BJ And The Baier

I want to revisit my comments about Brett Baier's interview with the Evil One in the wake of all the praise that's being heaped upon him. The spin is that Baier was the first one to confront Bobo since he was… born? That's probably true, but the actual timespan is since the election.

That's true.

The other spin is that Baier was confrontational and made Mr. Coffee squirm, and that "praise" is coming from both sides. Those on the right think Baier did a great job of putting the El Presidente on the spot, and those on the left characterize it all as disrespectful of Dear Leader.

That's true too.

But the fact is that Bobo is never prepared to handle any criticism or confrontation, and as such, Baier did a weak and meek job of it. It was Blue Boy (according to the Washington Post) who took the ball and ran with it – headlong into a wall. Baier, almost inadvertently, exposed how ill-prepared your president was to deal with any opposition.

No, forget opposition… Bobo was completely disarmed by the slightest bit of disagreement. So yesterday, I harped about Baier being poorly prepared, and only alluded to Bobo's disarray. But of the two, Baier was clearly better prepared.

So even though I was irritated by Baier's performance, he did pull off what he's being praised for today. Not as much as the compliments would indicate, but well enough to be sure. And enough to make Bobolicious hesitant to do it again, I'm also sure.

In the end, I don't hate Brett Baier, despite what I said yesterday. In thinking about it all, I have to say that my opinion of him is unchanged, but since this was really his first foray, I'll remain hopeful that he's learned from the experience, and that the next time, he will nail the messiah to the cross. I don't believe he actually will, but that's a moot point, since Bobo will not let himself get in that situation again.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BJ And The Baier

  1. JBodine says:

    You can be sure Brett Baier will not get another shot. I'm confident that the "won" only consented to the Fox gig by picking Baier, thinking him a mild manner fellow all giddy about getting the interview. Turns out that O'Reilly is actully more defferntial to the "won". If Fox gets another interview, rest assured it will be with the respectful (to Obambi) O'Reilly

  2. TedWest says:

    You're a regular ShoeDini!
    But seriously folk, that was a great assessment. I remember Billy's interview with Bamalamadingdong, and he wanted to keep it jovial. So he asked some pointed questions, but he always backed off rather than press the point.
    And I've been wondering what the Black House thought it had to gain in this interview. Even if Baier had been a complete pussycat, Bobo wouldn't have won anyone over, and not because he's so robustly and deservedly hated, but because there's nothing he could say that would make Bobocare the least bit attractive.

Leave a Reply

