Pious Punks

All he had to do was ask…

Long time readers know that I don't care whom I offend, and that I wrote solely for my own enjoyment. One of the biggest problems I've had in life is that I often see things too clearly. I would prefer not to. It's not fun. But you don't have a choice. And it gets me into trouble with just about everyone sooner or later.

The one area I feel an extra responsibility to restrain myself is when it comes to religion. That's because no one knows whether God exists even though both sides claim to have good evidence, and I admire those who find comfort in their religious beliefs because my beliefs bring me none, and short of some supernatural being appearing to me personally, that won't change.

Furthermore, if people use their religion to do good, who am I to say, "Yeah but…?" Everyone is just trying to get through as best they can, and I do believe that religious people are more serene on average. it would be wrong for me to do or say somthing that disturbs that.

But of course, a lot of bad things have been done by people in the name of religion, and they probably had the best of intentions at the time, even though people are still dead as a result. Not to mention tortured and otherwise ruined.

Which brings me to our own Timothy…

He wears his religion on his sleeve and that's OK. I'm neither threatened nor am I annoyed. Good for him. He believes in his faith and what it espouses…

Or does he?

Before I get back to that question, I need to explain the mixed feelings I have about participating on Vox. I appreciate the thoughtful comments I get here, and I especially appreciate hearing that I made you laugh. I think that's one of the best things you can do for people, so when I succeed, it's personally fulfilling. But I would prefer to just write aand leave the commenting to you if you feel inclined.

I explained to someone recently that I set out years ago to become a standup comic. I even moved to LA and performed a few times before I gave it up for two reasons: I couldn't stand to live the way starting comics had to, and I couldn't detach myself from my personal feelings about various events and people which just made me angry. And it became very clear to me that I could not overcome the latter then I saw a fellow named Mike Binder onstage at the Comedy Store.

Mike was one angry guy, and because of that, if you laughed at all at what he was saying, it was a nervous laugh. I wasn't near as bad as he was, but I realized that I couldn't find the humor in a lot of things that other people could, and that persists to this day. By the way, Mike went on to become a director.

And the least funny thing is what's happening to this country and which is caused mostly by liberals. Occasionally I can rise above, but usually, I just hate them, their hypocrisy and their stupidity, and I feel they are America's biggest threat.

So it is from that perspective, that I read others' blogs here, and the reason that I read these blogs is out of a feeling of appreciation in accordance with what I've said above as well as obligation – to support those who support me. But when it comes to politics and current events, it's rare that someone says something that some columnist hasn't said better elsewhere, and it's even rarer that someone posts something of which I was not already aware.

Thus I prefer entries involving matters of human interest, but even then, if I comment and I'm joking, I wonder if people appreciate it or they don't get it, or worse, they're offended when I had no desire to offend.

I mean, when I want to be offensive, believe me, it's unmistakable.

And although it might not be apparent, I try to be respectful of the fact that your blog is not my blog, so I usually don't post more than twice on the same thread, most especially ones containing liberal comments, because the longer it goes, the greater the likelihood that I won't be able to suppress my inclination to shred them. It's just too easy and they are just too deserving…

Even if you don't see it.

But now here's the thing: if you don't want me there, you shouldn't have the slightest hesitation to tell me and save us both future nuisance. Believe me, I won't be offended if you post here and I don't have to reciprocate.

The other side of that coin is, however, if you don't want me there, and you don't tell me. if instead, you act like a coward instead of a Christian and I go to perform my "duty" and find myself blocked, well, I might think less of you.

And if you happen to be one of the overtly religious, while I would certainly forgive, I won't forget you, and your "preachings" will take a hit forever… because if you're a hypocrite, unless you're St. Peter, I know there's a great probability that you'll still be a hypocrite the next time you're in what you consider to be a difficult situation.

Which brings me back to Timothy who, just the other day, said he liked me just the way I am. I admit that surprised me because I don't. but then I'm not Christian, so I figured he might have seen something I didn't?

And Timothy also takes the John McCain approach to bipartisanship – he thinks liberals not only have something to say, but that they have redeeming value. So yesterday, Timothy's talking about how terrible it is that liberals are trying to stifle free speech with the Fairness Doctrine, and he's "communicating" with a very average liberal idiot who shall remain nameless simply because she is so average, and Corey tells Timothy that she's heard rumors on National Public Radio that conservatives say that liberals who criticize Bush are un-American, "so both sides do it."

That's where I came in and I was very gracious to Corey – I only called her a couple of names. Then I asked her to provide us with an example of when Republicans/conservatives attempted to silence liberals by legal means…?

Corey responded the way all liberals do – by ignoring difficult questions, changing the subject and employing talking points… in this case, they were that I was just bitter and that we should all get along because we have a brand new President who deserves all our support.

All well and good, but I must have missed her apology for not according the same sentiment to George Bush – for eight years. And about what I'd specifically asked, in the words of John McEnroe, "The QUESTION, answer the QUESTION, JERK!"

Except that when I returned this AM to Timothy's blog, I found my post gone, my name removed from Timothy's neighborhood, me blocked – and Corey still there. Curious, but you don't have to hit me between the eyes with a 2×4 twice. I need Timothy, much less Corey, like I need a generic Timothy and Corey.

Timothy can still post here. In fact, I wish he would. Boy, do I. It's just that in my opinion as an ex-Christian, Jesus would have taken a different course than Timothy did. But take heart, Timothy, I like you just the way you are too – now that I know who you are, because it saves me a lot of future nuisance and misplaced trust.

But had you just asked… it would have saved me the trouble of writing this.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pious Punks

  1. Lexann says:

    So, why are you an EX-Christian?

  2. TedWest says:

    Lexann,
    The facile answer would be because of people like Timothy, but the reality is that I developed my own theory – I call it the Tabitha Theory, and it let's God off the hook.
    I also have an alternate: the Hell Week Theory, but the Tabitha one gives me more comfort.

  3. Lexann says:

    The Tabitha theory? Explain.

  4. TedWest says:

    OK, but I hope you have a sense of humor about religion.
    See, if the Bible is correct, God has a lot of explaining to do to put it mildly, and I hope you don't want me to elaborate.
    However, if it turned out that God was more like Tabitha on Bewitched, and he kind of created the universe by accident because he was testing his powers, then I think it explains the situation, at least a lot of things, better than the Bible does. For example, a little girl's anger that Eve ate the apple she told her not to eat, and the subsequent juvenile overreaction – which I hope she corrects as she matures, though no one knows how long that will take?!?
    By the way, this is actually an evolved theory from an earlier one I had in which God created us all as pets…I felt that a conscious act could not justify the subsequent mess.
    I'm goin' to hell, right?

  5. Jordan says:

    I'm goin' to hell, right?In a nutshell.What most people do not realize is that every person born on this earth is already on the way to hell during their lifetime, because we are all born sinners and sin is what separates us from God.However, people need to continue on the highway to hell, for the main reason Jesus came to earth, died on the cross and rose again is to make a path for men and God to have fellowship again.Therefore, we can continue on our highway to hell or turn to God, and because of what Jesus did be saved. No one can buy or earn salvation -It's free to all those who ask because Jesus paid the price.

  6. Jordan says:

    "people need to continue" should read:people need not continue

  7. Lexann says:

    Yeah. What he said.

  8. TedWest says:

    It's times like these that I'm glad -I- have a sense of humor because I understand how people like Dox can feel quite hostile that religious people take that on faith and don't want a serious discussion about how that plays out in terms of probability or logic. Where I differ from them though is that discussion serves no purpose since no one – no one- can know what really is, and the problem for atheists is that they can't get past the "first cause" argument. That's why a very prominent atheist gave up his atheistic "faith."
    But for me, I'm just irritated that I missed the turnoff. Were the signs big and in English, because my Latin ain't so good anymore?

  9. tom says:

    "Via ut abyssus." That should get you there. 😉

  10. TedWest says:

    Tom, I regret that I get the wink but I lack a link… to what that means. But I was referring to the turnoff to God's house, or at least where the party's goin' on, not the road to hell which I'm paving on my own.

  11. Jordan says:

    Ted, I fully understood your humorous vein in asking that question, although hell is real and it ain't going to be funny.Whatever brought you to the place you are today, let me say that Jesus is not a figment of anyone's imagination and the Bible is more true and dependable that any book written by men.Christianity is not a leap into darkness by "faith."It is based on the of historical proof if Jesus' life, His death and his resurrection, and though men through the ages have corrupted His truth and twisted for his purpose, it does not invalidate His message or His work. The proof is in the millions of people who have put their faith in Him and whose lives have changed A change that is above this world.Are there hypocrites? Counterfeits? Absolutely. However, just because some do not reflect what they claim it doesn't invalidate that Christianity is true.No other religion can claim about their leader a sinless life, death and resurrection. Many smart people have attempted to discredit Christianity only to find Jesus.If you ever have the desire check out C.S. Lewis or in more modern times, Lee Strobel

  12. Jordan says:

    I apologize for the errors in this sentence.It should read:It is based on the historical proof of Jesus' life, His death and
    his resurrection, and though men through the ages have corrupted His
    truth and twisted His purpose…

Leave a Reply

