Fox Fails In Bid for Get Conan The Destroyer

It's apparently official, the most unfunny guy ever to host a long-term talk show (and the group even includes Charlie Rose) has signed with TBS. And for his dozen or so viewers, the station will now move George Lopez to a later slot.

I remember when Conan first took over for David Letterman and I asked, "What the hell is THAT?" The expressionless, emotionless, wooden O'Brien did offer quite a contrast to Lettermen – and to comedians everywhere.

But Conan did bring a new wrinkle to the comedy monologue – he mastered the art of delivering a punchline that was so deadpan that the audience didn't know it even was a punchline – so O'Brien would then proceed to explain it – and then explain it again – as many times as necessary until somebody finally laughed.

Now I haven't seen Conan more than a half dozen times in all the years he's been on, but I was delighted to see him get the Tonight Show gig – because it would finally validate my marvelous ability to recognize funny when I see it, and help explain why I recoil in horror when someone tries to be funny against their will..

But I must admit that I could not have expected such a rapid demise. I guess that's what happens when you drop bombs every single night – eventually one explodes.

I did watch the Tonight Show once during the "Conan Era," and it was an amazing experience. If anything he was even more wooden than the day he started, and he clearly had not made a bit of progress in all those years. If he didn't make all those millions, I'd have felt bad for the guy.

Note that I haven't even addressed his interview skills. When he gets some, I will.

So you can imagine my consternation when I heard that Fox was vying for his "talent." What, they didn't remember Joan Rivers and Chevy Chase? Well, maybe somebody finally did and Fox did win? And TBS got second prize – Conan O'Brien!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

