A Good Endorsement

I've been waiting anxiously for this – the Presidential endorsement by the Arizona Republic, a very liberal paper, and whether it's due to self-preservation (their circulation dwindles monthly despite Phoenix being the fastest growing city in the country), or the fact that at least a few people see things clearly there, they have endorsed John McCain.

And it's not a tepid endorsement, it's full-throated. They cover every aspect of concern to voters and the welfare of the country…

"Even McCain mischaracterizes his noble willingness to stand up and stand alone. He contends it is the "maverick" in him. Well, he's wrong about that. It is the leader in him."

And the Republic didn't just dwell on McCain's positives, they also dealt with Obama's negatives, which I felt was equally important, since some people actually think of him as capable.

"Obama is barely four years removed from the Illinois State Legislature. And even that thin record in public office is obscured to us by the senator's proclivity for voting "present," often on knotty issues like abortion. For a candidate seeking the world's greatest political challenge, Obama presents an extraordinarily lightly traveled trail."

And here's the singularly most important line in my opinion:

"Considering what we do know of his record, it is hard to envision Obama tamping down even the wildest leftist aspirations of Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid."

The Republic also gives Joe the Plumber's concern it's proper weight:

"Obama's plan to reduce the taxes of "95 percent" of working families is most troubling. As many as 44 percent of "taxpayers" today pay no federal income tax at all. What Obama in fact is proposing is a direct transfer of wealth from top earners to those on the lower rungs. In short, he seeks to use the tax system as a revived form of welfare.

To be sure, the paper's endorsement is not without its flaws – for example, it regards global warming as an issue, and seems pleased that McCain will find a way to ruin the economy over that, but I guess I can't have everything

There is one thing the Republic says about Obama with which I completely and totally disagree – two actually, but it's like Doublemint Gum:

"No one will dispute that the Illinois senator's candidacy constitutes a historic moment in the life of this nation. In addition to his demonstrated capacity to help heal the greatest American wound, its racial divide, Obama has inspired millions of Americans to see anew the value of public service."

While I would agree the Obama candidacy is an historic moment, I regard it as historically bad – it's the worst sort of precedent – that a man, solely because of race and having not a single other qualification, can be on the verge of becoming President.

What next to celebrate for its own sake, the first woman? The first Hispanic, How about the first Indian? Wouldn't that be something?

And if Obama were qualified, his race shouldn't even come up – just he's here, he's black, now lets get on with it…

Furthermore, the election of Obama would not heal this so-called "greatest wound," it would exacerbate it. Blacks have demonstrated that they are gearing up to gain all they can from the first black President, and his record suggests he'll indulge them. The security detail scandal involving Governor Paterson in New York may serve as an indicator of what we can expect from Obama.

Finally, the endorsement's conclusion is worth noting as the key difference between the two candidates:

"McCain speaks with a voice of credible authority. It is not as mellifluous a voice as Obama's. But it is a voice we in Arizona know well. It is one we trust."

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Good Endorsement

  1. Ted – You state: "Furthermore, the election of Obama would not heal this so-called
    "greatest wound," it would exacerbate it. Blacks have demonstrated that
    they are gearing up to gain all they can from the first black
    President, and his record suggests he'll indulge them".I say: This is an interesting observation. This statement has merit. Plus, I think that Obamites, if they win the White House, are in for a big surprise. Why? Because, much has been made of his race by Obamites and the MSM. And, if Obama panders to Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton, Louis Farrahkan, Rev. Wright, and othe prominent African Americans and forsakes European American concerns, Obama and all African Americans will viewed in a negative light. Also, no amount of Obamite propaganda or MSM bias will save Obama, if our economic meltdown gets worse during his administration. I am disappointed in both parties in Washington. Obama may win. If he wins, I wish him well. But, McCain and Obama are part of the Washington cabal that allowed our current economic meltdown to happen. So, I do not have much confidence in their leadership in resolving our current crisis. Vote for Bob Barr

  2. Darcy says:

    I personally, don't give a care what color he is. What I do care about is that he is the most liberal member of the Senate.

  3. TedWest says:

    I hate it when there are so many good comments because I never know whether to respond individually or all together, but since one post is less effort, and I'm nothing if not economical (you didn't think I was going to say "lazy" I hope?),..
    Zak, it was more than surprising, it was astounding. but coincidentally, the subscriptions are just out today, and the Republic is down another 5.5 percent.

    Jack, since the MSM doesn't report it, you may not be aware that Obama has not only not steered clear of race, he initiated it – in the primaries against Hillary, and many times against McCain from his insidious "They'll tell you I'm different" to his absolutely despicable Spanish ad in which he lied about McCain and tried to play on the fears and concerns of immigrants.
    As for how we treat "Arab-Americans," I'm troubled by your wording about some "unpleasant" stories. To my knowledge, there has been no significant escalation of hostilities, and in fact, I don't think their treatment has been worse than any other group, and in some ways, it's been better as people went out of their way to accommodate and even elevate them.
    But I want to be clear, and it goes to your opening sentence – I'm personally opposed to any group who wants special treatment – as a group. I don't believe I've ever discriminated against a decent individual of any race, color or creed, but the keyword is, of course, "decent." And so I have no qualms about saying exactly what I think, and I will not be constrained by implied threats that something I say might be considered "racist."
    If Obama were a decent human being, I would readily accept him, but he's anything but – he's run the dirtiest campaign I have ever seen, and it's so bad that there is no other campaign to compare it to. Just today we learn that he (intentionally) hasn't kept track of donations, and so he accepts money (illegally) from everywhere. This was verified by actual tests via credit card donations to both Obama and McCain, with the latter refusing to accept questionable donations.
    See, if he gets elected and it was later determined that he accepted illegal donations, he'd still be President. the only consequence would probably be some fines.
    Back on the race issue, we would expect blacks to vote for Obama 9-1 over McCain because they have long voted as a Democrat bloc, but we certainly wouldn't expect non-racists to vote for Obama 9-1 over the more experienced and better qualified Hillary.
    In other words, all the racism is coming from the left and from blacks and all the supposed racism from whites is imaginary, and if it's not, it's all on the part of white Democrats.
    As for skin color having zero impact, I would have if Colin Powell had run in '96. But he did himself and America a disservice by declining. For if he had, few would have even thought about skin color owing to his other qualifications even if they were inclined, and if he won, which I believe he would have, being the first black President would have been immensely lower key, and it would have spared us the race-baiting Obama.
    And it's Obama's racism that will likely widen the divide in the future if we're unfortunate enough to have him as President. This is a very bad guy. He's been a thug, a liar, a race-baiter, he's used intimidation in place or argument, and it will all only get worse – whatever you reward, you get more of.
    No one could support Obama for his policies and ideas, because even if you like them, they are mere theory since he's never had any experience with their testing and implementation.

    Timothy, I was with you right up to the end. Barr has no chance whatsoever, and so voting for him is not just a wasted vote, it could help elect Obama, and if that happened, I don't know about you, I couldn't live with myself. that's why I voted for Bush in '92 even though I despised him. Perot had blown his chance and showed himself to be nuts, and even though Clinton seemed moderate enough, when I got in that booth, it wasn't worth the risk.
    Also, if Obama wins, I won't wish him well. He will never be my President. He's rotten to the core, and he's irredeemable.

    Darcy, that's why I considered that the endorsements most important line. Liberals, at least American liberals, aren't just collectivists, they're plain evil, and they demonstrate it everyday,in every way.

  4. TedWest says:

    Jack,
    "And we are not even voters"
    You underestimate yourself. ACORN has made it possible for anyone to vote here. And that's not a joke.
    Also, there is a video just this day that you may never see in which the head of ACORN in New York viciously attacks McCain. These are hideous people.
    I need to tell you and everyone how much I appreciate your comments, even when it seems that I'm not as tactful as I could be. Some people react passively when they hear disturbing things about this election, me, I beat my wife. But she's Asian, so she expects it.
    That IS a joke.
    I can certainly understand the sort of incidents you have described that Arabs in the US may have faced. And it may have been heightened and more frequent for a time, but while I condemn indiscriminate harassment of anyone, especially since I've done my share (that's also a joke), when you lose three thousand people in an unprovoked attack and then people in the Middle East dance in the streets, it tends to grate a bit. I hope no one elsewhere has to find this out for themselves.
    Regarding racism, this election has opened wounds we didn't know we had, and it is all coming from the left despite their attempts to portray the right as responsible. There;s an ad right now, also courtesy of ACORN, that tries to tie protests about election fraud to intimidation of black people past and present, and by the right, of course.
    But ask for a concrete example, and you'll find there are none, and if one occurred, I and every other conservative would be quick to condemn it as we were with the crazy woman from last week who feigned an attack by a black Obama supporter.
    Meanwhile, the hanging effigy of Sarah Palin has come down in West Hollywood, but not because it was terrible beyond belief. It came down because the mayor asked them to remove it because it was causing his office too much nuisance.

Leave a Reply

