Spotlighting The Pigs

Thank you, Ted Nugent.

Until Ted went on international TV and called a pig a pig, I have to admit that even though I'd been doing the same thing for a long time, I'd always felt a bit uncomfortable doing it. That's because it required a conscious decision each time… "what will people think of me?" "I don't care, it has to be said."

From now on, I won't give it a thought.

Now it will be all pigs, all the time.

And today we turn to the enormous number of pigs, occasionally referred to as mainstream journalists, who will go to virtually any extent to protect the Pig-in-Chief, and specifically this headline of the day:

Health overhaul likely to strain doctor shortage

First a short explanation as to why this is about Pigbama. He owns the health care bill… anything that casts doubt on its efficacy is a threat to him… thus, the pig who wrote the headline couldn't bring himself to say… Obamacare Likely To Make Doctor Shortage Worse.

That would be too close to home for Dear Leader. So instead we get doublespeak. A doctor shortage is already a bad thing, Right? And this bill will strain it? In other words, it's going to STRAIN THE STRAIN?

PIGS!

In fairness, the article itself is not so deferential to Pigbama's plan. even though it doesn't mention him by name… or title, The Creator, but it does try to minimize the the alarm you might feel for what promises to be a dire shortage of doctors

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spotlighting The Pigs

  1. Eat healthy, exercise & find your own answers. Keeping fit and healthy is the best revenge. The fat, chain smoking ass***** on welfare will see an early grave.

  2. TedWest says:

    I often wonder what vibe I give off that causes people to say the things they do to me? I'm sure you don't see that's the very attitude that helped get us where we are today.

  3. 1. Fascism fails where ever it's tried and the unconstitutional bill passed by congress and signed by the president is just that.
    2. I'm all for compassion but over spending by congress is fraud and state welfare is not compassion it's command and control.
    3. Congress will never be able to pay off the debt – so this is fraud.
    4. All I can do is live my own life as best as I can- that's all you can do.
    5. I believe that I am the owner of my life and government is a thief.

  4. TedWest says:

    Do you care that you sound like a nut?

  5. To whom? Dan Rather, Chris Matthews? No I don't – I've witnessed my country's political actions and participated in the political process since 1964. Is the USA on the road to be the next USSR?

  6. TedWest says:

    You're now mixing cause and effect. All the bad things you've described are happening, and they are likely to get worse. But it's people with attitudes like yours who helped bring it about. Republicans/Conservatives had enormous opportunity to steer this country on a proper course, and they failed absolutely… because they didn't care. In your words, they were all for compassion but…
    But not enough to do anything to help people who were not as fortunate… who couldn't help themselves… and who were losing their health and their wealth because they couldn't afford proper insurance. And even having insurance didn't guarantee they'd not be ruined.
    Very few people think the current course is a good idea, but that isn't the point, is it? The point is that now Republicans are all for health care reform… just not what we got… That which they're responsible for us getting. Because they were insensitive as all get out, and they'd still be so now if they could be.
    You can talk all you want about individual responsibility, but such talk is usually coming from those who haven't been devastated by events in which they had no control. And eat healthy? That's just so much bunk. I've been a vegetarian for decades and I'm no healthier than anyone else, though luckily, I'm not as unhealthy as some. But then that's just a matter of time for every single one of us.
    I suggest you focus your anger where it belongs – on Republicans. You can still hate liberals, believe me.

  7. This started long before the inflaion of health insurance costs. Medicare's cost shifting and the actual inflation are factors to be sure. Whether I care or not [I actually do] is not a cause. Technology does cost and it does save lives. We could practice cheap 1950's medicine…there will be shortages and rationing will follow. There has always been private giving in America Ted. The Republicans have a five year plan to destroy individual freedom the Democrats want to do it immediatly.

  8. TedWest says:

    I want to thank you for helping me figure out what the crux of the problem is.
    First, I want to completely agree with you about liberals and their programs. I'm absolutely astounded when a politician or one of their admirers cite Social Security and Medicare as successful programs. They should be shot where they stand.
    BUT…
    While individual responsibility is highly desirable, you have no more right to impose that on people than the liberals do their costly and wasteful programs which they then use to control, bribe, and extort.
    There's an element of individual responsibility that is equivalent to sticking one's head in the sand. It's like, "I'll take care of myself and you take care of yourself." That's easy enough for you to say as long as you CAN take care of yourself. But even with that attitude, you have to actively see to it that others less capable don't suffer more because a system's (and here I'm referring to health care) benefits are out of reach. That means that even those in favor of less government have to use government to see to it that, for example, people aren't denied options or completely ruined because they have a pre-existing condition.
    I'm sure you'd agree that, in America, no one should be ruined for life because he's unfortunate enough to get sick? So how does "find your own answers" solve that?

  9. And George W Bush campaigned as a "Compassionate Conservative."

  10. Find your own answers means actively managing your life not waiting for the State or other institutions provide for your needs. Believe me when I tell you that I've had some really bad medical care with private insurance and had to find good care by switching during a course of treatment. While no one should be ruined- no one can guarantee that or anything else. My daughter had a germanoma pituitary tumor and I had testicular cancer.

  11. TedWest says:

    I get your meaning, but you're off on another tangent – quality of care – which is non-existent and now going to get far worse. And maybe I'm not being clear either. I know nothing can be guaranteed, so lets take just one thing, competition, and I'll try to show what I'm getting at when I blame Republicans for everything.
    They simply stood by and did nothing since they attained some power in 1994 which, coincidentally, is about the same year health costs officially became a crisis. Why didn't anyone demand then that insurers be allowed to compete across state lines? Why didn't they attempt to remove other regulations that prohibited the free market from setting rates and spurring competition? We'll never know what sort of plans insurers might have offered if there were dozens of competitors by state and they were free to offer whatever benefits they felt consumers might buy.
    I'm certainly not saying the Republicans could have achieved any of that, but they didn't even try. No wonder people looked at them as the insensitive party.
    And another thing. The very ideas that separate us might be moot points if only the free market were allowed to work. But it's government's role to see that it does. Our government impedes it as you well know, and nothing in the bill that passed changes anything for the better. So we are absolutely doomed to even lesser quality of care.
    I could give you some personal examples myself, but we all have to manage our own lives, right? 😉
    Let me do something rare and explain my feeble joke. You can't help me, nor I, you. We can only comisserate. Maybe not at our level, but at some level, government has to see to it that people get the care they need – and that's a moot point itself, because it isn't going to happen. So you see, you win by default.

  12. TedWest says:

    I missed your Bush comment at first. Bush was as much a fraud as Obama. Had he not had 9/11 to hang his hat on, I beleive everyone in the country would hate him as much as I do. I don't know if you remember this, but I was already screamin' about it before we were attacked. Bush was already at work trying to legalize immigrants starting with agricultural workers, and he had to alter his plans after 9/11.

  13. The joke is that W used the tagline "compassionate" as if to diferentiate himself from Conservatives because they lack compassion.

  14. TedWest says:

    Right, and I was disgusted the first time I heard it for the very reason he tried to differentiate himself that way. I'm proud to say that I was never a Bush supporter. Unfortunately, McCain was the alternative then too. So now we know that no matter whom we elected, we were screwed.

  15. Goldwater and Ronald Reagan mattered because they were traditionalists, i.e., Conservative or Libertarian centric. They were a departure from the Progressive wing of Teddy Roosevelt, Dewey, Eisenhower and Nelson Rockefeller. Without them the Republican Party would be just like the Democrats.

  16. TedWest says:

    And nothing much has changed. The Republicans will not be fielding an acceptable candidate for President in 2012 the way things look now.

  17. The Bush family killed conservatism.

Leave a Reply

