Will Fox News Be A Casuality?

Regardless of the outcome of the election, I will be watching a lot less on Fox News. I realized this last night as I was first screaming at O'Reilly, and then Sean Hannity. Why?

Actually for different reasons. As I've mentioned, I despise Bill O'Reilly. In his never ending effort to appear "fair and balanced," he says and does the most phony and outrageous things – last night he defended Obama.

He also asked people to vote on how they felt about his coverage of the candidates: did he favor Obama, McCain, or neither? I voted that he favored Obama. That's because they didn't offer the choice: Am I helping to elect the Rottenest Man Who Ever Ran?

If he'd asked that, the answer is clear – any favorable coverage of a man who is so deceitful and dangerous is treason.

Have I gone way over the top? I hope so. I mean, I still can't figure out how America can elect scum that has assumed human form, but if it does, I so want to be wrong in every possible way. The only trouble is, I won't be. Obama has already shown plenty of who he really is in a thousand different ways.

Sean Hannity is very different from O'Reilly, but the result is the same. That's because he's only half the show, the stronger half to be sure, which is surprising in itself considering how weak he is overall. I mean, he talks a good line, but he's far too friendly with people who hold views which are anathema to him.

And last night, Hannity had Huckabee as a guest, someone almost a clone of himself, but weaker still, and while Huckabee talked a good line, at the very end, he smiled at the Nonentity. I came unhinged. My wife said, "All he did was smile." I told her that it was possible to acknowledge him without smiling. Smiling conveys equality.

And then there's those endless panel discussions all over Fox everyday. They serve no purpose other than to fill up time, and I'm forced to sit through liberal garbage (to be kind) in order to hear what the conservative has to say. And after doing that, you invariably realize that you've already said or thought what the guy who's right is saying. I need that?

So enough of Fox. I'll listen to Rush, and I'll try to catch Ann Coulter and Mark Steyn when they're on, and I'll even listen to Hannity's radio show, but I don't want to hear another liberal again – ever. And that goes even if McCain wins.

If that sounds harsh, I assure you, they feel the same about you, and the difference is that they'll be trying to silence even the O'Reillys if and when they have all the power.

July 4th is America's birthday. November 4th may become the birthday of the new America, which would really be back to the future. I know it's unlikely, but I consider it updating the American Dream.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Will Fox News Be A Casuality?

  1. I agree – I watched the O'Reilly show as he defended Obama. And, I heard him on his radio show Friday do he same thing. What is wrong with that guy?

  2. There is Neal Boortz and John Stossel both with real information and balls.

  3. TedWest says:

    Timothy, I really think he's trying to maintain viability in case Obama wins. Contrast that with what my wife said the other day – that Obama picks on Hannity, but never Limbaugh. Why? Because Limbaugh is too formidable for him. And you'll never see Rush defend Obama because there's no circumstance under which Obama would merit defending, and Limbaugh would never compromise his principles to do so in any case.
    Zak, my wife likes Boortz. I've never listened to him, but I'll be exploring starting this week.

  4. Hannity is a "Boy Scout" that thinks everything is good with the Republicans and police officers. O'Reilly is just an obnoxious arrogant SOB.

  5. Darcy says:

    I don't have the time to listen to them, I've just got too darn much work to do but I get the highlights on my own schedule here:http://boortz.com/

Leave a Reply

