Thank You, Joe Biden,

I've come here today to praise Joe Biden, not to bury him – he's doing a fine job of burying himself, so he doesn't need me. Besides, I don't want to ridicule the disabled!

But before I get to Biden, I want to say a few words about John McCain… actually a lot of words, and a few words about Sarah Palin.

And before I even do that, I want to mention for the benefit of those who may be not be real familiar with me that I'm not a conservative who sits idly by while people on our side do things that reflect poorly on conservative principles and are not helpful in maintaining the vibrancy of American ideals and traditions.

So on that basis, I want to say that John McCain is an idiot.

I said that years ago when I first supported him for the nomination, and I stand by it, so I was angry when I read George Will's column today – because he said many of the things I've been thinking. Then I realized, who reads George Will?

Don't get me wrong, McCain is far and away the best of the all the candidates for President, and he was the best of all the candidates seeking the nomination on either side. But he's still an idiot.

That doesn't mean I won't be supporting him now. Some months back I said that I would not based on his embrace of "global warming," but that was before he tapped Sarah Palin, and before we had the full picture of what an Obama Presidency would look like.

However, when John McCain says that he wants to drill offshore, but not in the Arctic, he's an idiot.

When he wants to leave it to individual states to decide whether to drill off their shores, he's an idiot.

When he wants to grant blanket amnesty to illegal aliens, he's an idiot (he'd be far worse than that if he wanted to do that as President, just ask me about my opinion of George Bush sometime)

When McCain wants to implement a cap-and-trade program, he's an idiot. If he actually tries to do it, he should be removed from office without trial.

When he wants to name Andrew Cuomo to head up anything, he's an idiot. Again, if he actually does it, get back to me for an updated opinion.

When he says that the fundamentals of our economy are strong, and then tries to clarify by saying that he was referring to the American worker, he's an idiot.

Worker productivity is a factor in overall strength, but McCain wasn't referring to that, he meant something more human. Nice sentiment maybe, but it's not economics.

And when he says that the current financial crisis is due to Wall Street greed, he's an idiot.

But McCain is also the only candidate who could change the status quo in Washington. He's stubborn enough to resist pressure from Congress and the public, and he's old enough so that he doesn't need anyone's support after he's elected.

Where he could make the biggest difference is in curtailing spending. Except I'm concerned that when McCain talks about curbing excesses, he always mentions earmarks. That's a great place to start because of what they symbolize, but earmarks are insignificant in the overall scope of the spending problem.

For example, right at this moment, Democrats want to pad the bailout with additional spending for mortgage subsidies to individuals. And what do you think the odds are that the current President would sign anything that finally lands on his desk?

I want someone who would veto a massive spending bill even if it meant that school kids would go without lunches until Congress fixed it. McCain could be that guy, but it remains to be seen.

I said when she was selected that I hoped and expected Sarah Palin would provide a check on McCain's more idiotic ways and infuse him with additional strength where and when he needs it. Since then, Sarah seems to be showing herself to be a total team player.

That's a problem. When she was being interviewed by Sean Hannity, she literally parroted McCain's words about the American worker. That's troubling. It means she either agrees with him or she, too, is an idiot. She had the opportunity to really clarify what was meant by strong fundamentals and she either passed (on it) or failed.

Now I know you're wondering where Joe Biden fits into all this, much less why I'm thanking him? Well, fits in right about here.

Because the other day, Joe Biden said the most significant line uttered by any liberal in years, if not decades, even topping his previous line as a Presidential candidate in reference to Obama when he said that the Presidency is not a position that lends itself to on-the-job training.

Biden is a gaffe machine for certain, and much of what he says is hilarious. It's gotta have Obama questioning how he could have selected the guy, and the very worst of it from Obama's standpoint is what Biden said about the ad which ridiculed McCain for his lack of Internet skills.

If you're not aware, Biden called it "Terrible." He went on to say that if he were aware of it beforehand, he'd have protested.

Rush Limbaugh was laughing about it today. In fairness, it was part of Rush's compilation of Biden gaffes which he spent the better part of three hours highlighting, ridiculing, and laughing about. He wasn't being nasty, and with respect to Biden's "terrible" comment, Rush was laughing more in picturing how Obama must have reacted to it, but in doing so, he completely missed the significance.

Biden was expressing true dismay. He wasn't offering a cursory apology. He was voicing true disgust. Granted he likely went right back to ridiculing McCain when he left the studio, and we'll have many more entertaining miscues to look forward to from Biden, but for one moment, sanity and decency prevailed.

In addition, Biden, in his own way, has shown he's his own man. Obama can't control him. Sarah Palin should follow his example.

For all that, I say: Thank you, Joe Biden.

Oh, and one last thing, would you consider dropping dead and really making my day?!?

I'm kidding! See my previous entry for details…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thank You, Joe Biden,

  1. Jordan says:

    It might be harmful at present for Sarah to disagree with McCain on certain points and would be miscontrued as a tear between the candidates and give way to all kinds of speculations on the parts of liberal.Hopefully, she will rub off on him once they are in the Oval office.You echoed my sentiments exactly about McCain. I was flabbergasted when I heard yesterday, his consideration of Cuomo. What?What bothers me tremendously about McCain is his overaccentuation of bi-partisanship.Agreeing to disagree and tolerance of others' opinions is good, but it
    comes a time, when one has to lead notwithstanding the lack of
    unanimity.I don't want liberals in a republican cabinet. We'd never get anything done unless it suits them.

  2. TedWest says:

    It's hard to cover every point you want to make sometimes and still keep the entry readable. I completely agree with you about Palin's constraints at this time, but the point I was going for was that what McCain said was absolutely dumb, so it was far more troublesome to hear Palin echo it. If I were she, I'd be dead already, but seriously, she could have found something to say that didn't detract from McCain yet added a little relevance.
    None of the above should be taken to mean that my feelings have changed in any way. I know full well who we're getting in McCain, and I believe Sarah is growing by leaps and bounds, so I remain optimistic, but it's not unbridled.

  3. Darcy says:

    LOL, I think Joe Biden should remain alive for the moment. That gaffe about Americans tuning into President Roosevelt on their televisions in 1929 was priceless!

  4. TedWest says:

    The trouble is, Biden can get pretty vicious. So far he's just been funny, and Sarah should probably serve as a regulator, but overall, there's nothing good I can say about him, other than that being an idiot is his most endearing trait.

  5. Darcy says:

    I think a large portion of Americans are getting a clue about which party is vicious and full of hate. If some of that comes out, it will just help drive the point home. I have a feeling Sara can handle it just fine.

Leave a Reply

