Weakness Kills

On my profile, I say that I love to watch "Get the bitch" movies on Lifetime. It's a guilty pleasure in one sense, and in another, it's masochistic. See, some of my pet screams are, "God, I HATE weakness," and "If you pull a gun, you USE it!"
 
I'm sure you're well aware of how that applies to Lifetime movies as, inevitably, women being menaced hesitate to take actions that could save them from a horrible fate. The reason my guilty pleasure is masochistic is that when such women fail to defend themselves and thus cause me to start rooting for their attackers, rarely do these women actually get got. So I'm left feeling frustrated that "survival of the fittest" is thwarted again, and the entire planet is weaker as a result.
 
Thank God it's just a movie, eh?
 
Well, in real life, Republicans/Conservatives are those women, and in real life, the weakness IS fatal. It's not that Democrats and lesser liberals are so powerful. Heck, most can barley tie their shoes. But what they are is loud and relentless. They never back down, they never apologize, they're unencumbered by principles, and they have no shame, while conservatives always apologize, they always back down, and worst of all, they fear offending someone.
 
When they have the bad guys in their sights, they hesitate to pull the trigger, as John McCain has demonstrated over and over in the debates. Last night again, he refused to name names, and he tiptoed around Obama-Biden as if he were a ballerina. Have you got that picture?
 
The point I'm trying to make is, if you can't defend yourself by all necessary means at the most critical times, is it any wonder that Republicans lost Congress and are on the edge of losing the Presidency because they are so weak that they couldn't cut spending when they were in total control and they couldn't stand up and publicly demand reforms of the financial system that, in private, they not only saw as necessary, but as critical?
 
Now, in the minority, they can't even bring themselves to demand investigations and post the names of such villains as Chris Dodd, and Barney Frank in the public square. Meanwhile, conservative columnists devour their own, and liberals applaud them for doing so while delighting in private.
 
And those conservative columnists who have outed themselves are anything but conservative. Sure, Bill Kristol and Brooks of the Times were always very suspect, but George Will? Even Charles Krauthammer has written a column or two that made me wonder if I wasn't living through Invasion of the Body Snatchers. Or maybe "conservative" doesn't mean what I thought it did?

All of this is why I say that if there's anyone I hate more than liberals, it's conservatives. They've forfeited their right to govern. They've defended and continue to defend a President who has sold them out but they despise John McCain for being open and honest, and they even blame McCain for a campaign finance law whose enactment is solely the fault of George Bush.
 
Were it not for principle, I, myself. would prefer that Obama prevail. I think I'll be better off under his plan because I'm in a niche that I constructed years ago and which leaves me relatively immune to the economic disasters most people now face – high gas prices, falling stock prices, home values that are far less than their mortgages… Of course, I had to learn the hard way – last century I lost what most people would consider to be huge sums of money, but at least I finally saw the light and made adjustments, and now my only big vulnerability is healthcare, the same vulnerability almost everyone else faces, and I think I now stand eligible to get free money from Barack Obama even though I have no debt.
 
So see, I've done the same thing with conservatism that I did with personal finances – I've made myself immune to their failures. I don't care if conservatives are miserably weak. I don't even care if they fail completely. On the other hand, that allows me the luxury of telling it exactly as I see it and of not worrying who's offended or who doesn't like me. I don't need them… I don't even want them if they can't do better than this.
 
Remember Obama telling his supporters to "get in their faces?" What did you take from that? We're you shocked and concerned by his directness, or did you resolve to meet them with overwhelming force? Because that's the other side of the coin. I learned as a kid to strike before they strike you and to use as much force as you could muster. You don't hold back, and you don't bluff. I mean, what if your bluff is called and you've got nothin'?

When I played baseball or football, I didn't play to win. I mean I did, but victory wasn't complete if I didn't hurt somebody in the process. I didn't want to take him out of the game – I wanted to take him out of several games*! I played Pinochle the same way. And you know who I appreciated ? They guy who played with the same intensity.
 
If Republicans and conservatives don't grasp what it is they're up against, and right now, they will fall further behind, because they can't rely on liberals to self-destruct. They haven't in all of America's failing cities, and in fact liberals are stronger there because people rely on their handouts. That's the America you face for the rest of your lives, and I then consider myself fortunate that the rest of my life will likely be shorter than most of yours.
 
* So it is my greatest regret that I never actually took anybody out of anything

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

