Bill Me Later – Trying Harder

My wife pointed to a flashing message machine this morning. It turned out to be someone from Bill Me Later. Oh-oh! Had I been too quick to criticize? Would I have to never stop trying to make up for the bad-mouthing I've been giving them? I couldn't return the call fast enough, though I must say, it was the first time I felt nervous in a situation like this in a very long time.

And from experience, I know that when someone from a company initiates contact this far into a bad set of circumstances, there's a very high probability that a good will gesture is in the immediate offing.

Which means I'd have to not just eat my words, I'd have to apologize profusely to the company, to you, and I'd have to humbly admit how wrong I was… for starters.

Well, I called the person back, and you won't believe the outcome.  It's way more than I could have anticipated.

Gia Mooney had no more concern for Bill Me Later's role in the misunderstanding and the subsequent nuisance they caused me (and she was still causing me as you're about to see) than the previous supervisor I spoke to last week. And not only was she a monolith, she actually told me that BML had done everything properly. I asked if that included the non response to my emails, but since she was talking nonstop, she missed that.

And that was after I'd not only gone to the trouble of stating my case yet again, but after I'd asked her if there was any point in restating my case yet again. I specifically inquired as to whether she had her mind already made up such that nothing I'd say could make any difference, and she replied that if I had any "new information," she'd hear it.

Well, everything old is new again How did I know what she knew and what she didn't, so…off I went.

 But she even topped herself after it was abundantly clear she was an immovable object.

I asked why she bothered to call me if she'd already predetermined the outcome, and her reply? Because I'd asked the supervisor on Friday to have her supervisor contact me. I swear!

But I could top that – I said, "Well then, have YOUR supervisor call me then."

And she regained the summit with this – "You'll have to write him, he doesn't call people." (rimshot)

I told her that I'd pay the balance today if she'd guarantee that I;d have no further charges or nuisance.

GM: "I can handle that."

Me: "Fine, and I'll continue to talk about my terrible experience with Bill Me Later."

GM: "If that's what you want to do… have a great day."

The balance is already paid, but ironically, Before I talked to Gia, I'd already decided that if BML belatedly came through, I was going to shock Buy.com by returning their credit.

Since that didn't happen, Buy, Bill, and Me? Well, we're all losers.

And about the title, Bill Me Later is certainly going the extra miile – they certainly have no intention of being the second worst company in America, and they're not going to rest until people know they're at absolute zero – neither will I.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bill Me Later – Trying Harder

  1. Waterbaby says:

    I've been in your shoes, on the receiving end of a Gia Mooney. And it's frustrating, aggravating and/or anger-producing as hell. BML has certainly proven and confirmed that it's a company to stay away from … for those of us who actually care about and hold companies to any standard, that is!

  2. TedWest says:

    I explained to Ms. Mooney that I was a former credit manager for two prominent companies, and I said that if I were in her subordinate's shoes and someone was upset and threatening not to pay because of a perceived injustice, the very last thing I would do is to threaten them with more fees. That it would be adding insult to injustice.
    Her response was to tell me that all the people I dealt with acted properly. And get this, she even read me the documentation the first guy had written. In it, he'd noted that I was going to pay the balance minus the $25.
    But he did not say that I was doing that on HIS advice, and she absolutely refused to consider that. Why would I tell him that I was making a deduction if I didn't have an expectation of receiving it? Was I being obstinate? His documentation made no mention of that.
    Didn't matter to her. The only thing that mattered, and I told her this, was that in their eyes, I wasn't entitled to the discount, case closed. So anything that happened subsequently that caused me nuisance was solely my problem.
    Had I been their boss, you know, He Who Cannot Be Reached By Phone, I'd have had a meeting with these people to discuss all that they did wrong, to explain that even a most minor token gesture might have been enough to salvage the situation, and to let them know that this better not ever happen again.
    Bill Me Later is a truly rotten company, and those who don't heed my words will richly deserve whatever they get.

  3. Waterbaby says:

    lol, trust me, I'm heeding your words! You know, I had a similar encounter with Verizon, where every other week I was calling over an issue and the supervisor relied on, hmm, let's call them imperfect notations from a previous CSR. Drove me to the brink of madness trying to work out matters!

  4. TedWest says:

    In my case, it wasn't improper notations as much as how the supervisor chose to interpret them. The representative had not been thorough, but it was still easy to see that I was relying on his advice.
    Meanwhile, BML asked me to take a survey yesterday, I don't expect anything to come of it, but it was the most fun fifteen minutes I've had since I last made love.

Leave a Reply

