Republicans, R.I.P

Have you been following what congressional Republicans have been doing recently? If not, you're lucky, and I'm not going into detail, so you're really lucky. Let's just say (make that: repeat) they've learned nothing!

OK, I'm weak, here's one example: Republicans want to reduce income tax rates. That means you'll still pay -income taxes- (one of two immoral taxes), you'll just pay less of them. The good news with the Republican idea is that you'll still get to agonize over -doing- your taxes.

Democrats, on the other hand, want to give rebates. Republicans hate that, despite the fact that the same people will still be dutifully filling out their tax forms. Republicans say that people who don't pay taxes will get refunds. Maybe, but far fewer than Republicans claim – because Republicans are content to ignore payroll taxes.

So Democrats will be giving money to the lowest rungs… and Republicans will be voicing opposition. Great!

I've said it a lot, but I really think Republicans are content. Those left in Congress are pretty safe, so why rock the boat? Why would they want to lead when they get heavily criticized from both sides? Just go along, raise an objection now and then, and everything will be just fine – for them.

I heard Rush Limbaugh refer to himself today as the last conservative standing. He's wrong, or course, and he isn't the first to claim that – I was. But that's just bluster and hyperbole because there are probably ten or even twelve of us.

And Limbaugh himself only rejoined the ranks this week now that Bush is gone. Coulter too.

I don't mean that as a criticism of Rush. I mean, I do, since he will leave us again when he becomes friendly with another Republican President (if he lives that long), but he's simply the most brilliant conservative alive, and if you don't think so, you don't listen to him. Ditto for Coulter, even if she is ever so slightly less brilliant.

But I'm not writing about those personalities, I want it known that I think the Republican Party is dead. If you've heard McCain, or Graham or Grassley lately, you know that they have nothing in common with conservatives, and right now, most people who fancy themselves to be conservatives will vote for the likes of them.

I won't. It's time to write them off and start over. It might mean losing for as far as the eye can see, but believe me, that's exactly what will happen if you continue to back Republicans. I say, if you can't win, at least you can cause the Republicans to lose in greater numbers.

I don't know about you, but it's more sickening for me listening to Republicans than to Democrats, and that's saying something.

Just think how good you'll feel if John McCain goes down to defeat! Would you really care if a Democrat takes his place? Here's how bad it is – don't you have more admiration for Governor Blago than you do for McCain?

Look at it this way, you have no choice. If you continue to vote Republican, you're just going to prolong your own agony – not theirs. The ones remaining will still get the pay and perks, you get the shaft – and you give it to me and other real conservatives by proxy. And I hate to say it, but you got us into this mess with your unwavering and irrational support of Bush. .

On the bright side, Nashville just soundly rejected an "English Only" measure.

Just kidding. it's like that only song goes… "if you can't make it in Nashville, you can't make it anywhere…"

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Republicans, R.I.P

  1. Bill Archer was one of the last real conservatives in congress, he retired in 2001. He wanted to "pull the income tax out by its roots so that it will never grow again." Ron Paul may be the last one ever to get elected to congress.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Reynolds_Archer,_Jr.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ron_paul

  2. TedWest says:

    Yep, and Archer promptly did nothing about it.
    I know he's not to blame. I know he tried and that his intentions were pure… I also know that's about the time I started whining that the Republican revolution was a fraud.
    I started screaming "Fraud" at the enormous spending bill the Republican Congress sent to Clinton in 1998.

  3. That's why I'm a Libertarian.

  4. TedWest says:

    OK, but every other Libertarian is is insane, so I don't know how you do it?
    Hey, that's IT!
    Let's start the Semi-Sane Party!?!

  5. This whole country is insane and its leaders are even more so.

  6. TedWest says:

    I completely agree. but let's not stop at our borders.

  7. On the day that the Confederates attacked Fort Sumter, a great physician in South Carolina was stopped on the road by a traveler asking directions. The traveler asked directions to an insane asylum. The Physician responded: “Take any road you choose this state is one vast asylum.”
    America is now one vast asylum.

  8. TedWest says:

    The trick now will be for us to avoid being the central figures in that Twilight Zone episode where we draw back the curtains and find out we're a zoo exhibit.

Leave a Reply

