All Sense Asides

Obama says he wants to move "beyond race." I don't know about you, but I did that long ago. I'm just looking for the best damn person in the country to lead it, and you know what – he ain't it. In fact, just among members of Congress, Obama would rank about 500 or so on my "Best Candidate" list.

And I ask again, would anyone like to argue that Obama would have any chance at all of being President if he were white?

Speaking of the Second Coming Senator, my wife was talking about those insane people who fainted at Obama rallies and she wondered if anything like that happened when Kennedy was running. Absolutely not, I told her. People were far more mature back then, and the voting age was 21 (31 in today's years), so you didn't have these dopes who think they are seeing the Pinball Wizard.

Have you heard about Arizona's new tough immigration laws? Well, the immigrants have and they're leaving. And for the first time we're getting a picture of what things were like before the influx. One school district has lost over five hundred students, and this is despite the fact that greater Phoenix is one of the fastest growing cities in the country. Each of those student translates into $4300. in state funding, so we'll be saving two million dollars a year just in one district. By the way, the district administrators are upset. They don't see it as a gain, they see it as a loss in revenue.

A British study says that global warming will save a lot more lives. Gee, where have I heard that before? In fact, I think I may need to make that the title of a regular feature here. And speaking of "global warming," another study says that ethanol is a net negative. Not only is it raising prices on all of life's necessities and even destroying virgin land, but it's also possibly more polluting than oil. So maybe it's a good thing after all?!?

I may have said this before, but did you see those BP ads? They seem to have disappeared for now, but it was as if they grabbed a bunch of homeless people and asked each of them to give a one-liner about energy. The best of them are inane. I just hope BP didn't pay them in ethanol. That stuff 'll kill you!

And I've definitely said this before, but I am going to repeat it as many times as necessary – If you live in a cold area and have been buried with snow this winter, it should be beyond infuriating that the world needs to get colder still and stay that way long enough in order to discredit the climate hacks. I mean, it's not good enough that we simply stay where we are because to the alarmists, colder is better. And I agree, at least as regards them – I'm thinking room temperature would be good for the whole lot..

A guy told Rush Limbaugh that Obama is just like "Being There." if you've never seen that movie, Peter Sellers plays an idiot, and people think every idiotic thing he says is profound until… he eventually becomes the insiders' choice for President. Coincidentally, the point of the film spilled over to the reviews. It was universally praised. So naturally I wasn't prepared for it to be mind-numbingly boring and insultingly stupid… but I'm being kind. So how about this slogan: Obama: It's Almost Like Being There!

Another caller to Rush Limbaugh said that he would not be voting for McCain because of his 'arrogance." So now standing for what one believes in is arrogance? No, I'm sure even the caller would say not, but this isn't about what you may think. It's about who gets blamed when these people don't vote for McCain, a Dem wins, the country goes completely to hell, several liberal judges end up on the Court, and it's all McCain's fault because if he had only not been so arrogant…

Finally… 

Why hasn't someone come up with a completely inhumane way to eradicate pigeons? Because it takes a lot of time to shoot them with a BB gun, and my pool's got a whole bunch of copper stains!?!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

