What Would You Do?

As many of you know, I have been doing exceedingly well in the BloggersBase weekly humor contest. And I really work at it. In fact, I'm a veritable Clinton – I've worked harder at this than I have on anything else in my life!

So a couple week's ago, a guy commented that he had a dilemma. He said he wanted to break my "strangle hold" (yes, he used two words, and I wanted to ask him what other kind of holds he was familiar with). He said he was debating with himself whether it was justifiable to vote me down so that he might win.

Nice of him to be so upfront about his lack of ethics.

For my part, I felt that having an ethical discussion in the midst of the Humor section was inappropriate, so I merely said that I was sure he agreed with me that the funniest guy should be the one who won each week.

Subsequently, he solicited me as a friend, and naturally I accepted, figuring that his gesture meant that I'd gotten through to him. But I was wrong.

He proceeded to post mundane imitations of "This Day In History," and what I found so annoying is the same thing I find annoying about virtually everyone else's attempts at humor… they aren't funny, but I'm compelled to read them.

Eventually, he realized that he wasn't going to prevail with his tactic, so with the advent of the new contest yesterday, he embarked on a new tactic – rank, blatant, cut-&-paste plagiarism. In this case, it was a list formerly published in a British newspaper regarding the absurd complaints tourists have. Note: "absurd' is not synonymous with "funny."

Not that the list wouldn't provide a moment's amusement if you had nothing to do, it was just anything but high comedy. And of course, he's using this post in an attempt to win the contest. And, it has gotten a surprisingly high rating.

Thus, I'm the one with the dilemma now. Do I complain to BloggersBase that such plagiarism should be outside the contest limits? I'm also considering "de-friending" the guy because I won't be friends with anyone who would do such things. But if I do that, I have to tell him why I'm doing it, because I can't assume he'll know why on his own.

In fact, it's more likely that he'd think I'm taking the action because I feel threatened when what I really feel is angry. And of course, if I tell him, there's always the possibility that my explanation will come back to haunt me, and that's even if I can tell him privately why I'm doing what I'm doing, which I haven't checked yet to see if I can… tell him privately, that is..

Now I haven't acted because the last thing I want is to do is to act on impulse, and there's the possibility that this is a one-time occurrence, which I could overlook, even if I feel I shouldn't.

And the other downside of this is that it stifles many things in me. My motivation is always fragile, but I'm already thinking, why bother if I have to contend with this? And even if I did bother, I'm significantly distracted such that I'm not seeing things as funny as I should.

Luckily, I can fake it, but for how long?

And it just occurred to me that if I didn't have this outlet with which I could vent, I might be bothering a friend unnecessarily…

Read and post comments

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Would You Do?

  1. Darcy says:

    LOL — Ted, you are funny even when you are not trying. Vent, Ted, Vent!

  2. TedWest says:

    And you think I'll get that here do you?
    Hey, this is serious to me on two fronts… from a personal ethics standpoint, and from a humor standpoint. That category is special. It's difficult, it takes discipline, and I hate it when some jackass tries to be funny and isn't. So how much more do I hate it when someone pulls what this guy did?
    I've already decided to protest to BB. I feel I have no choice, but I thought it would be great if a bunch of people volunteered to re-post his post as their own, what do you think? We could have a half dozen of the same post with different lead-ins?!?

Leave a Reply

