All Things BB

I thought I'd start a thread for any and all comments about BloggersBase. It's a dirty job, but someone has to do it, I figure.

And I thought I'd kick it off with a comment about their voting system, which is making me crazy. It seems like if you're conservative, your contest score is lower than your post score, but if you're liberal, your contest score is higher than your post score, and that this applies even if you're not writing in the politics section!

Example: a conservative writes something and people vote – his post score = 7. Liberal post some crap and people vote and his post score is 6. Then you look at the leader board, and the liberal is leading at 6.5, while the conservative is in second at 6.3

So if someone wants to write the management and ask them for a coherent explanation of how the system works, and then come here and explain it, you'll get thumbs up on every comment you make for a week.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to All Things BB

  1. You noticed that too? I've been watching that for the last few days. At first, I thought one was the daily tallies and the other was the real time tallies, but the inconsistencies are too consistent. Maybe it's a precursor to the Fairness Doctrine? What I don't get is the liberals are posting other people's work, copy and paste pretty much (news articles in their entirety, YouTube videos, etc) and receive these great scores. Then we actually produce commentary, real thought and real opinion and receive these doctored scores.

  2. Darcy says:

    It IS odd. I thought they might be an average. Old Whats-his-name has been posting longer than you have and had some great scores before Jordan got ahold of him, so I thought some of the old winnings were getting mixed into the score and the conservative scores were low because we are new-comers. I sure don't know. That's just my best guess.

  3. TedWest says:

    Harmony,
    It's even worse in the humor section, but I can't complain because of the support I've had,
    I don't mind a certain amount of C&P as long as the point is being made by the writer himself, but in a lot of cases in politics, they present something FYI, and then they get a good vote for it, so virtually everyone is getting a one or two from me. I wouldn't hesitate to vote down my competition while I still can. I don't vote for competitors who are worthy, but I would even then if I felt his score was unreasonably high.
    I told Chad to write BB about the scores. You might consider doing the same.

    Darcy,
    I've tried to make sensse of it, and cannot. Whether they uss post scores or averages, I'd still be higher than I am

  4. Neither do I. I've copied and pasted things (short passages), but some of the stuff I'm seeing is 3000-4000 words of C&P and one sentence like, "Yeah, I agree with that!"Score 8.6I'm trying that with one of mine next week and see how it goes. I'll probably be kicked off for plagiarizing.

  5. Oh, nice. I went up almost a full point today on my blog and dropped to 4th place even though I'm almost a full point ahead of any of the competition with the exception of Chad, and that's by two tenths of a percent. Anyone want to explain that math to me? I mean I took virtually every conceivable type of math in college and aced all my courses. Maybe it was in Finite Math which covers Probabilities. What's the Probability that the scorekeeper is biased? Hmm. P(A1)<P(A2) … hold on, where's my calculator?——————————-Nah, I'd just confuse myself.

  6. TedWest says:

    Our competition rating system encourages writers who post several quality articles during one competition time slot while penalizing writers with low activity or, on the other hand, writers who post numerous low quality articles. This can explain the fact that users who posted several posts rated 6.6..6.9 have competition rating of 7.1, while the users who posted only one quality post during the current competition time slot will have relatively reduced competition score.

    All this, without mentioning the additional factors except for the post ratings that can affect competition score and cause the further variation in the competition grades. We cannot get into detail explaining these additional criteria except for saying that we do an advanced analysis of statistics generated by the visitors who read the articles posted by the competition authors.

  7. Darcy says:

    Ted,Who is Confuciusness? Is this just a right thinker that appeared on his own? Or is this a recruit from our circle?

  8. TedWest says:

    Your guess is as good as mine, but I like the way the boy thinks! I thought it might be me for a moment, until I got to his example which I don't think was as logical as he'd hoped, but I'm saying that from memory of my reaction, not analysis.

  9. Darcy says:

    I liked it too. It was right on target and funny at the same time…. kind of like you!

  10. TedWest says:

    Now I feel like I was fishing for compliments, but I meant that when the fellow started out talking about logic and how he came by it, it sounded like me.
    Conversely, there's Amanda. Her latest is a idiot's delight!

  11. Darcy says:

    I looked at Confuciusness' user page and it has the generic icon for a woman.I'll go see if I can find Amanda.

  12. Darcy says:

    Oh. THAT Amanda. Well. What can I say? "She has a point." comes to mind as is often said by someone you know and love when a liberal makes an idiot of themselves.

  13. Darcy says:

    My husband just read the first part of the stacking the supreme court story as he was heading out this morning. Now he's wanting an invitation to jump in with his comments and my kids saw the "I vow to bring CHANGE by making things different" quote and they were howling. I'm really glad they "get it".

  14. Just a little update here. After posting 2 blogs yesterday, I go to see where I'm at in the ratings. #1, yeah, well that's how I was last week, so I hold no hope for that to stay. However, I sent in a "Report" warning on a blog in the goldmine(politics) for foul language usage. The blog was just a one-sided liberal railing telling the Reps. to "get over it, Obama won." It was like he was having an argument without the actual argument. I rated it a one for a really crappy blog post. I got the notification a few minutes ago that BB edited the post to remove the foul language. Then a couple of minutes later my score dropped on both my posts. Coincidence? Maybe. But you've got to admit that it is awfully weird timing.

  15. TedWest says:

    You're currently at EIGHT and you're complaining?;) Seriously, you did the right thing about complaining, and I don't think that BB was involved in your score drop. And I liked your "protest post" as well.They should be much more strict about what they allow others to 'borrow."
    Btw, I posted a second post to see what would happen, and like others there, it did result in a higher score. This is not good in my opinion, since it encourages more garbage posting, but as you know, you have to play the hand you're dealt.

  16. TedWest says:

    I didn't realize that Amanda is un-American?!
    And while I said I wasn't going to attack Timothy anymore, he still remains an idiot.
    Apparently one of the people there is someone Chad brought in. Look for the guy with the brand new list.
    Would your husband be joining for commenting purposes only?
    And I had the generic woman as mu icon at first. It's automatic, and I couldn't get it off fast enough. No, not because of what you may be thinking, it's because I'm a woman-hater!

  17. I wasn't at 8 earlier… And you know the stupid thing? I'm posting basically Cut and Paste with a few words at the end, and it's my highest rated post. Is that stupid or what. I credited it properly, but it's not even my work. I'm shooting for two posts a day now. One C&P and one original. Just to see how it turns out. I mean, I think Chad is actually ahead of me with his single 'original' post.This is a really crappy scoring system.

  18. TedWest says:

    I wish Chad was as quick as you. I picked up on their explanation and posted a second post as well. He says he will, but he seems to think there's some moral issue involved.
    To me, the moral issue is BEATING LIBERALS because I can't kill them, and I love operating behind the scenes voting them all down, etc.
    And I loved the guy who commented to your paste job, saying that it was good, but he'd have graded it higher if you'd updated it. This is truly America today!

  19. LOL, It was the first thing I found when I Googled "Fairness Doctrine" that wasn't crap. I wasn't even serious about it when I posted it. I just wanted to see what would happen, since so many people out there C&P and get awesomely high ratings. I'll give Chad a nice high rating to make up for it. However, I'm shooting for 14 posts this week on BB. If there is enough news to actually support that many. It's slow today.

  20. TedWest says:

    Nobody's ever accused you of doing anything half-heartedly, have they? It looks like the liberals are being crowded out, as well as the one-worlders, if I may distinguish between the liberals and the uber-liberals. I don't expect they take this sitting down though. And I don't know who that other fellow is, the conservative (apparently), but he writes well.
    It will be interesting to see if you do post "in quantity," what that will do score-wise.Although if I tried to do that in humor, I'd be posting funny phone numbers within days…

  21. Darcy says:

    Ted,I looked at Amanda's "personal info" and she says she is Australian.

  22. TedWest says:

    When I sent my wife an invite, she got it, but couldn't join until I logged out.
    Amanda… Australian? She must be a center line driver!

  23. Darcy says:

    She talks in her last post about "our country is losing friends". It doesn't make sense. She clearly states she is Australian in her personal info.

  24. TedWest says:

    Right. So tell him to give you his real email address… and say it ain't so…
    Police find more than 80 cats in soiled Okla. home…

  25. Darcy says:

    Right-o indeed. Poor kitties. I have my limit of two so I can't adopt any of them.

  26. I've been commuting to Phoenix and back all week and tomorrow am going to Los Angeles for the weekend- next week I'll have more time to cause trouble. πŸ˜‰

  27. Darcy says:

    Hey Zak, I was wondering where you were. Have a safe trip.

  28. Darcy says:

    This seems to be the best place to talk about it, if you go to BB and look at the readers' statistics page, you can see who is doing all the thumbs-down voting. By checking their neighbors its pretty easy to spot the trolls. It looks like there are three of them.

Leave a Reply

