Rush To Greatness

Note: As will be immediately apparent, I started writing this at the time of Rush Limbaugh was celebrating his two decades as the dean of conservative broadcasters. Since then, I had also begun writing a much more in depth piece which I was dismayed to realize I cannot locate. However, upon re-reading the following and adding a few lines, I feel it is more than sufficient to convey my feelings.

Over the years, my feelings toward Rush Limbaugh have run hot and cold at times, but I've always felt he was one of the most important voices in all of conservatism. I don't feel that way anymore. On the eve of his twentieth anniversary, I firmly believe he's the single most important conservative now and ever.

While I do disagree with him on occasion, most pointedly when he defends the rich, cigar smoking or George Bush, overall, no one has presented and defended the conservative viewpoint as well, as articulately, and as consistently, and the fact that he's done it for twenty years is beyond remarkable, it borders on the super-human. Were I Rush Limbaugh, I'd have taken the money and retired long ago.

Where others are observant, Rush is incisive. he offers a depth of analysis other conservatives don't come close to matching, but that's not to take anything away from the many, well-meaning and effective hosts who toil diligently to get out the news the mainstream media don't want people to know, it's just that no one does it like Rush – with richness and humor. And it's evidenced daily by his range and command of the facts that allow him to run circles around those pathetic callers who try to defend the indefensible.

And remember, Rush is all alone. That is to say, other broadcasters have a steady stream of guests to augment their presentations. Rush Limbaugh does it all by himself, and he crams enough into three hours to allow you to leave feeling fully informed for the day. If El Rushbo wasn't so committed and unwavering, as horrific as the inroads liberals have made are at this point, as ruinous for America as they might be, we could easily have already succumbed to the threat were Rush not giving us his daily notes of encouragement and correcting the flood of misinformation. He claims to be right (I believe) 99.8 percent of the time, and I certainly won't question that figure.

A few years ago when Rush was wrestling with his prescription drug addiction, I was less than supportive. It wasn't because I didn't understand how such a thing could occur, but that it could happen to him, and he paid an awful price for it, but that's what makes him even more amazing. He might be merely great had he gone his entire career without a glitch, but the fact that he remained steady through the tremendous adversity and emerged even greater – smarter, sharper, funnier, and… human shows that he's not just one of a kind, he may set a standard that will never be equaled.

Rush is both the Cy Young and Alice Kramden of broadcasters.

Baby, you're da greatest!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rush To Greatness

  1. Lexann says:

    Well, I guess that answers any question I may have had on where you stand about Rush. I still think he's a pig.

  2. TedWest says:

    You must have caught him on a day he was wearing lipstick? Without it, he's a pit pig!

  3. TedWest says:

    Lexann,
    I don't want you to think I don't completely understand your feelings toward Rush. At his worst, he's amazingly obnoxious. But he's just so darn right all the time. And I have problems with all the other guys as well. Glenn Beck whines way too much, the "rodeo clown" bit is tired, and "It made blood shoot out of my eyes," To me, is positively disgusting.
    Hannity drives me nuts because he's too nice to that speck he sits next to on Fox, and I especially hate his laugh which always sounds manufactured and forced.
    But don't get me wrong, I listen to all of them (not everyday, or I'd be more nuts and I am now), I've just found that Limbaugh is exactly who he claims he is – nothing more, nothing less.

  4. Lexann says:

    The lipstick helps.

  5. Darcy says:

    I don't listen to any of them. They all make me nuts in their own ways. I hate hate hate Hannity's "will you answer the question?" screeches (where's the remote?) and they all seem way too full of themselves. I think a little humbleness would serve them well. With that said, I'm glad they are out there driving their points home day in and day out. I get the highlights from my husband who does listen to them everyday.

  6. TedWest says:

    Marry me!?!
    My wife always wants to hear stuff on her own. I tell her, I don't wanna listen to Greta Van Effen Susteren!
    What's even worse is, I'll be flipping channels during commercials for like Dr. G, or Forensic Files looking for a sound byte from, say, O'Reilly I can scream at, and then I'll resume my regular programming… then a few seconds go by, and the little woman says, "Hey… what happened to O'Reilly, I wanna hear what he was saying," followed quickly by: "Did you forget about America's Got Talent?"

  7. Darcy says:

    LOL @ Greta Van Effen Susteren LMAO.

  8. TedWest says:

    My wife used to love the cooking channel – until she stopped cooking!

  9. Darcy says:

    Oh no, you can't stop cooking… my son doesn't cook either, he's only 8, but he loves watching that channel. Then he gives me "suggestions". Mom, did you know that if you wrapped that in aluminum foil….

  10. TedWest says:

    OK, I can't take the pressure, it's all my fault. My wife wants to cook, it's just that whenever she talks about making something, I ask, "How long is that gonna take?" She know that if she tells me anything more than ten minutes, I don't want to wait.
    So she lies.
    She tells me it'll be ten minutes, and when it becomes twenty, she says, "You know I'm not good at estimating."
    But it backfired… now I don't want anything that takes more than five minutes. So she buys three large pizzas on Monday, and that lasts through Friday, and on Saturday and Sunday, she can take as long as she wants to prepare something – as long as I don't realize what she's doing.
    She'll be in the kitchen fiddling around, and after a while I realize that she's not sitting on the couch watching Lawrence Welk with me, and I'll say something like "HEY, what the heck are you doing, you're missing Bobby and Sissy?"
    That's when she admits, "I'm making dinner."
    That's when the clock starts… she knows she has five minutes from then to wrap it up.
    So I'll say, "When will it be ready?"
    If she say, "Ten minutes," it gets dicey…
    Me: "Ooooooh."
    Her: "I don't care, have whatever you want."
    But she knows I can't get anything faster than it will take her to get her stuff ready, so I'm stuck.
    And thus many a weekend has been ruined. But thanks for reminding me. I'm setting a Sticky right now to remind me at 6:45 tomorrow evening: "Look for wife on couch."
    Then any nefarious activity she has planned will be headed off at the pass.

  11. Darcy says:

    Oh your poor wife!! Be careful or she may start sending you out on some fools errand every night about 6:30 then dinner will be all made when you return.

  12. TedWest says:

    I don't know if you're old enough to remember the ads, but my wife is like a Mazda rotary engine.
    That means nothing much gets to her, and I can't get her to speed up no matter how I try. I have a story I have never posted about her at tax time last year that would give a better perspective. Since I was so late in writing it, I'm saving it for next April so it will appear to be current.

  13. Darcy says:

    LOL… I don't know what a Mazda rotary engine is but I'll keep an eye out for the story next April.

Leave a Reply

