Darcy, I Took Your Advice

Darcy, I Took Your Advice

It was another near-perfect day here, temperature around 70 with some billowing clouds, so I decided to venture out. No, I didn't go for a drive in the country, because here, a drive in the country can kill you, at least in hotter times, and I'll be thrilled when, as Adrian Monk put it last week, "nature's on the run."

I remember my first year in Phoenix. I guy I worked with, a great guy actually named Dave, walked out with me as we were going to lunch. It was a November day even better than today, and Dave, one of two people who were natives of Phoenix at the time, stopped, whirled the way you see in the movies, and proclaimed, "This is what Phoenix is all about!"

To which I replied, "I agree, now if they'd just get busy paving this place…"

Dave was horrified, and he wasn't even the slightest bit Indian.

Anyway, instead of a drive through the desert, I opted for a walk in the backyard. I'd almost forgotten what it looks like back there. Just kidding, I have pictures.

I looked at the Queen Palms, and a beautiful Sago Palm that we've had for over twenty years and which we brought from California, in a pot. It's now about four feet tall, and worth maybe five hundred bucks!

But no, I wasn't thinking dollars with the Sun shining and the Ruellia in bloom. I walked over, picked an Arizona Sweet orange, and ate it on the spot. It was sweet all right. I told my wife that I'd had the orange she'd picked from the Washington last week, and it wasn't nearly as good. She said that the oranges on the Trovita, were sweeter, so I had to see for myself. darned if she wasn't right… as usual.

Then she took me on a tour of her vegetable garden. I was shocked to see at least a dozen plum-sized tomatoes. I don't think we've ever had a tomato before April since we've been here, She showed me peppers and eggplants that she said we'd be having for dinner tomorrow, and she added that the peppers were courtesy of the grocery store. She composts and the plants grew from seeds of peppers she'd bought. last year it was squash, but then as warm as it's been, it's still too early for squash.

We also have snap peas, beets, broccoli and cauliflower, though she says the latter two are disappointing because the warm weather is causing them to go to seed too fast, but we'll still get some. And then there's the salad greens – lettuce, spinach and chard, which she announced we're having tonight! She really loves her garden, and I was so happy to see her so happy. Of course it helped tremendously that she hasn't heard a word about, and especially from, Obama all day, and I wasn't hearing Cox Cable's astoundingly obnoxious ads at every single commercial break! Did I say "ads?" I meant "assaults." See, now I'm getting worked up again just thinking about them.

But all in all, It really was a perfect day… well, a perfect twenty minutes, anyway.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Darcy, I Took Your Advice

  1. Glad to hear that you are in a good mood Ted. 😉

  2. TedWest says:

    Zak,
    I think you know what I mean when I say that I actually got a little uncomfortable writing it, because I wish everyone could experience what you and I have. I used to hound my mother and father to move here or to California, and she said, "Everyone can't live out there."
    "No, mom, just anyone who wants to."
    They never moved.

  3. Jeff D says:

    I'm jealous. Grocery store produce doesn't compare to most home grown stuff. Can't wait to get some plants in the ground…in May.

  4. Darcy says:

    Very good!! I wish I could have taken my own advice, but I still have too much to do. Now they are calling for ice and snow on Monday.

Leave a Reply

