The Best News For Monday, 4/12/2010

In ascending order:

I finished my income taxes. I don't itemize, but I can't use the short form because of a POC rental property that's rapidly becoming more trouble than it's worth. And no matter that I only have to answer the questions my program asks, it never goes smoothly and this was the worst it's been in years, I was literally screaming when the electronic filing screen froze. Do I wait? Do I refresh? My hairdresser wasn't available for comment. But as I indicated, it's done. The IRS has accepted it. I'm getting back $820. Just in time – Thanks to Obamamoney, now I can fix my air conditioner.

Here's better news: "Nearly half of US newspaper and broadcast TV news executives believe their organizations will fold within 10 years unless they find new revenue streams, according to a survey released on Monday." And "24 percent put their life-span at three to five years." Now let's see… there are about five conservative newspapers and/or broadcasters,  So I'd be willing to sacrifices one or more if it meant that hundreds or thousands of biased pigs bit the dust and their reporters had to claw at themselves and for the one or two jobs that open up. But now here's a good laugh: "18 percent said they are working on erecting pay walls around their websites to charge readers online and 58 percent said they were considering such a move." I won't be paying for news if it was the last news on Earth, but I would pay to see them erect the walls!

And finally, here's some truly hopeful and potentially heartwarming news: "The United Nation process is in danger of collapsing unless countries are able to agree on the best way to stop global warming by the end of this year, the outgoing head of climate change negotiations has warned." Is it too much to hope for? Of course. The " outgoing head of climate change negotiations" is a tease – not a restroom as the title may have led you to believe. The meeting of "ministers" in Cancun, Mexico at the end of this year is where they hope to "reach an agreement on the best way to stop catastrophic warming." But they don't need to all go to Mexico to accomplish that, even if Mexico is the best place to do a hat dance. All they have to do is stop taking hallucinogenic drugs!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

