The Headline Of The Day

"Consumer prices excluding food and energy fall"

In other words, everything you need to buy went up! Everything you can put off or do without went down! Except at Maaco, the car painting company – their bargain rate just went up 20%, right when I was getting around to having the old Honda sprayed, so it will remain a lovely shade of camouflage.

And so did interest rates sort of. The Fed finally moved, raising a key but obscure rate, and it will hopefully signify the start of better returns on your savings. Of course, one major downside is that higher interest rates will have a stunning effect on the national debt. The increasing cost of carrying that debt will be wildly disproportional to the meager increased return you get on your bank account.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Headline Of The Day

  1. They use funny math anyway,,,

  2. Hi Guys:
    I've missed all of you. Glad I have someone else do the funny math for me. It was never my favorite subject. I just made sure I had male professors for all my math classes. hehe…

  3. TedWest says:

    Hey, thanks for dropping by. I hope you're doing well!

  4. Jeff D says:

    I've always hated the hypocrisy of that. They usually also make adjustments to minimize housing expense as well. So it's like they can say "Inflation is in check, except for the items that consume over 60% of the average American's money."Don't even get me started on the unemployment statistics…

  5. Well I started a new job today. 🙂

  6. TedWest says:

    I go crazy about inflation from all sides. First, I hate people who think it';s inevitable because they're the very ones who fuel it by continuing to buy things that go up in price. And of course the way inflation is calculated is completely bogus. The only thing that's certain is that it's several times higher for most people than the government says it is.And understating it keeps Social Security payments down, which means recipients get screwed on both ends.
    I'd apologize for taking so long to respond, but in this case, I'm glad I did since I can now ask: how about that Scott Brown-nose, that didn't take long, did it?
    Btw, how's Vista treating you?

  7. TedWest says:

    OH, so YOU'RE the one!?!
    Congratulations… right?

  8. Yes & it's a design job on a Chinese mining project in Peru.

Leave a Reply

