I Told You, Were You Listening?

This morning, Barry Young got back on the same track he's been on for a week now, and I finally became furious. He bills himself as "almost famous," and he seems destined to remain so, though I must say that he's one of the smartest guys in talk radio. I've said that he could be another Rush Limbaugh, but he's content to "phone it in."

What got me angry was this: last week, Mr Young, citing the bad poll numbers for McCain, all but threw in the towel, and in doing so, he got a number of people very upset – upset enough to demand that he be fired, apparently, since today he was making light of it.

Then he cited the most recent Zogby poll which appeared ominous for McCain because Zogby predicted an Obama landslide "if the numbers hold." Barry commented that people could be mad at him if they want, but he was only bringing them the news and trying to be realistic about the implications.

That's when I lost it. see, I've had to contend with this here, and in my private life as even my wife has been down because of all the negative news she hears. But I told you and her not to believe what you're reading, hearing, and seeing. I know how that sounds, and under ordinary circumstances, I would think I was nuts too.

But these aren't ordinary circumstances. We've never had so many people so well prepared to steal an election. They failed in Florida in 2000. They didn't try much in 2004 because they thought they had it won. And now, they've resolved not to let it happen again.

So they're not taking any chances. They've marshaled the media to put out a relentless barrage of bad news and "exposes" about McCain and Palin, they've arranged for limitless and untraceable amounts of cash to finance their nefarious deeds, they have an army engaged in voting fraud, and…

They still aren't sure they can pull it off. Just today we learn that the governor of Pennsylvania has warned that Pennsylvania may be in jeopardy. And the reason they aren't sure is because if you stop to think for a moment, and ask yourself who's supporting Obama, and who won't, you have to wonder where this landslide might come from

Granted more young people and blacks may vote for Obama, but Jews are less prone to vote for him, Catholics have been told that Obama and Biden are not acceptable, middle America, many of whom are Democrats ordinarily, have to be more hardened against Obama after his comments about them being bitter and after being pandered to by Joe Biden and labeled as racists and rednecks by John Murtha.

McCain himself doesn't come off as the person the smear attempts have portrayed him as being, and Sarah Palin is wildly popular despite the Democrats' and the media's vicious attacks.

And of course, there's Joe the Plumber, who he represents, and how he's been treated. It would be wrong to assume that all the liberal viciousness goes unnoticed.

Yet there was Barry Young today bemoaning the Zogby poll and saying that he's just being practical and realistic in interpreting the news. That's when I yelled, "You're not interpreting the news, you're engaging in rank speculation! You're doing exactly what they want you to do. You can't accept the polls are real!"

His argument was that even if they're off, they are so much in Obama's favor that he still leads by some margin. He even dismissed the polls that showed a close race, assuming that THOSE are the polls that are wrong.

That's not sensible,. It might be at another time, given other circumstances, but the bias and the hatred coming from the left is so enormous that no one can accepted anything they say. Figures not only lie, they may have no relationship whatsoever to reality.

And now there's a new poll that shows a one point difference between McCain and Obama. Is that flawed, or is it the case that the polls are starting to be more accurate, as they need to be as election day nears?

But there's still almost two weeks, so why would manipulated polls start to narrow now? How about this: if they show a big Obama lead, what if Obama's supporters stay home because they think he's a shoe-in, and Republicans show up in droves because they weren't demoralized as the pollsters had hoped they'd be?

If the polls narrowed too late, Obama supporters may not get the message in time. Can you imagine the backlash? It wouldn't be directed at Republicans.

So keep the faith and stay focused. This election is not only not over, it may be an exact replay of Reagan-Carter. Shut off or, better yet, shut out those who would bring you down. McCain and Palin have both principle and likability on their side, and they aren't giving up.

If Obama loses, his supporters can blame the media, the polls, racists, and probably many factors I can't even imagine, but if McCain loses, you may have no one to blame but yourself.

—–

Just as I was preparing to post this, Rush announced that another poll has shown the race to be wthin three points.

—–

And now another poll shows McCain up in Ohio.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Told You, Were You Listening?

  1. TedWest says:

    I said elsewhere that there are many degrees of "terrible." I really think McCain will be a terrible President, but What I mean by that is, he'll be slightly better than George Bush.
    Obama, on the other hand, will be a disaster of Biblical proportions – if he gets his way and a Democrat Congress gets its.
    I refuse to believe that in these most precarious times, Americans are so stupid that they're willing to vote in a nobody for the sake of change in which any variety will do.
    Now if I'm wrong, the question is: what then? I told my wife this morning that Obama could be the best President in modern times, and I will still never call him my President. That's because of the tactics he's employed in trying to get there. He truly is the Rottenest Man Who Ever Ran, and Like Ayers, that doesn't change no matter how far removed he is from his days as a seedy candidate.
    I thought Bill Clinton was bad, and Limbaugh calls Obama "our first black Clinton," but I can't joke about him that way. To me he's just rotten to the core.

  2. Scio, Scio says:

    El Rushbo yesterday made the point that pollsters don't want to be totally wrong, and the skewed numbers we're seeing will tighten up, probably even further.
    Has the damage been done to the easily discouraged? I pray not.

  3. Scio, Scio says:

    He just makes sense.

  4. Lexann says:

    I've had to contend with this here, and in my private life as even my
    wife has been down because of all the negative news she hears.I can relate to your wife. I've tried to stop listening to the news and talk radio altogether because it just depresses me. But make no mistake…I'm voting! The MSM propaganda that the Obamessiah has the election already won by the power of his god won't deter me.My husband has been trying to vote early, to beat the crowds. He thinks I'm nuts for waiting until election day. He has today off, and tried to vote, but the line was 5 hours long! 5 hours! So, he's going to try again another day. I told him, I'm a stay at home mom! I'll wait until all the election places are open on election day and go mid morning when most people have to be at work. It makes more sense to me than waiting in line 5 or 6 hours at one place that's the only voting location that's open for the whole county. But I digress…

  5. TedWest says:

    That reminds me of Reagan in 1984. They warned there would be long lines, but when I went to vote, it was the lightest I'd seen…. and as you know, Reagan's landslide was huge. Although that could explain why there were no lines – Democrats felt there was no point.
    Those were the good old days.

  6. I just wish I had someone to vote "for" rather then against.

  7. TedWest says:

    You raise a very good point. There is no one I could vote for. And before you tell me someone you could get behind, I repeat, there is no one I could vote for. Worse, there's no one on the horizon I could vote for.

  8. Jordan says:

    I don't put much stock in the polls. Imo, they are meant to discourage those who want to vote republican.Obama said recently that were not for Fox News he'd be 5 points higher in the polls.Someone later advanced the idea that were not for the liberal media he wouldn't be where he is today.If there was ever a FRAUD, he is it!! Compliments of the MSM. :{

Leave a Reply

