Why I Love Ann – She Reminds Me It’s Wednesday

"I gather our only strategy is to hope the terrorists' bombs keep fizzling. There's no other line of defense. In the case of the Times Square car bomber, the Department of Homeland Security failed, the Immigration and Naturalization Service failed, the CIA failed and the TSA failed. (However, the Department of Alert T-Shirt Vendors came through with flying colors, as it always does.)- Ann Coulter

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why I Love Ann – She Reminds Me It’s Wednesday

  1. Jeff D says:

    She gets it partly right. In a free society there really is no stopping things like this from happening.

  2. TedWest says:

    Jeff, is everything OK? Because I'm growing concerned that you're becoming the liberal you once protested so vehemently you weren't? My first reaction to your comment was, "If you really think that was Ann's point, I'm not going to root for the Red Sox over the Yankees anymore!" See, it's not Ann who's partly right, she's completely right (allowing for comedic license). It's you who aren't even close to getting the point she was making. It was along the lines of "Why was it that we had no further attacks after 9/11 under Bush, but we've had three prominent ones and other lesser attempts under Bobo, and the fact that two of the three were foiled were sheer luck, right up to the point of pulling the latest pig off the plane?"And to address your comment, may I remind you that in your free society, we also get global warming scams, environmental idiocy, and health care abominations.But OK, we all miss the point occasionally. Unfortunately, you've said some nutty stuff in your last three visits here, and for whatever reason, you haven't responded when it was brought to your attention. And we both know that your real point here is to attempt to minimize Ann – which you aren't capable of doing. You may not like her tone or her views, but the fact is, she's right more often than anyone you can name.I would have taken even greater issue were it not for the fact that while I was writing this, Rush Limbaugh was being downright irrational, so I had to pause to scream at the radio for a while. He was arguing that if we should just get rid of Arizona's law because so many people have broken, are breaking, and will break it, then we should get rid of every law. That's the sort of disconnect you and I can only aspire to!So look, you know I like you, but that comes with some weighty responsibility on your part. I don't mind bias as long as you can support it – which is why I'd again caution you against taking on Ann. And because I feel compelled to respond since I like you, and I don't like taking people I like to task, can you imagine how I feel when those people say things that are irrelevant, immaterial, and even non-responsive (non-sequitur)?Maybe you should consider fleeing Massachusetts for, say, Arizona – or Times Square?!?

  3. Jeff D says:

    No, I'm fine. Just haven't ever been a fan of Coulter and never will be. I think her main motivation (like Rush) is not to point out the truth but to sell more of whatever it is they happen to be selling at the time. If this occassionally involves telling the truth, so be it. If not, so be it. I could point out her glowing piece on the first responders to 9/11 and how they were "real men" when in fact most all of them are liberals and even worse, union members as one example. I'm sure there are endless others.And sorry, but I can't stand the implication that often comes from folks like you (and Ann, Rush, Glenn et al) that if you disagree with them you're a liberal. It's always struck me as being intellectually lazy, something we both know you are not (though I reserve judgment on the other names.

  4. TedWest says:

    Well, I certainly agree about Rush, and you may or may not know that I hold him responsible for all that's gone wrong. But Ann will be critical of Republicans on occasion, though she's far more measured than I am, doubtless because she's more concerned about appearing rational than I am.But now you've done it … what exactly has Ann not been truthful about?Well, I explained to you at the time that I label people liberal on purpose (I can't speak for them). It's not so much lazy as easy, and it triggers the best reactions. I don't you would have gotten so exercised if I'd merely argued with you!?! But you're the exception, as I';m sure you realize. Most people I label are both liberal and proud of it. And it's people like yourself that I want to know – not them. Plus, even though it may appear otherwise, my main purpose here is to entertain – especially myself. That's why I'll exaggerate as necessary and why I only claim to be right when I've first invoked my Infallibility Doctrine. And since I rarely do that, you can make of that what you will.But to address your "lazy" comment more directly, you're not exactly right about me even if you were only being patronizing. Despite how my running on here may look, I hate using all this energy, and I have to work up the motivation to respond to even the shortest comments. And I really hate it if, in the end, something hasn't been said by one of us that makes it all worthwhile.

  5. TedWest says:

    And one last thing… from my perspective, I can't tell how aware you are of all that's gone and going on. I know you've got the big things, but are you aware of all of it? Do you read Drudge for example? Because I've never seen such foreboding headlines – and so many. So you watch anyone who gives you a view of all that's wrong with the man himself? Because I can't see how you can be so mattewr-of-fact about him. He ain't like nobody you've seen.And do you have similar negative feelings about liberal commentators and I just don't see it? Do you criticize Rush and Coulter because you hold them to a higher standard as I do, or do you see them as less "accurate" than say… you know, anyone I'd name on the left would be an absurd and insulting comparison??

  6. Jeff D says:

    I can't say I've ever watched a liberal commentator for more than a few seconds before having to turn them off. Olberman in particular makes all other comers look like Einstein reborn. Simply because liberal commentators talk out of their ass, it's OK for conservative ones to do the same?Sorry, not buying that either. Especially from people who incessantly claim the moral high ground for themselves.

  7. TedWest says:

    Huh? Are you arguing with yourself? Otherwise, what's with the disconnect and not an example in sight? I'm glad we're on the same page about liberal talking heads, but reading between the lines, it sounds like you're not listening to anybody and spending a lot of time arguing with yourself? Please don't tell me you make your own assessments and you don't need any outside input.

  8. I'd kiss he with an open mouth too.

Leave a Reply

