WARNING: Stay Away From BILL ME LATER – Continued

Well, it has already taken more time than it's worth from a monetary standpoint, but the principle is what's more important. When you have a bad experience with a company, you own it to people to let them know about your encounter so that they can judge for themselves and possibly be more prepared for the possibility of a bad experience of their own.

So I've written Bill Me Later several more times without further acknowledgement on their part, so their intent is clearly to shut the door, customer be damned, what's one customer anyway?

But I've also written to Buy.com, the company from which I bought the product, and I wrote Amazon because I'd heard they had an ownership stake in BML. To my amazement, Amazon replied almost immediately, not only denying any ownership, but further informing me that Amazon was discontinuing it's relationship with Bill Me Later – so yay! Though I wouldn't read too much into that. It could be that Amazon was flooded with complaints, but it's just as likely that the company will be using other avenues for receiving payment.

My approach to Buy.com, however is different. Since this all happened on their site, they are ultimately responsible. I acknowledged my ignorance in my email, but it's still the case that my ignorance should not have mattered. If I wasn't getting a discount, that should have been clear, and it was just the opposite – I was led to believe that the discount was forthcoming.

I'm also preparing a letter to PayPal because not only did they introduce me to BML, but when I went to pay for something I bought this very day, the ONLY alternative I was presented at first was Bill Me Later. I had to wait for the promo to conclude before I could select PayPal as my payment method. That's sure gonna grate on me if it continues.

So I'm wondering what you think my chances are? Should I kiss the $25. goodbye and prepare for other fees because I didn't pay the balance in full to BML? What would you expect if you were in my place?

I guarantee one thing… this is not the end of the story.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WARNING: Stay Away From BILL ME LATER – Continued

  1. Waterbaby says:

    I wanna applaud you first for standing up and *speaking up* and holding these parties to a standard. I'm a passionate consumer advocate sort myself and quick to bring matters to the attention of companies as you have done because I feel in part a responsibility to do so. And one of my pet peeves is the huge number of people who DON'T do that, who accept crappy services or products without saying a word. It's not right. So thank you! It's so refreshing to find someone else on Vox who holds companies accountable.As for the $25, frankly, I couldn't say, I got sorta lost in the story's telling/details, sorry.

  2. TedWest says:

    Thanks, but as appreciated as they are, I'm not looking for compliments. Apart from obtaining satisfaction, my reason for doing this is to show people that they get nothing if they don't speak up, and if they do, there's a very good chance they'll get some consideration.
    I started fighting for justice when I was still a kid, but even as a young adult, I could barely speak on the phone due to the fear I felt. So here's what changed. I became a credit manager after college, and I can still remember my first call – terrifying – even though I (the company) was the one who was owed!
    Then I read a book – How I Turned Ordinary Complaints Into Thousands Of Dollars. It was life changing. And I heard Jim Rohn who told us to ASK, but with a qualifier – ask with intelligence. I was already good at seeing things logically and by then, speaking in public was nothing, so when I put it together and started to state my cases clearly, unemotionally, and fairly, I astounded myself with what people were willing to do to make things right.
    In truth, it's the rare company who won't do a thing – like Bill Me Later. That's why BML is so terrible. People my think, "Oh, it's one minor incident with one little person." Fine. if you want to deal with them, it's only a matter of time before you find out for yourself. The woman at BML wasn't the least bit phased when I told her what I would be saying about them and by what means. That means she had full confidence that those above her approved of her manner and method.
    Btw, the trick from that book I mentioned is to start at the bottom and immediately go to the next level when there was the slightest resistance. The point was that in a big company, you can get a lot of NOs, but it only takes one YES!
    My biggest achievement was saving five grand on a mortgage for a house I was about to close on because I felt the terms hadn't been fully disclosed. But almost no amount is too small if there's a principle involved.
    As for those who don't speak up, there are a number of reasons why they don't, and I feel sorry for them. That's another reason why I try to set companies straight – for those who can't. And if they read about my exploits, maybe they will get the strength someday themselves.
    And lastly, it is I who want to thank you for standing up. Because I know it's not easy. Me, I thrive on conflict such that if it doesn't exist, I'll create it! And my attitude is that if I'm unhappy, someone else is gonna be too. Someone put it a little differently (better) though, but I can't remember who – I'm not happy until you're not happy!!!

  3. Waterbaby says:

    "And my attitude is that if I'm unhappy, someone else is gonna be too." – LOL LOL! Toooo funny!I know you weren't looking for compliments; please accept them graciously for they were extended sincerely.I'll have to see whether the library carries that book, not because I need it, I don't, rather because it brings me pleasure, and education, to read of the experiences and viewpoints who dare to address the wrongs of companies.I often joke that I'm not Ralph Nader's daughter but I could be … in terms of the activist spirit. I've done battle with little companies and the giants (i.e., Verizon, Comcast, Chase — the latter of which I lose no matter how often I'm in the right). I have a mental list of companies to whom I bring my business with pleasure and those I boycott (Target – despise Target! – and Allied Moving Co. leading that list). I also listen to the experiences of others and act accordingly. For example, my sister (who also is the speak-up type) relayed her experience with Eureka (vacuum cleaners) and based on what she went through, I won't buy from Eureka. I take others' experiences seriously so you can be assured that BML is on my Don't Do list now.

  4. Waterbaby says:

    Oh yeah …"As for those who don't speak up, there are a number of reasons why they
    don't, and I feel sorry for them. That's another reason why I try to
    set companies straight – for those who can't. And if they read about my
    exploits, maybe they will get the strength someday themselves."I can't agree; most CAN speak up, they choose not to, for any number of reasons. And believe me, of the postings where I've relayed either a positive or negative experience with a company, no one cares, really; the postings don't inspire them to speak up. In the 3 years plus I've been on Vox, I can't in fact think of a single person outside of you who expresses such commitment to quality of service and communication when there's a failure thereof. The worst, for me, was my post about (the evil) Target … and having peeps say "oh, that's terrible …" then later reading some peep's post about how they'd just bought X, Y and Z from Target! Grrrrrr!

  5. Close your account with BML asap & I won't buy from any online company that doesn't respond asap to any disputed claim. I hope that you close the books on this to your satisfaction.

  6. TedWest says:

    I have the hardcover, and the author is Ralph Charrel (spelling approximate because it's in the bedroom and for some reason, my wife hates me turning on the overhead light when she's sleeping.
    I haven't had any bad experiences with Target, but I can see the potential. If I remember right, they have a very short return policy.
    Oh, by the way, I love it when companies tell me their "policy." I tell them it's not MY policy. But don't get me wrong, I don't get flippant until I realize there's no hope, and I hasten to add that people would be surprised how many times there's hope even after there appears to be none – you just have to keep your head longer than they keep theirs.
    Maybe I'll get around to writing about the court case I won. It was my finest hour – actually three hours, but even though I won, I often lay awake detailing how I could have argued the case better.
    I can't imagine a scenario where I'd be considering buying a Eureka.
    Now, about the "pipples," as George Hamilton referred to them in Zorro the Gay Blade…
    We may be on opposite sides of the same coin because I certainly agree with you the people can and should speak up, and forcefully, but truthfully, in this day and age, people are ill-prepared to argue their points intelligently, so when they do speak up, they may often just be making it more difficult for people like you and me. I'd much prefer they just waled away with their tails between their legs and ate their loss.
    And about the lack of interest, that may be a different matter altogether. I see that everyday in everything in every way. I watch millionaire everyday (because I am so thrilled when they lose and all the more so when they lose because their ignorant of things they should absolutely know), and everyday, I'm stunned by the lack of awareness of things I encounter hourly – current events, politics, etc., but when there's question about entertainment – a movie, a cartoon, a children's book, they not only are certain with their answers, they literally gush them.
    And when they don't know who Joe Biden is, first I cheer, of course, but then I can't tell you the names I scream at them.
    Btw, when we I wrote about BML last night, I was already in receipt of the letter from Buy.com which I wrote about tonight. I was just curious to see if someone would state categorically that I would lose because I had it happen before, and subsequently, a good time was had by all – mostly.

  7. TedWest says:

    Closing my account is a given, I'm glad you're taking this seriously, and I've already gotten more satisfaction than I expected… I refer you to my latest post on the subject

  8. Getting out for $25 is cheap. Any internet vendor that doen't handle claims in a timely manner is from my experience gaming you and you have seen your money fly away.

Leave a Reply

