The Specter Of A Stimulus

Well, two RINOs  have caved, and we've got ourselves a stimulus! For which we might rightly thank George Bush.

That's because Bush backed Alan Specter for re-election over a much more conservative Republican challenger, and he did it because he fett that a Democrat Senator would be worse… Really?

Thanks for the lovely parting gift, Jorge!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Specter Of A Stimulus

  1. I met Alan Specter In Tucson in 1995 when he was toying running for President- one of the most arrogant idiots I have ever met including Jerry Brown. Specter the bad guys in James Bond movies, LOL America is now Bankrupt.

  2. Darcy says:

    This is a off subject but have you seen this one? Good Grief!! This chick thinks she's a journalist? But then again, what do you expect from the NYT?

  3. I figure they caved for one of two reasons: A: They chose the short straws.B: Obama is again playing "Politics as Usual!" and bribed them with a concession for one of their pet projects at a later date. The old "I'll slather spam on your back if you'll slather spam on mine." Try not to visualize this, it will only lead to an upset stomach. I'm leaning toward option B. "SpaAAM! Oh wonderful SpaAAM! SpaAAM! Oh wonderfu… SHUTUP!"

  4. She reminds me of Walter Duranty who covered Salinist Russia for the New York Times during the 1930s. He wrote that the mass starvation of 12 million Ukrainian peasants was simply anti-communist propaganda. Journalism is dead in America. Malcolm Muggeridge revealed in 1933 that Duranty had lied and that the he (Muggeridge) had witnessed the slaughter fist hand on a trip through the USSR.

  5. TedWest says:

    I didn't follow the link, but I figure you're talking about the Times. You think they can't get more disgraceful, but then they get creative.
    This is off the subject too, but I replied to an idiotic Snowy post last night, and I was telling my wife about it. She asked, "Was he was a casualty of the fires?"
    She's learning!

  6. Darcy says:

    LOL! poor Snowy. I hope he's not on fire.The article is about the woman dreaming about Barry being in the shower, it's really disgusting.

  7. The cult of personality Darcy, what country should I defect to?

  8. I was thinking the Isle of Man… 😛

  9. Darcy says:

    If push comes to shove, Texas may be the place to be. Don't mess with Texas. On the other hand, and Island could have it's benefits as long as you like seafood.

  10. TedWest says:

    Darcy,
    I know what the article's about, The Times should be shuttered.

  11. Darcy says:

    I agree. It's past time.

  12. If the NYT goes bankrupt, will they get a "too big to fail" bailout?

  13. TedWest says:

    Without question.
    Do you know that the first time I went to New York, one of my "dreams" was to buy a Sunday Times!

  14. I was never so impressed, I grew up reading the Los Angeles Times. 😛

  15. TedWest says:

    Speaking of reading, this is the sort of thread that really draws an audience!

  16. Darcy says:

    Until the audience has to go fix dinner!

  17. TedWest says:

    Hey, I think you better rethink your priorities!

  18. Lexann says:

    I think you can thank George Bush, not for backing Specter, but for starting this whole mess in the first place. Mr. "I'm a strong believer in free enterprise, but…" started this non-stimulating "stimulus" mess. Remember the "Stimulus" checks everybody in America received back in May '08? Didn't stimulate the economy, did it? Then the $700 Billion "Economic Rescue Plan" in September that gave the Treasury unrestricted access to a record amount of Taxpayer money. Obama is just following the Bush Administration's path, but of course, preaching it like it was his idea, and wondering how did America survive until he took over? As for Congress, well, we knew they would follow the Obamessiah to Hell, and thank him for the trip!

  19. Jordan says:

    Guys, let me interject after a self-imposed hiatus. Yes, President Bush did, unfortunately, agree with the first bailout, but, imo, it was because of increasing pressures from the left to do something, like now, in a hurry or the sky would be falling.However, they didn't know then – some at least – what we know now: it didn't work.I am totally disgusted at the manner the new "ethical, transparent, on the level" administration with the help of its friends is placing one creep after another in high positions, besides all the lies that surround this 'spending bill.'Some here may fault President Bush. I suggest we concentrate on WHO is now running the show and pulling the wool over many. The dems, their prez and the so-ever willing media whose reporting is nothing short of propaganda.As for those 3 traitors from the republican party, they should be ousted, and not a minute sooner.How they can claim to have cut down by a billion a bill that increased by that and more once it reached the senate is revolting! Even McCain, whom, I fault for how it ran a wimpy campaign gets it!!Imho, republicans who voted against the bill, should continue to stand firm. In addition, they ought to stop giving obama the benefit of the doubt. He has NOT tried, I repeat, he has not even made a tiny attempt at anything resembling bipartisanship. The game, however, he has been playing, was to set republicans up. Ergo, the latter would serve us better if they called him on it.The "one" knew his party would write a bill full of liberal agenda as amply demonstrated by riling against republicans well explained objections.Ok. I'll take a break.

  20. TedWest says:

    Jordan,
    I completely agree that the focus needs to be on the present – and it is. But I won't stand by and listen to any more excuses for Bush either, although I think Lexann purposely tried to give me a stroke!
    As for Republicans, I believe it's hopeless. Good for the ones standing firm, but it's a little late.
    Welcome back. You were missed.

  21. Jordan says:

    Thanks Ted. I am glad to be back. Have a lot of catching up to do. I won't make excuses for Prez Bush, but I will interject my discordant opinion if necessary.

  22. TedWest says:

    Jordan, I wasn't directing that comment at you personally. But Lexann was right, I think, in that he could have stopped or at least impeded this, and this bill is so bad that it's impossible to overstate how bad it is. It will create enormously many Dem-dependent supporters.
    Also, if you're feeling in an activist mood, we could use your help elsewhere at BloggersBase. Same goes for anyone else willing to help.

  23. Jordan says:

    Ted, IF anything positive could be drawn from the disasterous bailout is that it made a bunch of people more cautious. Honestly, had Bush attempted to stop it, he would have been blamed for the banking world's collapse!.Had they not enacted the bailout, this "stimulus" (my eye) bill would have been shooed in with all repubs. Hence, we could try and see a small, silver lining in the eye of the storm.What's this bloggerbase? I am game.

Leave a Reply

