Die Beck Die

It started a few days ago when I read some screamin' liberal (liar) media report of the Glenn Beck gathering in Florida last weekend. The moron was fearful of Beck, of course, but what caught my attention was something else the guy said that had a ring of truth…

It was about Beck calling people to action and the resulting personal enrichment he was getting for it from books sales and appearances, not to mention ratings. I had to admit that it was slightly troubling that Beck might be profiting from the many crises created by the incompetent and crooked Obanimal and his pack of dogs.

Then yesterday, Beck mentioned that he would be conducting seminars next year on how to mobilize and win. "Fine," I screamed, "As long as you don't charge for them!"

Then today something real happened… Beck was talking to some financial guy from Britain (which automatically makes him less credible), and Beck proposed a value-added tax. I started yelling every swear word I could think of, but then I paused for a moment when it sunk in that not only had Beck proposed a value-added tax, he had done so matter-of-factly.

No conservative/libertarian would ever do such a thing, much less do so blithely. Period.

There have been a few times over the years that I have become unglued at Beck's hand. One that comes to mind is also current.

Beck is now playing up the "global warming" fraud that's been uncovered, as he well should. The problem is that last year I heard him tell someone that he believed in global warming, and no, I didn't misunderstand and my memory isn't fuzzy – because I started screaming then too.

So the question is: when is enough enough? I mean, I've never really liked Beck but he's right about the overall problems and who's responsible for them, and he's not partial to Republicans the way most conservatives are so he's not all bad. And he hasn't cried in some time, so that's a plus, but I not only don't trust someone who would propose such a hideous tax, I feel I can never trust him because now his idea is out there.

I can only hope he'll feel the kind of heat he wants us to put on Congress and the President because any new taxes are unacceptable, and a value-added tax is unforgivable.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Die Beck Die

  1. Snowy says:

    Do you think he's positioning himself for a run as VP?

  2. TedWest says:

    I don't care what you think, but I'd like to know when you think you've been right?

  3. Snowy says:

    OK., then there's no point in me saying anything is there. Hooroo.

  4. TedWest says:

    Well, if I'd required a point from the beginning, I'd never have known you, so tomorrow being Thanksgiving, and considering your location, I'm willing to accept an early gesture of your appreciation.

  5. TedWest says:

    I recorded Beck on the repeat and in listening to him again, I realized was that he was engaging in the sort of mindless idealsim we're all guilty of at times where we think we have such a simple solution if only everyone else was smart enough to see it.
    In Beck's case, he wants a constitutional amendment that outlaws deficits and incorporates a 2% VAT. That, of course is unworkable on several levels, So now, in addition to Beck's outrageous proposal, we see he's a dreamer… not exactly on the scale of the song, Imagine, more like the song from An American Tale, Somewhere Out There.
    So in one respect, things aren't as bad with Beck as I thought since his idea will never be implemented, but the fact that he holds it is troubling at best.

  6. Darcy says:

    I saw that show and I'll admit that I was busy doing something else and was only half paying attention, but I missed it completely. But I do remember him saying he believed in global warming. This is what he said "Oh yeah, it's real! Just this morning it was 40° and now it's 60°….. if this trend continues it'll be 4,000° by next summer!"

  7. TedWest says:

    Heeeeere we go… The concept of "global warming" is a lot like what the meaning of "is" is. There's no doubt Beck said he believed in it back on CNNHN, and I've been trying to recall who he said it to. My recollection is that it was someone you might recognize, but my saying that is irrelevant if I cant' come up with something, so let's move on…
    Are we warming. Well, my standard answer has been, "Ask me in a few centuries. We might have some idea by then." But one can say that if we've warmed in the last hundred years, THAT'S global warming.
    OK. Can we and should we do anything about it? My answer would be that's impossible to say. There's certainly a possibility that doing something will be worse than doing nothing, not only in terms of cost, but in terms of environmental damage. If we could influence the climate, how do we know it will be a positive effect?
    And if we do damage, the cost of that could be enormous, and correcting it could make matters worse still.
    Then there's this… I was watching a show on the Travel Channel last weekend about some treasure hunting broad, and she went to Florida and one of her observations was that Florida was once completely UNDER WATER. HUH? How could that be? Aren't we being warned that if sea rise "continues" that SOME of Florida will be submerged?
    I can understand that we don't want that to happen, but to say that if it does, man is responsible is irresponsible.
    Last night on Red Eye, they had this discussion, and I was shocked to find that even in light of the fraud that's been exposed, only the host held my position, and one woman (yes, it had to be a woman) said that "there's no doubt warming is occurring," but the money we'd spend on trying to curb it could be better spent.
    That's the trouble with liberals… the only purpose of money is spending it.
    Rush is talking about "global warming" right now, and he said that Ed Begley Jr. had a meltdown yeaterday on Cavuto… and I missed it.

  8. Darcy says:

    I love it when they say "there is no doubt". Of course there is doubt! If you and I doubt it, there is doubt.

  9. TedWest says:

    The thing is, I'd be willing to concede there's no doubt if they promised not to try to do anyting about it.

  10. Darcy says:

    I'm not conceding anything, there are lots of doubters.

  11. TedWest says:

    I should have made my point better… I meant that I would be willing to stop arguing, complaining and assailing if they agreed to just let whatever happens – happen.

  12. TedWest says:

    And for the record, I would like to re-confirm that I am the world's biggest hater of:
    Liberals, Obama, people who like Obama, and people who tolerate Obama.
    Oh and people who like people who are any of the above…

  13. I like Beck. But I actually knew and worked for Willis E. Stone who worked to repeal the 16th amendment and got it passed by 8 or 9 state legislatures. The only thing I hate is the progressive income tax. I would accept a retail sales tax it and only if the 16th amemendment was repealed.

  14. Lexann says:

    I agree with you Zak. Repeal the 16th amendment! It should never have been ratified in the first place! Then 1) make an amendment that REQUIRES Congress to balance the budget…don't have the money? Can't spend! Period. And 2) apply a federal sales tax NOT an income tax.

  15. TedWest says:

    Zak,
    If an NST were ever workable (and after advocating it myself for nearly two decades, I came to the conclusion a year or so back that it wouldn't be), those days have passed owing to the sheer size of the debt now, and to what it would take to transition to it.
    In fact, I don't think we can be saved, but if we were to try, the solution lies not in a balanced budget, but in slashing government to it's bare minimum – which isn't going to happen,
    I hated what Republicans were doing when they were doing it, but even then I hadn't realized the scope of the groundwork they had laid. Their failure to do the unpopular thing then is the root cause for all that is happening now, and you'll note that not one of them is proposing the sort of actions it will take to even stem the tide much less to become fiscally responsible.

  16. TedWest says:

    I just this moment came upon a column that details my feelings about the state of America today:
    "If you thought things have been rough so far, hang on, 'cause you ain't seen nothing yet."
    http://www.jewishworldreview.com/1109/hanson.php3

Leave a Reply

