If This Is The Best We’ve Got…

Let's get this straight – the biggest thing that's wrong with Republicans in Congress is that there are Democrats they regard as friends.

That's inexcusable. Unforgivable. There are a lot of decent people in this world, so there's isn't a single reason why someone should be friends with a liberal. "But what if you didn't know they were liberal when you got to know them," you ask? Been there, done that. It ended badly.

That's also a different story. When people go to Congress, they know who's who. So the only reason to even debate Harry Reid is because you can't punch his face in.

Which brings me to Tom Coburn.

Remember how thrilling it was to seem him take a stand against those who were voting for the ruinous health care bill? Well, today, according to Rush Limbaugh, Ole Tom called Nancy Pelosi "a nice person."

Can you envision a scenario in which that could be true?

Well Tom can. Hell, he already has!

But rest assured, he'll be tough when being tough is tough.

Just like all the other Republicans.

And you say you want a revolution…?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to If This Is The Best We’ve Got…

  1. I met a rattle snake but I didn't try to make friends with it.

  2. TedWest says:

    Well, you haven't lived until you do.
    But you did remind me of a joke I wrote during the 2001 World Series. Some reporter commented that a vendor was selling rattlesnake skins outside the ballpark. I said that wasn't news. What would be news is if they were selling Yankee skins!

  3. Waterbaby says:

    As Rush noted in referencing Coburn's comment, Hitler had friends too … as did, I might add, Stalin, Idi Amin, Saddam Hussein and other figures harmful to their nations, people and world. Life shows that the worst characters are often loaded with friends (or money or power or influence or talent and more, O.J. Simpson just now springing to mind). I don't like Pelosi but can understand, on the level it was made, Coburn's comment.

  4. Unless Coburn said it just before sticking the harpoun into Pelosi's back he's an idiot.

  5. TedWest says:

    Yeah, I have to agree with Zak. There is no possible justification for Coburn sayiing that in a free society where some idiot like me might completely misinterpret it and think he actually likes the… lizard.

  6. Waterbaby says:

    Saying X-person's nice and saying you like X-person is not the same (neither can one be inferred from the other).

  7. TedWest says:

    Since you didn't elaborate, I beg to differ. When one says someone is nice, it would be be strange to follow such a comment with, "but I don't like him." You could argue that a person can say, I'm sure he's very nice, but I don't like him, but that implies that the person making the comment doesn't find that person to be very nice and is merely paying lip service to the compliment. You could also say that a person finds someone to be nice but doesn't know him well enough to like him, but that's nearly as strange as saying, "but I don't like him.".
    Someone might regard me in the way you seem to describe.- others may find him to be nice, but I don't like him. But he's not saying I'm nice, only that it is alleged. But a case could easily be made that I'm not nice, and people who like me could be the best ones to make it!

  8. Waterbaby says:

    What the? If someone says Person X is nice, that's that. There's no need to continue with "but I like him or I don't like him" unless the person wishes to so convey. Again, to describe Person X as nice is not to imply whether Person X is liked or disliked, neither should it be inferred. If the speaker wishes to add that information, so be it.

  9. TedWest says:

    I see what you mean now – that an observation requires no feelings about said observation. I'll concede that but it seems more likely in the abstract even as I concede that since I can't grasp how others think, it's certainly possible that someone could regard someone as nice without having extended feelings.
    I also had to reconsider what I said about it not making sense to say that someone is nice, but I don't like him. I remembered that TImothy is out there somewhere. You may know hm as Rosemead Harold?

Leave a Reply

