Obama: The Bigger He Acts, The Smaller He looks

It's been quite a week for the Messiah-In-Training, and it promises to be an even bigger one next week. So why do I need a microscope to see him when his faces is supposedly everywhere?

It's because of comments he's made such as "Barack's a good name" in reference to a pregnant woman's baby, and because of things like the following…

ABOARD THE INAUGURAL EXPRESS (AP) – Tracking Abraham Lincoln's historic path to Washington, President-elect Barack Obama launched a four-day inaugural celebration Saturday before thousands of chilled but cheering onlookers from Philadelphia to the nation's capital. He promised to bring the country "a new Declaration of Independence" – free from small thinking, prejudice and bigotry.

Obama invoked a grand heritage of American giants as he appealed "not to our easy instincts but to our better angels," an echo of Lincoln's first inaugural address. He took note of the enormous challenges that lie ahead and promised to act with "fierce urgency," a phrase often used by the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr.

Riding a vintage railcar on his whistle-stop trip to Washington, Obama carried with him the hopes of a nation weary of war, frightened of economic chaos and searching for better days.

Now, I hope he does bring the country a new Declaration of Independence by freeing us from small thinking, prejudice, and bigotry, but:

A) I can say with 100% certainty that he's not going to free us from small thinking, and what little bigotry there is in America is not going to change very much. And…

B) He's not going to get any help from me.

That's because I don't wish him well – unless the changes he makes are the ones I want – the ones that actually will make this a better country, and right now, he's neither doing, nor has he proposed any of them.

That's not to say there's no potential for positive change. For example, I desperately want changes in healthcare, and Obama has been just vague enough that there's the slightest possibility he'll improve this godawful system. But will he improve it enough? Unlikely. That requires more competition in the private sector, not national oversight, and what I really fear is that he'll fashion a bad system that becomes firmly entrenched the way Social Security is.

What is particularly off-putting in the Obama News Media story is the mention that he's invoking "grand heritage of American giants," and traveling "Abraham Lincoln's historic path to Washington." Great people track their own paths. I mean, were there articles in the papers of the day about Lincoln taking some predecessor's road?

The point is, it's all image, and the image is so big that it dwarfs the man who can't live up to it. And I've seen it before. I've interviewed people who saw themselves as Messiah managers, and I even hired one – who turned out to be not just incompetent, but disinterested in anything other than the trappings of the job.

It's indicative to me that Obama is one of those people because he does nothing to play down the overblown flattery others bestow on him, and in fact, he's taking the lead in creating it, simply because he's traveling an "historic path."

Also, I'll say it again, there's no forty-something guy who knows more than I do, generally speaking, least of whom is Obama. Less accomplished than Clinton was, and more narcissistic, not only is that a bad combination, but it means that he's literally bluffing his way through it all, at least to this point. Now the learning really begins, and I concede the possibility that he'll grow with and into the job. But that won't stop me from recoiling every time he presumes to offer me advice, until the achievements are in evidence.

At this point, I can't name a thing I like about the man, and he's just a man – barely. While I don't hope that feeling continues, I expect it will. But at least it won't get worse for me on Canonization Day, because I won't be watching.

And I don't wish him luck, I wish him a lot of resistance – which I fear will never come.

If you'd like to read the entire "news" release, be forewarned that it's even more sickening than usual.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Obama: The Bigger He Acts, The Smaller He looks

  1. I work at personal success and would like my countrymen to succeed. Nothing will change after Tuesday Jan. 20th. Cronyism has run amounk and they will kill us trying to save us.

  2. TedWest says:

    I didn't realize you were Kenyan?!

Leave a Reply

