Wanna Be Sick? Then Move To Arizona

I know we have a reputation of being the place where people go when they're under the weather, but most people don't know that Arizona is no place to be if you have allergies. In fact, I never had hay fever until I moved here. But I've also recently become allergic to something else – political ads, and the biggest irritant is those ads being run by John McCain against his (about to be) challenger, former Congressman, J.D. Hayworth.

That's right, the ads have been riunning for a month against a non-existent challenger because McCain is about to be in the fight for his political life, and I sure hope he loses. And even if I didn't feel that way before, I'd sure want his term to expire now. Since most people probably haven't heard the spots, let me try to describe what they're like – they're like having Nancy Pelosi right there in your living room!

The worst one has a woman with a low, scratchy voice, claiming that J.D. Hayworth is a big spender who voted from money to control snakes on Guam. You read that right, and the worst part is, I'm glad if he did. Because Brown Tree Snakes are a serious threat. They took over Guam and virtually wiped out birds. The only way they would be good is if they took over Arizona and wiped out John McCain.

And besides that woman, there are other ads featuring McCain himself in all his glorious false piousness telling us that he's fighting for us and that he alone is standing against the Democrat plague – except when it counted most like in Presidential elections and free speech.

Now I'm not the biggest Hayworth fan, but compared to McCain, he's positively Reaganesque, and I hope you get to hear some of the McCain ads so that you can hate John McCain properly, and not just for being a wimpy old progressive fool, you know, like Snowy!?!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wanna Be Sick? Then Move To Arizona

  1. Bravo! Haven't seen the ads down here in Tucson. Senator Asterisk should just fade away. I might re-register Republican just to vote against McCain.

  2. TedWest says:

    I can't tell you how disappointed I was to learn you haven't heard the ads yet. Tucson always seems to have it better than Phoenix.
    It's going to be interesting. Palin is apparently going to campaign for McCain, which I understand as long as she stays with endorsements and doesn't start attacking Hayworth. I don't know if McCain is in serious trouble or not because Hayworth doesn't have the most pleasing persona, but this is definitely the most serious challenge to McCain that I can remember.

  3. The only time I ever voted for McCain was on Nov 4, 2008 (this was a blunder) and I never will again.

  4. TedWest says:

    I heard Limbaugh say today that McCain was the first Republican to LOSE the independent vote since Nixon in 72. That was all the more astounding because McCain was supposed to be the guy who would bring them in.
    Though I think that white guilt was a major factor, McCain's miserable campaign superseded it as the main factor in losing independents. But then Joe Farah argued that McCain would be worse for America, and I didn't want to admit it them, but I think Farah's right.

  5. I thnk that Farah is partially right except McCain's Supreme Court nominees would be better. Goldwater and Reagan were the only Republican Presidential nominees that were not Progressives. I hope that McCain is the last Progressive ever nominated by the Republican Party.

  6. TedWest says:

    I just wrote a columnist today who felt that divided government was best – and I agree given the state of both parties, but I did not like his conclusion, and I think my solution should apply to the Suprem court as well…

    First off, Obama IS a wild-eyed ideologue, and not a very bright one at that.
    But as regards your theory, I see your prescription is the same one Obama offered – hope.
    There's a much better way, I think.
    What's so sacred about a 50+1 majority? Why do 51 people get what they want and 49 have to suffer? Most especially when what the 51 want is radical?
    The quick answer is already in use – the super-majority. When 60% want something, there's a lot better chance the choice will be a good one. Of course, 70%, 80%, 90%, and 100% would be incrementally better still.
    Best,
    Ted

  7. Well Ted, I think that government should be limited both in size and scope. It is dangerous for government to borrow too much money because the politicians who borrow it are not personally liable for its repayment. I think that the minority should always have their rights respected regardless whether it's 51/49 or 99/1. Laws should be written to protect individuals from both the State and other citizens in society.

  8. TedWest says:

    I'd agree with everything you say there and add that debt causes us to be beholden to countries that are not operating in our best interest such that policies and actions we might otherwise take have to be considered in light of who they might be "offending." And China has already started to dictate.
    However, while your concepts are all right and good, the devil is in the implementation. So you can want all day long and never get anywhere. That's why something simple and all-inclusive like the super-majority can be an enormous step forward with a single act. Just think of what we wouldn't be burdened with today if a 60% vote were necessary.

  9. Yes on the 60%. I hope I'm wrong but I think 1965 was the point of no return.

  10. TedWest says:

    I'm with you there too. It was certainly the dividing line between then and now.

  11. I actually listend to talk radio yesterday, Glenn Beck and Sean Hannity. I heard the Munger ad and McCains ad about the underwear bomber.

  12. TedWest says:

    My sympathy goes out to you. I don't know how much you watch the TV talkers, but McCain is now showing up everywhere, and what makes me mad about that is how the media (Fox) is in bed with him. Hayworth is not nearly as "personable" when he's being interviewed. On the other hand, Jim DeMint tacitly endorsed Hayworth, so that's a good thing even if it's almost irrelevant

  13. Well he's old and no man lives forever- two congresscritters croaked this week.

  14. I consider as evil anyone who works to undermine the US Constitution- any moderate, neo-con or progressive, if they are ignorant of their evilness that makes it even worse.

Leave a Reply

