I Heard It Through The Grapevine.

And I'm about to lose my mind. Remember all the times Rush strings together a bunch of liberals who are all saying the same dumb thing? Well today it was conservatives' turn. The subject, as I've already mentioned once, was the 47% who pay no taxes, and it was not the conservatives' finest hour. In fact, it's a perfect example of why I'm so hard on conservatives – because you want group-think to be the exclusive domain of liberals, but there's ample evidence that it's not, and today it was in your face stupid as conservatives at the highest level came together to decry the fact that 47% have escaped the tyranny of the income tax.

What were they thinking? "If you want to demonize the rich, we'll show you guys… we'll demonize the poor." Because they acted as if those who pay no tax are responsible for it. What, is it like Neil Cavuto says about the Fox Business channel, if you pay no tax, "DEMAND IT!?" Or how about conveying this message to the very group that thinks Republicans are the party of the rich… "Vote for us and we'll let you pay taxes just like we do?" Brilliant.

Yet there it was for all to see. In my area it started at 7am and concluded on Cavuto's show at 2pm… Beck would have continued the theme in the next hour, I'm sure, if he hadn't been ahead of the curve and addressed the "injustice" yesterday.

So let's have a little look at conservatives at their illogical, shoot-yourself-in-the-foot best – if in fact Cavuto is a conservative. I mean, he worked for Jimmy Carter. Sure it was a long time ago, but it was JIMMY CARTER!. And yes, we all have become more conservative as we've aged – if our early liberal ways haven't driven us insane, but we all have one thing in common that Cavuto doesn't: WE DIDN'T WORK FOR JIMMY CARTER.

As you watch this, I ask you to take my word that Rush was less sympathetic than Cavuto while at the same time being a less sympathetic figure than Cavuto, and making even less sense. But Cavuto will do, and just listen to the straw man he sets up and can't even knock down…

So do you agree with Cavuto that most don't pay any attention to the price when someone else is paying? Or am I one of the few who would order something less expensive than what I'd get if I were paying for it myself? I submit that Cavuto is a moron… that you, too, would not want to be seen taking advantage of your host.

So Cavuto's opening premise is shot, but I'll give him the benefit of the doubt and say that it's a toss up – that maybe a lot of people wouldn't give a thought to cost if someone else offered to buy their meal. The indictment then as it applies to citizens and their government is that most if not all people who don't pay taxes are moochers who don't care what it costs as long as they get theirs?

So when Cavuto rails that those who pay nothing don't care about the cost of government benefits, maybe it goes beyond sheer selfishness. Maybe it starts with a failure to communicate and a failure to grasp, and it goes so far as to have people feel that the waste and corruption is so vast and they've been taken advantage of in so many other ways that they aren't going to turn down a benefit because A) They're entitled to it ny law, B) it won't make a bit of difference in the overall, and C) it's merely a bit of compensation for the many times they've been raped by government.

I'm not saying that's all right, but it's different from the lout Cavuto describes. And I want to note again that the people who pay no taxes and those who get government benefits are not one and the same. Also, how many people would be happy to give up a benefit for a cleaner, fairer, more efficient, less costly government? That's outside Cavuto's realm of concern.. And Limbaugh's.

Cavuto continues his exercise in mindlessness by saying that those who have no "skin in the game" have very little reason to worry about the cost. NONSENSE. Even an idiot might see that it could all come crashing down, but what's worse is Cavuto's hideous blanket cynicism. And we wonder why people think conservatives are willing to let people die in the streets? If you know who Snowy is, and why should you, he actually apologized to me on these pages when he realized that I didn't fit the view he had of conservatives. Unfortunately, I could not respond by saying that his stereotype of conservatives was wrong. And I'm certainly not a "compassionate conservative" myself.

But I try to think of the average guy – the guy who's worse off than I am even if he makes more than I do. Because most people do lead lives of quiet desperation, and anything that lessens the desperation  for some that doesn't impose more desperation on others is a good thing. So can you name a rich guy who went broke because he had to pay more taxes? Can you even name a rich guy who was no longer rich because of taxes? And if you have one, be careful. You might just prove my point by the dearth of examples.

I grant that some rich guys might be less motivated to expand business and create jobs as a result of higher taxes, but that's speculative, and the fact is, somebody has to pay. The problem, again, is not who pays, but the number, size and scope of the programs. That's not the fault of the guy who pays no taxes.

I wish Rush and Neil would recognize that under the 16th amendment. if we adhered to what it was supposed to be and what it was in the beginning, they'd still be the guys paying income taxes, and a whole lot more than 50% wouldn't. Granted they'd be paying a lot less, but would they still be complaining?

And if you find yourself agreeing with Cavuto in any way, ask your doctor if Sodium Pentobarbital is right for you.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Heard It Through The Grapevine.

  1. If you think that the Federal [sic] government hasn't become a crony run organized crime like enterprise you are over looking the big picture or are an idiot. And I didn't vote for Jimmy Carter either.

  2. TedWest says:

    Try to focus.. what has that got to do with the subject of Cavuto ire?
    Which reminds me, does Cavuto include freeloaders-lite, people who pay almost no taxes? What's the cutoff for Neil, do you suppose?

  3. When it comes to government programs most people thinkt that they are entitled to them because they have either paid FICA or another tax. You might be nit picking here Ted. I don't see Cavito enough to dislike him.

  4. TedWest says:

    Most people? I'm sure you can provide some evidence? And FICA or "another tax"? People ARE entitled to Social Security, and about the other taxes… I'm sympathetic. I've paid a load of property taxes in my time, and I don't have a kid. In addition, maybe you haven't heard, but they aren't lowering the value of your property to reflect its actual value so you're paying more property taxes than you should. You have to appeal, and the process can take over a year. So you too are reading things into the statistic for which there is no basis to form any assumptions. It's almost as if you and he are saying that those who pay nothing are not good Americans. And again I ask,, what's the cutoff then? How much income tax does one have to pay before he's a bona fide citizen in good standing?And you're still not on subject or you didn't quite grasp what Cavuto was saying, and I didn't think I'd have to parse it line by line because it was so outrageous. Not only did Cavuto set up a straw man, but then he attributed actions to him as if he were some real guy, and a real guy representative of the whole. Then he equated those who pay no taxes with people who DEMAND MORE for free, and then he suggests they should be degraded in some way. How insulting… for starters. Focus the complaint on Congress, the President (and be sure to include Bush), programs, etc, but how dare he blame a group of faceless people who make up half of the electorate.What should people who owe nothing do to "redeem" themselves? I can't ask Cavuto, so maybe you can advise?I couldn't be happier that so many people don't pay anything, and I wish there were far more. Because they get little for their money, the income tax is immoral, and I doubt very much that even a majority of the non-payers are demanding more. The only, ONLY solution to the financial crisis is to lessen programs and expenditures, not vilify those who, through no fault of their own, own nothing, and then demand (or even imply) they pay more so that richer people won't have to. People like Cavuto need to be able to distinguish fact from fiction, and I have no patience when they can't. And if that's not bad enough, when people who can't demonstrate that they clearly see and understand what's being said accuse me of not seeing clearly myself, you'll forgive me for taking it a little badly.I suggest you watch the video again and pay close attention to what Cavuto is saying, bearing in mind that before 1916, no one paid any income tax, and for a time after 1916 only the rich did. ONLY the rich.

  5. Wow Ted did I strike a nerve? Social Security is a Ponzi Scheme, Bernie Madoff had more real assets in reserve. One may be entitled to Social Security benefits but there is nothing in the cookie jar Uncle Sugar has to extract taxes from wage earners to pay curent benefits. I hate both the income tax and the idea that government is responsible for our welfare. Voters that don't see an increase in their income tax have less of an incentive to lower the taxes on the rest of us that do pay- I think that is the point.

  6. TedWest says:

    Don't give me that crap. The nonsense you've posted here is a good example of why I hate to come to my own blog. But to answer your question, despite the fact that you can't answer mine, at least not rationally, yes, you did strike a nerve – by being stupid. I felt you wouldn't be able to resist the opportunity to dig deeper, and voila, Exhibit C..Any point you and Cavuto wanted to make was lost in the idiocy that surrounded it. Now may I suggest you start with the last line of my commentary and work backward?. To address anything you've said would only validate it.

  7. The Income Tax is the new slavery. Now the overspending resulting in our national debt plus all the unfunded liabilities beyond the official debt will be used as justification to further increase taxes of all kinds on everyone. The government is using the excuse of "security" to spend more which is actually a public fraud when viewed in the big picture. I could carry this discussion on infinitum…

  8. TedWest says:

    I have no doubt that you could go on indefinitely. because you go off on a new tangent with each post. So the income tax is the new slavery? Where did you get that? Don't tell me -, ME!
    The rest of what you said, again has nothing to do with Cavoto's rant. But take heart, I can at least assure you that you won't be going on "infinitum."

  9. Alert the media Ted disagrees with Neil Cavuto. I stand by my statement the the income tax is the new slavery- you are a bright guy so think about it.

  10. TedWest says:

    Zak, this may come as a surprise to you, but I've indulged you any number of times because you're usually on the right side of issues. But then there are those times (like this one) when you're blinded by ideology, and so you go and do some damn fool thing like support Ron Paul or say you didn't support the Iraq war because you're cheap. Stunningly shortsighted is a better way to describe it.
    But fine, Paul will never be President, and you'll never be Don Quixote, so why bother. And I must admit it's flattering that you've taken my statement about the income tax and made it a useful addition to your repertoire, but when you don't even know that you got it from me and ask me to consider it because I'm a "bright guy," well, let me leave it at I hope to be able to return the compliment someday. In the meantime, I'll just say, in your heart, you know I'm right.

  11. The right man may never be President I accept reality as disgustingly sad as it may be. As far as the middle east is concerned I just hate to waste money and American lives on causes where the probability exists that the out come won't be of any lasting benefit. I think that Iran is a greater threat than Iraq but the costs of perpetual war is something to consider before taking action. Carry on my brother.

  12. TedWest says:

    I can see that returning the compliment may take a very long time, and I'd tell you to carry on as well if it weren't for the fact that it's what you've been doing here for two days, so I'll just add "elsewhere."

  13. Well I'll see you later…

  14. TedWest says:

    You piece of crap, I thought that's what this is about… you think you're gonna have the last word? If you do, you're thicker that I thought. Now off with you little man.

  15. No it's not about having the last word Ted & I was civil to you.

  16. TedWest says:

    I don't care if you were civil or not – stupid trumps civil, and I place no value on civility anyway if you haven't noticed, And why should you if your comments here are any indication of how your cognitive processes wotk. Now regardlesws of what you were, are, or will be, you and I both know you're done here pending some miraculous enlightenment. I know how I could help, but I don't have a two-by-four handy.

Leave a Reply

