With Jonathan In Mind

BloggersBase has a little gnome named Jonathan who has recently abandoned his "love is all we need' approach in favor of extreme left-wing bias. Not only has he blamed Republicans for all of the nation's problems, but he flat-out denied that Democrats had anything to do with creating the growing chasm between left and right in America.

Now you all know that I think Ralph Peters is as good a commentator as there is, and lately he seems to be exceeding himself with each new column. When I read his latest, I immediately thought of little bigoted Jonathan.

But I'm not going to post Col. Peters' column on Bloggersbase, nor am I going to comment on it. That's where you come in because it needs exposure. So if anyone wants to write about it, claim it now! Otherwise I'm going to bring it to the attention of the leading writer over there and hope he can use it.

Read and post comments

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to With Jonathan In Mind

  1. Jordan says:

    That "report" enraged me. I have many military friends who haver served and still serve the country at their own peril. To think they are being trashed by the DHS under the false premise of keeping the country secure form domestic terrorism makes my blood boil!Do you want someone to write their own piece or just post the whole article with a small commentary?

  2. Jordan says:

    About the gnome. I can't say he had "abandoned" the "love is all we need" theme. I hold the position his "love" was never inclusive of Christians. One look at the scathing pieces he has written against those "evil people" is enough for me to get his ultra-wing direction.

  3. TedWest says:

    Hi Jordan,
    I'd just like to see this subject discussed. If you have an interest, do what you'd like, and I'll support you in both vote and comment, I just don't want to be a political commentator there
    I think the guy has exposed his true self, and I was initially quite surprised. I missed those pieces you referenced, mostly because I hate people who preach love – they are usually hypocrites. That fellow Amzolt seems genuine though?
    By the way, I haven't ignored your message or comments on BB, I just have been preoccupied. I hope to address them shortly, but please don't make me define 'shortly."

  4. Jordan says:

    Ted, stop apologizing. Reserve, for times you are going to be wrong, really wrong. ;-)I'll post the article and a brief commentary. Unfortunately, it'll post as a nugget again, because I have lost the "right" to be on front page. That's one more thing BB should change. Once you have posted there a while, even if mostly through comments, you should be able to post on pamn page.

  5. TedWest says:

    Is this something you know for a fact? I mean, did BB tell you that you lost your spot? If so, I'll write a letter of complaint.
    Which leads me to my second point: That I try to be considerate and helpful where I can be. And you've mistaken that as an apology. So… did you see "I apologize" or "I'm sorry"… or words to that effect in my last comment? I was merely trying to let you know that you're "in the queue," as opposed to being ignored… as Darcy often does with me. Because I like to let people know where they stand.

  6. Jordan says:

    A. Yes. BB notified me that if I didn't post last week I'd go back to "nuggets." It's a fact.C.You are correct, as I reread, you were not apologizing. Simply informing me. My mistake.Now, I better go back to work, on my BB post. I already had one ready which I lost b/c of my stupidity and unwittingly closing the page before it was saved.

  7. Jordan says:

    "Beware" of our servicemen Now on BB

  8. TedWest says:

    I'm going to write them right now. They probably won't respond immediately, but i'll let you know when I hear back

  9. Darcy says:

    Jordan,I'm letting you know you are "in the queue"… I want to read it and I will but the earliest time slot will be next Tuesday. I've got to hit the road again. Ted, thanks for your help with the speech.

  10. Jordan says:

    Now, I am in the queue with "both of you." :p

  11. TedWest says:

    Darcy, no problem, I discovered things I didn't know I had!
    Jordan, I wrote BB. They've responded in the past, except for one or two occasions – out of about twenty. If I don't hear by tomorrow, I'll write again. I can't see any reason for bumping people who have already made it. It's not like they're overflowing with talent.

  12. Jordan says:

    All things I already know. I just think it stinks that if you don't post every week you are "out" of the main page.Otoh, if you post continually, even if it's all C&Ps and/or ads you maintain your position on that page.It would be nice for BB to define "fresh talent."Ted, thanks for trying.Sorry, if I sound curt. Having a tough day.

  13. TedWest says:

    Jordan,
    I only posted this FYI, it's not over.
    I wrote Chad, a three-time winner who hasn't posted in a bit to see if he was also demoted, and I couldn't agree more about the C&P.
    BB is a mess, and if they don't start getting their act together, they'll lose more good people while retaining the untalented.
    You may not be aware of this, but they were thinking about moving one of my posts out of humor that they deemed to be critical of BB, and they reported it to me publicly and in a demeaning manner. I was furious, but I tried not to show it. I don't know how well it came off.
    And they also told me that plagiarists weren't of any concern to them as long as they gave attribution. Another outrage.
    And going to the Humor section depresses me because I know what I'm going to see, and it's anything but funny.
    So I'm willing to fight this battle, but not alone. You have a very good point, but you need to be willing to make your own demands…

  14. Jordan says:

    Ted, it has to do with scores as well, My total posts are 3. Chad has contributed way more than that, therefore despite his absence with new posts he remains in the "top bloggers" category.Because I don't plan on posting regularly, I am gung-ho about fighting this battle. I do appreciate you taking it upon yourself.If "attribution" is present then it's a C&P and no plagiarism. Three of my posts are C&P. However, that doesn't make me a good writer, simply a copier and paster. No prize there.I get lazy at times, but I see people who only C&P but sign their own name. That should be forbidden on any site.If they don't make big changes they are going to lose good people. I for one still go there because of a couple of good writers. You are one of them. Otherwise, I'd be watching the soaps (if I watched soaps) instead.

  15. TedWest says:

    Regarding C&P… I've got no problem with that if the writer's overall post is a commentary about it. But when it's the majority of the post, it shouldn't be eligible for prizes.
    Here's a draft I wrote after my last comment here. I haven't sent it because it's subject to change, but it will give you an idea of my immediate feelings…
    ———–
    Thank you for the reply and the explanation. Unfortunately, it raises a number of questions because the explanation is short on reasons as to why such a system is either warranted or desirable because it most certainly is discouraging. I, myself, felt discouraged despite the fact that I'm unaffected by it.
    Which brings me to the first question: I presume then that if I were to take time off, I, too, would have to requalify upon return? If so, that's troubling both personally and objectively. Not only would I be unwilling to subject myself to the degradation, but such a thing would be insulting considering the level of what is considered worthy of being placed in the humor category as well as the rampant plagiarism that exists throughout BloggersBase.
    I can't tell you the outrage I feel when I see people steal someone's video or cut and paste some junk and hope it will win them prizes for their "effort."
    But more important is the loss to the BB community in what doesn't get posted by people who find themselves in Jordan's position. No matter whether they failed to qualify because they got a low score on the main board or were dropped because of inactivity, the mere fact that they have to start over with a nugget is, as I said, demeaning, and worse, it deprives them of the possibility of having a very good post contend for top honors.
    Perhaps they had a off-week and received low marks. That results in disqualification? I could understand a month of bad marks, but since that part wasn't in the explanation, I'll assume it takes much less to be dropped. And as bad as that seems, dropping someone for inactivity is far worse. Once they've qualified, and in the absence of bad marks, they should not have to be concerned about their level of activity.
    Perhaps they only have one great idea a month. BloggersBase is going to deprive them and us of reading about it? I mean, it's not as if the service is overflowing with brilliance, is it?

  16. Jordan says:

    Time to correct my words: , I am not gung-ho about fighting this battle. I do appreciate you taking it upon yourself. (the bold was missing from the original).Ted: Perhaps they only have one great idea a month. BloggersBase is going to deprive them and us of reading about it? I mean, it's not as if the service is overflowing with brilliance, is it? Ted, I give you credit for all the work you are putting into this. I like it. That last part made me smile…laugh…Right on!!

  17. TedWest says:

    Jordan, I understand your feelings, and I don't blame you a bit. It's hardly worth the effort. When people used to ask why I was so quick in calling people names, the BloggersBase situation is a good example – I have no patience at all in arguing with unreasonable people – and most people are just that. The tone of the explanation I received indicates that they are not inclined to review their policies despite the fact that their policies are killing them.
    I ran into this before, so I know the eventual outcome – BB will fail. Which is why I feel compelled to get while the gettin's good. The other day, I looked at some of the BB sections, and I was shocked at what was winning prizes in most of them – truly worthless stuff. Shockingly worthless.
    So when I heard that you were on the outside looking in, it wasn't really about you, it was about their absurd system. Here's how I feel, and I say this to you or anyone interested – pick a section other than politics, and we'll engineer a win for you. I really don't care what you post, it will almost certainly be better than those of people who are winning now.

  18. TedWest says:

    Go to Humor right now and see what's been posted for this week's contest. If it doesn't make you sick, there's something wrong with you!

Leave a Reply

