that you didn't? OK, I admit that I never thought that in my adult life, but there was a time when I was going to school – and beyond that I thought journalists actually were the thinking class.

So what was I thinking? The truth is, I wasn't. I keep saying that I didn't become very politically minded until Clinton took office. Sure I saw the difference between Reagan and Carter, but I didn't think of it in terms of ideology – just competence. And I relied on journalists, many of whom I'd now be ashamed to say I respected, to supply me with the "facts" and perspective. To give you an idea, Sam Donaldson was one.

OK, so here's James Taranto to put all that in perspective now:

Great Moments in Editorial Writing
"Israel's blockade of Gaza is crumbling," opines the Washington Post:

But the solution is not as simple as simply ending the checks on sea and land traffic by Israel. What's needed is a new regime that addresses the legitimate needs of Palestinians in Gaza without further empowering Hamas and its patron, Iran.

Eureka! It's that simple. If only someone had thought of this before.

Meanwhile, the Los Angeles Times editorial page offers these deep thoughts:

It's a drumbeat on the right: The Obama administration is in deliberate denial about the existence of "Islamic terrorism." . . . There is some truth in this criticism. The administration has assiduously avoided terms that recognize the distinct threat posed by those who cite Islam as a rationalization for terror. . . . So what should the proper terminology be? How about "terrorism, carried out in the name of Islam"?

Another problem solved. Now can we send a team of editorialists to the Gulf of Mexico to plug that damn hole?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Remember when…? Me Neither

  1. These people are no longer journalists in the purest form, but they are blatherers, gossipers, mean-spirited idiots and bozo's. There is more truth in the 'Maxine' cartoon. That's who I want to be when I grow up, Maxine, even if she is written by a man.

  2. TedWest says:

    … but made for a woman!That's the secret.Please forgive me.

  3. lol lol lol lol! That was just too easy, wasn't it? You could've thought that one up in your sleep. It's early, so all is forgiven. I haven't been to sleep yet. Working on my book.

  4. TedWest says:

    What a coincidence, I'm working on my book too… which one are you reading?The truth is you're making me feel like I'm in the Twilight Zone. You're married to a doctor, you're writing a book. Don't tell me…it's a story about a cure for cancer that the two of you have developed?

  5. The book I am writing is titled, "The Last Apostle", (and he can cure Cancer too.) What's your book about? As funny as you are, it is either uproarously funny, or damnation serious. My next read is going to be Laura Ingraham's, "Obama Diaries".
    I tell my husband I married him to circumvent the Obama Healthcare program. He tells me that he married me so he could give me physical exams everday.
    I love Rod Serling. His voice and face are priceless. I watch the marathons everytime they air. Clever man, ahead of his time. Died too young…Another fave is Hitchcock.

Leave a Reply

