My Mistake

I didn't watch the debate correctly last night, and it's my fault. I forgot that there were different standards for each candidate, that Biden had to not be Biden and Palin had to -be- Palin, and in that respect, Palin clearly won by a large margin.

I have to admit that I was expecting a debate among equals where one person says something and the other tries to refute it by facts and logic, and the winner is the person who does that better than the other.

That was then, this is now.

Here's what I missed courtesy of Kyle-Anne Shiver, a woman and columnist to whose site I submitted my email address about a month ago, and now can't get her columns to stop coming no matter how many times I report her as spam on Yahoo.

Kyle-Anne says:

"As for me and my vote, Sarah Palin has everything that counts"

There is is – THAT COUNTS."

I have to admit, Kyle-Anne is right. I was looking for one or the other to have it all.

And failing that, I was looking for the one who had – the most.

I never thought along the lines, "that's plenty good enough."

Sarah Palin clearly qualified last night.

Biden was clearly more knowledgeable, but how much is too much? At what point do you say, "That guy knows way too much because he's been entrenched there for four decades?"

If you want change, Biden sure ain't it.

Palin may have a lot to learn, but there's a far better chance that with each thing she learns, she'll say, "That doesn't make sense, I wanna do it differently."

Then there's the bigger problem Biden had – if you're going to set yourself up as the authority, if you're going to point at the camera and assure America you know what you're talking about, if you're going to tell Sarah Palin that she got it exactly wrong, you'd better get it exactly right.

And if I'm watching the debate and Joe Biden assures he knows what he's talking about, I'm going to believe him because I'm too lazy to look it up. But if I find out later that he was wrong after he swore he was right, he doesn't just drop down one rung, he goes into freefall.

And it turns out, Biden was wrong – at least ten times according to Karl Rove, and Rick Moran says today that Biden committed the Mother of All Blunders, and it was one I wondered about when he said it…

Biden said that he and Bobo urged George Bush to "move NATO forces in there" after Israeli forces in Lebanon had finally pushed Hezbollah back from Lebanon's border with Israel.

I didn't recall anyone advocating that, but, and this may come as a surprise, I'm not John*, I don't know everything.

It turns out that no one suggested sending NATO troops into Lebanon.

Worse yet, Biden said something that went right by me – "We kicked Hezbollah out of Lebanon."

Forget the "we," he meant the general "we," but no part of that "we" kicked Hezbollah all the way out of Lebanon. In fact, the best Israel could do was to move them back about twenty miles as I recall.

Sarah Plain made no mistakes of this magnitude, and if she had, she'd be a laughingstock. They are busy mocking her today because she got a general's name wrong. Biden not only got a perception wrong, he literally made it up…

He lied.

He lied to our face.

Thats a fine example to set for the youngster he's running with.

Had I realized that last night, I'd have said, "Stop the debate, Palin wins on a TKO."

When it was over, I was upset with Palin's shallowness, but I also felt that she'd demonstrated an overall capability. But as you see, my focus was completely on her  Now that I realize Biden was very Biden, Palin not only won handily, but she succeeded in getting Biden to show us why he should not be anywhere near the Presidency.

 

*Who actually does know everything except what the divorce rate was in the 1930s.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Mistake

  1. Darcy says:

    Thanks for this one.

  2. TedWest says:

    Palin could not be expected to know Biden was lying about Lebanon. I didn't. I assumed that somewhere under the radar "he and Barack" had said something about NATO. But I did think at the time that it didn't make sense because you can hardly get NATO do do anything.
    But if Palin had been aware of his lie, how amazing would it have been to hear her say, "I don't recall from everything I've learned about you that you or Barack called for NATO troops in Lebanon, but I do recall hearing that you proposed giving Iran 200 million with no strings attached as a goodwill gesture."

    There is one thing Palin should have been aware of though. When Biden derisively brought up the Bridge To Nowhere as if Palin was somehow responsible, she should have immediately nailed him with," I recall you and Barack voting for that bridge."

  3. Jeff D says:

    I know, but we can dream about what would have happened if she called him on out it right then and there. Oh well 🙂

  4. Darcy says:

    I'm sure Sara is having many of the same thoughts herself right now. The second day "shoulda, woulda, coulda's"

  5. Lexann says:

    I'm not John*…*Who actually does know everything except what the divorce rate was in the 1930s.So where is John lately, anyway? I've not seen any comments from him in a while. And why doesn't he know the divorce rate from the 1930s?

  6. TedWest says:

    LOL. That's what I have been trying to find out for better than a year and a half!

Leave a Reply

