McCain’s Positives

In the wake of last night's debate which McCain won by a small margin when he needed to demolish the Senator Mean-Streets, I think that the country's expectations may have been lower than mine if the poll on Drudge is any indication.

For example, McCain not only didn't show any signs of dementia, he was reasonably sharp and every bit the match of his opponent.

In addition, his comprehension of international affairs was far better than Obama's, even if Obama tried to cover his deficiencies with verbal sleight-of-hand, as is his usual M.O.

And McCain did have a good zinger with, the line about The Surge being a strategy, not a tactic.

In all, McCain may have stabilized a bad week, especially among those who aren't looking to seize upon every word or mannerism as evidence that the other candidate is unworthy.

I also think that Obama's smooth talk was transparent for once, possibly because, up to now, he'd only appeared before friendly audiences, even including all the Democrat debates.

Last night neither candidate showed any humor which would have accrued in McCain's favor since Obama is devoid of it, but McCain did have a bit of a glint at times whereas Obama was clearly focused on not making any glaring errors. In that respect, the pressure on Obama was tremendous and I thought it showed. McCain almost succeeded in making Obama a little testy.

Regarding Kissinger, both candidates were right – Kissinger said he'd talk to Iran without preconditions, but not at anything near the Presidential level. of course, McCain didn't hammer it more that Obama was very clear that He, himself, would personally talk to Manny.

So while the night was one of missed opportunities for McCain, Obama scored virtually no points of his own, and I wondered if people picked up on the fact that Obama's proposals were going to cost big bucks and that he made no similar claims that he'd cut any spending?

The conclusion is that the debate was indecisive, and I don't know how bad that will be for McCain, but it's not a positive. The good news is that he's still in the game, and while all the pundits seem to think that the economy is Obama's strong suit, what the senator has proposed, taking in the context of him never having actually done anything, should bode well for a properly prepared John McCain.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to McCain’s Positives

  1. Kelly says:

    I read somewhere that provided that a given candidate remains upright and doesn't swear, cry or throw their glass of water at their opponent, that candidate's supporters will say that they won the debate.
    I didn't like that Barack Obama kept interrupting McCain (that's what a rebuttal is for) but I also didn't like the faces that McCain kept making.
    I'm psyched for Thursday though. ๐Ÿ™‚ Even though it's pre-empting The Office and Grey's Anatomy, which I LOVE.

  2. TedWest says:

    You're hard not to like. I appreciate your frankness and your fondness for The Office.
    It seems to me that you were watching the debate objectively. I, too, was upset with Obama's interruptions, but I was screaming at McCain for his seeming lack of knowledge of Obama positions and comments.
    And as I said, it was painfully obvious that he felt contempt for Obama, the operative word there being "obvious." One simply has to suck it up and play the hand he's been dealt.
    But the biggest difference between you and me, aside from the left-tight thing, is that no one on my side is thrilled with McCain. I would certainly rather he not be President – until Obama is factored in. I was the only one I know who said Hillary would be far more difficult to beat than Obama, and I think I've been vindicated. Had she won and picked Obama as her running mate, this election would likely be over.
    But because that didn't happen, the door was left open for Sarah Palin who, after Thursday, may either have secured the election for McCain – or lost it, and I wouldn't want to have to bet on the outcome.

  3. Kelly says:

    I heard that McCain didn't rehearse before the debate. I'm guessing he won't be making that mistake again.
    I don't think Hillary would be that hard to beat either, though. She's very polarizing, you know? I've never heard anyone say that she's an okay person. People either like her or they hate her.
    I've heard polls that say that some won't vote for Obama because he's black, but I find that a little suspect–who admits to being racist?
    I don't like Sarah Palin. (I'm sure you're stunned.) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. TedWest says:

    It's the Hillary-Obama combo in that order that would have been devastating. I've sen some great analyses of the blackness factor, and I agree with you about polls in that regard. The Bradley effect has even been largely debunked. Besides, there are so many reasons not to like Obama that race is merely a postscript, even it it plays a part in others reasons why he's not doing better than he is.

  5. Jeff D says:

    As Ted said, I'd say this debate was a slight win for McCain, but both candidates could take some good items back to their base for a pat on the back. I agree on Hillary as well. One of my conservative friends even made the argument that she'd be a good Commander In Chief because whatever her faults she doesn't take crap from anyone.

  6. TedWest says:

    Good point about Hillary. I wish McCain was like that.

Leave a Reply

