Looking Outward

I came upon three good entries today that, taken together, sum up where we are right now. The one by Dox is more speculative, but I think it's got a lot of validity, even if I don't share his perspective entirely. Lexann and Zak present more troubling entries that I think are too close to what Obama really is.

Dox thinks Obama is already a shoe-in for reelection, and if so, I think Zak and Lexann have indicated why beyond Dox's feeling that it will be due to a mass change in attitude. And even there, it's questionable whether it's attitude change or brainwashing – –

Keep 'em stupid and drill 'em with lies. Will the economic situation get so bad that people want more government (likely) or will they realize that government has nearly destroyed them? It will take competent conservative types to convey that, and at this time, there aren't any. But I have faith that Obama will over-govern. When Biden was picked, people wondered if he could keep the gaffes to a minimum. I felt certain he couldn't. Likewise with Bobo. His views are so extreme that I think they will emerge for all to see.

And we have to remember that McCain turned out to be far worse a candidate than anyone could have ever imagined. Did he cement his own defeat? Did the Economic crisis do him in? Or was Obama really a man of destiny? I doubt it was the latter, but I do agree that if he governs in moderation a-la Clinton, he will be hard to beat in 2012. I just don't think he can remain moderate, and no one knows where the economy is headed. If Obama brings stability, why would anyone want change? Besides, he'd probably be too busy with that to implement a lot of his communist agenda then… until his second term.

Anyway, I agree with Dox except for his middle part where he thinks Sarah Palin is finished. She may be, but it's her call. By that I mean not just a choice, but a decision – to become far more knowledgeable and forceful. her initial attraction was her strength, but we quickly came to see her as much weaker than we'd thought. Right now she has a huge advantage on anyone else, but it will take a lot of effort on her part to prove that she's the Sarah of first impression, and not the bumbling, get-along Sarah she was for far too long. The good news for her is that everyone now is paying attention. The bad news is that everyone now is paying attention.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Looking Outward

  1. Any conservative or libertarian politician has to overcome the character assassination by the left-liberal mainstream media. Ronald Reagan was successful and got his message out to the voters. If Sarah Palin has any future goals of running for President she will have to overcome the bias of the mainstream media.

  2. TedWest says:

    Reagan didn't have to contend with the sheer viciousness we see today, and even if he had, I believe he would have handled it with grace and humor because he was just that good. Sarah has an uphill battle. I expected a Thatcher, but what we got was someone whose inexperience left her surprisingly ill-prepared. So much so that I believe you or I could have handled her situation better.
    At the same time, she wasn't devastated, she's merely starting over, but this time from the men's tee.

  3. Lexann says:

    …if he governs in moderation a-la Clinton, he will be hard to beat in 2012. I just don't think he can remain moderate…I don't know why anyone believes this man will be a centrist; maybe its just conservatives wishful thinking. His early cabinet choices show that he will not be moderate. It is an impossibility with him. But especially with a complicit media, it won't take long for him to quell resistance and form a Nazi-esque militant youth group from his faithful hordes. Then he will be impossible to stop in 2012, even once most of America sees who he really is. Perhaps I am being overly pessimistic, but I greatly fear what this radical Marxist will do from the White House especially with Congress in his pocket.

Leave a Reply

