A Black Bush

I've heard of the Black Narcissus, and the Black Dahlia, but now there's whole "a Black Bush!"

Those aren't my words, they came from Venezuela President Chavez' spokesbroad in reference to how they see our brand new, historic, President Bobo.

But I don't want to dwell on that when I have one of the greatest newspaper entries ever to present to you.

I've often counseled my wife that the British seem normal, but they're not. Of course, that goes for everyone who doesn't speak American, as well as liberals who (barely) do. But my wife counters with an excellent point – that most of the important news and assessments come from Britain.

For example, they debunked global warming, or to be specific, they published the debunking. In other words, they take on thsoe things that the other media (read: American) won't. And to that end, here's one of the best columns and accompanying batch of comments that I've seen about the Obama coronation…

here's a snippet:

As soon as the applause had died down, an African American standing man near me on the Mall said to his friend: "I thought the speech was shit."

"Standing man?" There's that British English again!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Black Bush

  1. Sounds like Jamaician English.

  2. The Brits may print many important world findings. We must not forget that the Brits are equally responsible for spreading many liberal falsehoods that have little, if any, factual backing. While I respect our cousins across the pond I must reject any over riding benefit of their input.

  3. JudgeBob says:

    Speaking of the inauguration speech, Prager's assessment was precious. What wasn't vacuous was misinformation or outright lies. This means I'm going to have to go over it and disseminate that now. Medved read a paragraph which contained about 1 sentence, the caller he was addressing said, "I lost the message among the 22 commas."

  4. TedWest says:

    It's the exact same thing we went through with Clinton – everyone telling us what a great speaker he is, when in fact, he's mediocre to terrible, and the people praising him only listen for keywords anyway..
    My assessment – he's a jug-eared oaf who can't believe he's pulled it off, and he knows that he can do whatever he wants now, and the media will make it "brilliant."
    That's very dangerous, and the similarity to 1930s Germany is frightening.

  5. Jack Yan says:

    In case I missed the sarcasm, I think the writer meant ‘man standing’. Probably added the man later but in the wrong place. A major British quality (Brit word for newspaper read by people who think they are not common) voted Gen Petraeus their man of the year, which I don’t think one would see in an equivalent US newspaper.

Leave a Reply

