Windows 7 Is Here!

I mean right here, as in a box sitting next to me, and I don't mind saying that I'm apprehensive. And not just because this is the first time since DOS 6.0 that I've upgraded to the newest Microsoft version immediately upon release.

In fact, I never even saw Windows XP. I stayed with Windows 98 right up until I got a new computer last year that came loaded with Vista – and trouble!

See, Vista was an initial calamity for me. So much so that I sent back the first computer I'd bought because of it and I waited five months until I felt I was psychologically prepared to tackle Vista again.

And when I got the computer I'm using now, I really was prepared. I had relived the horror that was Vista again and again in my mind, and I'd gained more coping ability with each flashback. Of course I'd also done some reading and learned about the things I was doing wrong, as well as the Vista quirks, and I'd reconciled with the fact that Microsoft had arbitrarily moved and hidden everyday aspects I was used to accessing routinely.

And even then, as I detailed last year, I still suffered serious attacks after I thought I'd tamed the beast. But that's the nature of a wild animal, isn't it? It's the prime reason why we're advised not to have them as pets, much less running our computers!

Now, I do an incredible amount of tinkering with my OS, and I'm a freeware junkie, so I'm constantly trying new and relatively untested programs. Thus a lot of my troubles are my own doing, but at least some of the major ones aren't – like the time I turned on my computer one morning and it wouldn't boot.

Because something had become corrupted or because Vista was on vacation, I never was able to determine which. Luckily, I had downloaded a wonderful freeware backup program literally days before, and amazingly, it worked flawlessly. My computer was restored in about an hour.

Except that you never know if the backup will work until you need to use it. If it hadn't, all would not have been lost, but I would have had to start from scratch with factory settings, reinstall SP! and SP2, DotNet3.5, all the Microsoft security upgrades, my programs, and reconfigure my settings – a multi-day operation involving much screaming and several silent strokes!

Now if you're unfamiliar with the Microsoft intricacies, you may not know that you don't get a backup program with home editions of Windows. There is something MSFT calls "backup," but it only works if your installation hasn't been totally corrupted.

Luckily, and only recently, free programs have become available that do restore your C-drive from scratch – three programs to be exact, and I've only found one that works.

I say that because I've since tried the other two. One may work, but the backup took up too much space and required nine hours to back up, so I never tried to restore anything, and the other literally took four days nonstop to restore the drive. Of course, I didn't wait that long, I stopped it after nine hours when it was 9% complete. When I wrote the author, he advised that apparently the bootable CD the program created didn't recognize something on my computer… like a CLOCK?!?

I mean, mine is a Dell with Vista HP. What could be more mainstream?

Anyway, that brings me back to the box containing Windows 7. Everything I've read says that Win7 is a welcome relief, but these observations are made by actual geeks, not schlubs who know just enough about Windows to be a danger to themselves and their family.

I so want to just rip open this box and install my Lucky…



…but I already know that there are changes that I'll see immediately and which the geeks have assured me are for the better. I'll be the judge of that!

Because I've also heard that some of my favorite little programs may no longer work, and that unlike Vista, there's no "compatibility mode" that allows old programs to run under old rules, and while I was able to get 99% of my old programs to run under Vista, there were several that I loved which are now history, and the absence of two of them causes me no end of nuisance to this day.

And my life-saving backup program? Will I only be restored to Vista, or will it work with the upgrade? You know when I'll find out…?

So I wonder how many of you will feel the apprehension I'm feeling? I mean, I know Windows 7 will be an improvement… it almost has to be, but how much agony will I have to endure before I'm 'enhanced?"

THAT is the question Hamlet never had to ask, and he STILL almost killed himself!

So what are my chances?!?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Windows 7 Is Here!

  1. Darcy says:

    So if we don't hear from you for an extended period of time we can assume trouble is afoot?

  2. Snowy says:

    Oh, I wouldn't worry, Ted. There's plenty of those pesky liberals out there who'll only be too pleased to help a conservative in trouble. Again….

  3. I'll wait a year or two until they fix the bugs, I'm still running XP Pro. 😉

  4. TedWest says:

    Oh I bet you're back because of the Alzheimer's. Do you recall anything at all about the lovely chat we had?

  5. TedWest says:

    Not necessarily, I could be hating people in another venue.

  6. Snowy says:

    Do you recall anything at all about the lovely chat we had?Sometimes Alzheimers has its compensations…

  7. TedWest says:

    I essentially got it for free – I'd accumulated enough points on my Amazon card. I'm not going to mess with it until Monday for fear of messing up the network and having my wife knocked offline too, but I'm not too concerned because I can re-up Vista in an hour… assuming the backup works, so…

  8. TedWest says:

    Yes, I see it let's you remain insulted just long enough to weasel out of having to show your ignorance.

  9. Snowy says:

    You make the mistake of thinking that I want to convince you of something. I don't. You make the further mistake in thinking that I care what you think. I don't. And you make the even greater mistake of thinking that I am stupid enough to waste my time trying to convince you of anything. I won't.Get over it.

  10. TedWest says:

    And yet you spent and awful lot of time trying. You were miffed when I ignored your nonsense in the spirit of friendship. You chided me when you thought I hadn't responded later when I had, and ran away rather than deal with reality closing in. I guess that's what it means to be… um… down under?
    Now don't make me block you because you've got nothing to add here… or anywhere, really, and you've gotten way too much mileage out of a nothing tip.

  11. Snowy says:

    Oh, for goodness sake! Threatening to block already. I only came here to help you out. Life isn't one big ego pissing contest which is all these "discussions" descend to if you have your way. You have your view of the world. I have mine. In the grand scheme of things it matters not what either of us think. Tell you what. Read Neil deGrasse Tyson's Cosmic Perspective here. So much better for the soul than bickering over nothing here.

  12. Snowy says:

    And you be quiet, Zak. We're solving the problems of the world here. Like installing Windows 7…

  13. I just call Rent-A-Techie when I screw up or get to a dead end.

  14. Snowy says:

    So do I, but don't tell Ted. He thinks I'm a genius.

  15. Did I tell you that I built my own computer?

  16. TedWest says:

    Great, now I have to scrap a post that's already mostly written about my experience with you.

  17. My only experience with Vista was at Hanlon Engineering and it worked properly- however they had an IT tech full time on staff. I built my computer before Vista was released.

  18. Snowy says:

    Save it. You'll be sure to find a use for it later.

  19. Snowy says:

    Did I tell you that I built my own computer? No. Does it work?

  20. TedWest says:

    In most respects, Vista is quite stable, but I have no XP experience for reference. But as I mentioned last year, when Win 98 went down, all you had to do was reinstall it. A corrupt Vista is enormously more troublesome… except for that backup program which only became available a few months ago.
    Vista has restore points that are on the same drive as Vista, cannot be moved, and for reasons unknown, tend to disappear. My apprehension with 7 is that my backup won't image it properly, but then if it works right, maybe I won't need to worry.

  21. TedWest says:

    Do you mind if I call you Burt? You're so much alike that I feel I've gone back in time… to the day before I never wanted to see him again.

  22. Is this your feeble attempt at a joke? Don't quit your day job mate.

  23. TedWest says:

    I'm sick of this, man, I try to be nice and accommodating and you pull nonsense that makes you look dumber than you probably are.
    In a few lines you've demonstrated why it's impossible to treat liberals decently.

  24. Snowy says:

    You make sarcastic remarks to a 70 year old man about his supposed Alzheimers, and you call that nice and accommodating? I don't think so. I give you another chance, and now you're back to deleting comments made in jest that were not even directed at you. Sad, Ted. You really should lighten up. OK. seems as though I'm banished again. Oh well, your loss.

  25. TedWest says:

    It's not a loss. I tolerate you because you're an overall decent guy, but you're a mental mess. And this is my blog; it's going to go the way I want. and what did you do last year when I demolished one of your rants on your blog?
    And that's what you do – rant. You seem to have no conception of what makes sense and what doesn't and so you provide links that don't bolster your claims, they reinforce the idea that you don't scrutinize what you read, you merely seize things that appear to reinforce your point of view. I hate that.
    As for what I deleted, what is this thread about? And what was your cute little rejoinder about?
    As for your age, you absolutely have my sympathy, no joke. It's no laughing matter. But my Alzheimer's comment was along the same lines as your botched joke and were you merely feigning offense?
    And how many times have I offered to take one point you'd like to argue and have at it? I make the same offer to a lot of liberals but you all seem incapable of focusing, incapable of discerning what's fact and what's not. unable to see what makes sense and what doesn't?
    It's particularly galling because I don't want to have any discussion whatsoever with people who are as I've described. It serves no purpose. I only want to argue with someone who can mount a rational argument.
    yet when I turn you away or insult you, you think you've won… that I'm incapable of answering you, which compounds your cluelessness. And when I do answer you out of sympathy, you find a convenient reason to duck out.
    And then you're back. And you were doing OK here until that last comment. What was so wrong with it? Simply put, you imply that everyone on the right is homogenous, when if act, that applies much more to your lot.
    For one thing, I hate Republicans. I hate them every bit as much as Democrats, and you must know that. I blame them for where we are today. I blame them because the made The Evil One possible.
    But then this isn't the tread for all this, is it? If you want me to show proper respect for you, demonstrate that you're capable of rational argument.
    maybe what we should do is have a discussion where we limit each comment to a certain number of characters. That would force you to focus and I wouldn't have to try to correct a dozen errors in one reply.

  26. Snowy says:

    Nah, why prolong the agony. I told you at the start how it would all end, and it has followed the predictable pattern. I've heard it all before, and have nothing to prove to you. You had two chances, and blew both. Apart from the numerous personal insults, that's enough for me to know that there is no respect. I'll leave you to it. I do wonder if you got anything from the Cosmic Perspective. It seems not, and that's a pity.

  27. TedWest says:

    I've done all I could, but I can't order people like you to think straight, and you're living proof that they're unwilling to try on their own. I envy you though… now, wherever you go, you'll have two lights you can walk toward.

Leave a Reply

