The Column Of The Day

Rick Santorum, not exactly a man known for his eloquence, has written a brilliant, scary and sickening column that depicts a very likely scenario, albeit one that will not bode well for conservative principles or any hope of restoring fiscal order anythime soon, and it could mean that Orwell was only off by a quarter century.

Here's the paragraph that I found most unsettling even though it's merely tangential to Santorum's main point:

There is an air of something big, something grand, something electric about to explode upon us. Barack Obama's visage is everywhere. His relaxed and reassuring – even beatific – smile is omnipresent. So are his irrepressibly cute girls and their together mom.

And while I'm at it, how about Bobo's pick to head the IRS? The guy didn't pay his taxes because he must have forgotten, but was kind enough to pay them now even though the statute of limitations had run out, and the bigger half of the story is that Republicans still signed on to him even before all the details are out.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Column Of The Day

  1. TedWest says:

    And when you're done reading Santorum, try this as a chaser…

  2. Trailblazer says:

    Maybe Obama should answer these questions before the students tack a crack at them. What vision does President Obama have for public education?— What does he say divides us as a country and how does he want to unify and strengthen America?— How will President Obama make our country more secure?— What does President Obama ask Americans to do to help strengthen the country?”

  3. TedWest says:

    A guy posted a bunch of jokes today. I thought the best one was:
    Obama's not taking a limo to the inauguration, he's going to walk across the Potomac.

  4. "Brave New World" was 98.999 % accurate!!! Oh my God!

  5. TedWest says:

    The other day, O'Reilly wondered why Ann Coulter was so concerned with Obama. He asked, " You don't see him as 'Jimmy Carter bad," do you? She answered emphatically in the affirmative. That led me to thinking about the Carter years, and they were indeed terrible. I didn't know what was going to happen with gold at $800 and ounce and interest rates off the scale. But, and part of it could be because I was so young, I felt we'd come out of it somehow, and that what was happening was just a blip.
    I don't feel that way now, and it's not just a feeling. It goes all the way back to 2000 when the bubble burst and we never recovered from that even if the lying DJIA told us we had. Now, there's no hope of recovery.
    That's not to say that it can't happen, it's just that I can't see it – or expect it. What's happened is far worse than Carter, and I have no confidence that Obama can handle it. At least he sees to be going about it completely wrong right now, what with just throwing money at anyone who asks for it.
    And Interest rates? Five percent home loans are great if you can buy now, but remember when, for decades, five percent was the minimum return on savings accounts? Now, CDs are under three percent, so if you have savings, there is literally no place to put it and get a return.
    Couple that with the Big Brother program rapidly being implemented, and I'd appreciate it if someone would show me where to look for hope? Because it ain't toward Bobo.

  6. They took drugs in "Brave New World" to cope. 😉 but you must be an Alpha +

    🙂

  7. We used to have the dope from Hope, but now we have this orther dope who's from Chicago or Indonesia or Hawaii or Harvard?

  8. TedWest says:

    If I had to use one word to describe myself, "maniac" would be close. Fortunately, my bad back keeps me from acting out now…
    You know, when Clinton was elected, it took me quite a while before I couldn't stand to look at him. Already, I can't even stand to even hear Bobo's voice.

  9. Darcy says:

    I can't stand to look at him. His face was in the paper yesterday. It was lying on the table and after walking past it 3 or 4 times I had to turn it over.

  10. And we didn't even get rid of the Hildabeast, she's going to be Sec. of State! [barf]

  11. TedWest says:

    Thanks, Zak…. you had to say that and spoil the start of a beautiful weekend?

  12. TedWest says:

    I read your comment to my wife, and she related as to how she had a similar experience with a newspaper where she works. Wouldn't it be great if those papers are losing business expressly because they keep putting Bobo on the front page?

  13. No, go out for a drive and see some beautiful scenery. You will feel better soon or double your meney back. 😉 Did you read my PM yet?

  14. Darcy says:

    That would be sweet if people were avoiding newspapers and magazines because of the "OMG, there he is again" factor.

  15. TedWest says:

    Zak, I don't go for drives. I try not to go anywhere – read my profile. That would involve seeing "them." And in case you're wondering, you aren't "them." And the way you can tell is that I'm talking to you.
    But Before you feel sorry for me, one of my pictures is the view from my back door.

  16. TedWest says:

    Darcy,
    We don't have "country" here, and to give you an idea of how much I drive, I would guess that I spend less than $5. a month on gas.
    Remember me telling you that you'd be shocked if I told you how I lived?

  17. I appreciate the respect that you are giving me and the feeling is mutual.

Leave a Reply

