The Party’s Over

No analysis necessary.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Party’s Over

  1. Scio, Scio says:

    Expound. I am starved for commentary, the Corner at NRO is down…

  2. TedWest says:

    Well, I thought she was so terrible that I was screaming. Now, literally everyone I see is saying Palin did a good job, so what do I know?
    I thought it was important to establish my opinion before the debate ended because I had a feeling I was being harder on her than others might be.
    How did you see it?

  3. It will be colored by one's pary affiliations most likely. Unless you are one of the debaters, I find debates rather dry and boring. My only concern is how the undecided voters will view the answers that Palin and Biden gave. It was said that Nixon won the debate on radio but Kennedy looked better on TV, but I think that one's point of view has a lot to do with how the score card reads.

  4. TedWest says:

    But Zak, literally everyone on every channel, and I turned in all of them, thought Palin helped herself and that now it's up to McCain. I thought Biden ran over her from every direction, but people were praising what I was screaming about – like her folksy charm and many of the things she talked about which I felt had no place in a debate.

  5. TedWest says:

    OK, I've got to seriously consider giving up analyzing anything – Alan Colmes just said he thinks Palin did well.

  6. dox^2 says:

    I think the polls are going to turn around on her performance. Seriously…

  7. Alan has a few screws loose…

  8. TedWest says:

    God, I love you guys!

  9. Darcy says:

    I think she did O.K. She seemed a little too "country" or "folksy" for me. One thing I noticed, and I don't know if it was intentional and they were hoping she would say something stupid, but at the end, her mic was still on and Biden's was not.

  10. TedWest says:

    That's how I saw it too, but no one seemed to agree with us. Thank God!

  11. Darcy says:

    Alan has a lot of screws loose.

  12. OK – I wrote "a few" rather then "ten thousand" – I appologise for the dredful error. 😉

  13. Darcy says:

    We'll let it slide — this time… 😉

  14. Endeesea says:

    Commentary here in Oz is saying the debate – such as they are – was an virtual non-event. Neither protagonist slipped up, neither protagonist scored any hit on the other. Some are claiming a 'win' by Biden, but only because he was expected to eat a foot sandwich, and didn't. All were expecting Palin to be openly ineffectual and bumbling, and she wasn't. Line ball. As an Aussie, I can't wait for the next six weeks to flash past so our news can concentrate on something other than American political shenanigans.

  15. TedWest says:

    Well, it turns out that Biden did insert his foot halfway down his throat. I just posted an entry about it

  16. Lexann says:

    I thought Palin did better than she was expected to do, but that's not saying much. The MSM wasn't expecting much (and after those awful Couric interviews, I see why). I felt as you did, though. I didn't see that she beat Biden, she just didn't come across as a complete idiot.She is very endearing though. And that may sway voters. I mean look at how many idiots are voting for Obama for completely emotional reasons.

  17. TedWest says:

    I'd like to expand a bit on what I said above. My assessment of Palin at that moment stands. But I was only looking at her, not as how she was doing relative to Joe Biden. I posted it as a snapshot, and with the full knowledge and hope that she might improve in the last third of the debate – she did.
    Almost immediately after I posted, she nailed Biden with a couple of undeniably true zingers, and I felt that no matter what she did in the beginning, if she finished strong, people would look at her as capable.
    Others saw an overall stronger performance than you and I did, but the more I think back, the more clips I see, and the more that comes out about Biden, the more it is undeniable that Palin bested him.
    In fact, it was Biden who fell on his face, but most people probably will never know that. He made unforgivable mistakes, and he flat-out lied, and they were rehearsed lies.

  18. A rehearsed lie is 1000 times more vile, like premeditated murder is more vile than a crime of passion.

  19. Endeesea says:

    surely, murder is murder, regardless of how you dress it up?

  20. TedWest says:

    And this is exactly what I meant by a liberal's concept of logic. Zak made no mention of the relative "value" of degrees of murder. He only talked about how seriously he regarded a rehearsed lie, and that was something any rational person would understand to be figurative.
    I happen to agree that any form of murder is murder, which is equivalent to child abuse and rape, and probable others if I care to give you that much consideration, and as such, all should be put to death themselves… along with Joe Biden!

Leave a Reply

