Best Beck Yet – An Economics Lesson

If you missed today's Glenn Beck Show, you need to catch the replay. What an astoundingly good job he's done in detailing the repercussions of continuing down the path we're on.

Here are a couple other things that some people may not realize…

Outside of what Obama has done and is trying to do, the minimum wage may be the single biggest factor in lengthening and worsening the (currently) Lesser Depression. It severely limits what businesses are able to do in terms of price reductions and still remain in the black.

Not to mention that a lot of people would probably work for less today if they had the opportunity.

And the 'wonderfully" low interest rates are actually a wealth transfer - a way for the government to not only stealthily tax the rich, but to tax anyone who saves. Your savings are now earning 70% less (or more!) than they were two years ago. That means the government is paying less to finance the debt and you're a big subsidizer to that cause.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Best Beck Yet – An Economics Lesson

  1. Peculiarist says:

    The government doesn't set the interest rates on the money it borrows… and if you're worried about the national debt, isn't the government being able to pay it off quicker better?

  2. TedWest says:

    You really shouldn't post comments on things about which you know so little.

  3. Peculiarist says:

    Ah, so you don't know. Fair enough.

  4. TedWest says:

    You don't know me, and after perusing your blog, and seeing all that drivel, I don't want to know you, but something told me that you were too full of yourself to know when to quit.
    Now here's my policy and don't forget it. I don't conduct conversations with morons, and when they refuse to recognize that they are, it becomes all insults, all the time.
    Now you're a twice-baked idiot, and if you need to say something more, it had better be something semi-intelligent.
    And my wife wants me to express her condolences that you're broke…

  5. Peculiarist says:

    I see — so when you talk to yourself in the shower it's pure insults? And not very original ones if the above is any example.
    Give your wife my condolences for being married to you — although perhaps she doesn't deserve them. As for being broke, I'm in a better financial position than you'll ever be.
    Don't worry about me bothering you, I won't be noticing you any more.

  6. TedWest says:

    My apologies… I'd have gone easier on you if I'd realized sooner that you were a foreigner.

Leave a Reply

