Anybody Here Seen Lenny?

Remember Lenny? If not, he was an otherwise nice young man who was devoted to Obama.

When last seen around these parts, he was arguing the it was Republicans who are racist. His assertion was in response to my own assertion that Democrats OWN racism, and I referred him to a detailed account of the major occurrences of the issue going back to the Civil War.

As I recall, his argument was along the lines that the Dems were racist, but that all the racists left the Party and became Republicans about the time of the Civil Rights Act.

Lenny popped (before I spell checked this, that word was "pooped") into my mind recently because of Kansas Governor Sebelius' claim that people won't vote for Obama because of racism, and that was followed by two Ohio state representatives making similar claims, not to mention assorted news liberals who have been saying similar things all along. Then, of course, there's Obama himself who has personally injected race into the equation several times by claiming that Republicans would use euphemisms for "black" when referring to him.

But then what's missing from all this is Republicans themselves. Aside from the Georgia idiot who called Obama uppity, there's been an appalling dearth of racist examples from the right. And I was going to omit that example to see if any liberal loon would bring it up so that i could then inquire, "Yeah, OK, and in addition to that, there was…?

But Snowy gets all churned up when I set people up, so I decided to spare him because I'm just that kind of guy.

Anyway, I was wondering… do you suppose Lenny would say that the reason there has not been a cornucopia of racist references from the GOP is because Republicans don't have to bring up race – it's simply understood?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Anybody Here Seen Lenny?

  1. If Obama losses they will claim it's racism but it's actually sour grapes and hypocrisy.

  2. JudgeBob says:

    Oh how I ache to get a black conservative on the GOP ticket. These idiots are equating conservatism with racism as a matter of convenience. That includes most people of color. Put this crap to bed once and for all.

  3. Lexann says:

    If Obama wins OR loses, they will claim its because of his race. Dems won't let it be that Americans could give a rats ass what the color of his skin is, and vote on his policies! (Imagine!)

  4. Lexann says:

    Amen, JudgeBob! Let's get Colin Powell!!But it doesn't matter if we do get a black conservative on the GOP ticket, the lefties would call him a white slave or some other slanderous thing just because he doesn't tow the Dem party line. If he's black and DEMOCRAT and elected, then he's accomplished a great thing. If he's black and REPUBLICAN and elected, he's just "sold out". Don't believe me? Look at what the lefties are saying about Palin! Hillary put "18 million cracks in the glass ceiling", but Palin is not qualified, and should stay home with her 5 kids. Is there even one feminist who appreciates the historical position she is in? Nope.

  5. dox^2 says:

    Yeah, but who's racism…?

  6. They will claim that Obama didn't win because white people are racists and didn't vote for him because he is a negro. Already they are talking about the "Bradley Effect" that people were polled in Calif when Tom Bradley ran for Governor giving him the edge in polling but when the actual election took place he lost. I lived in Los Angeles and would never vote for Tom Bradley. I voted for Sam Yorty in 1971 when Bradley beat him to become Mayor of LA. So am I a racist? No, I'm just not a leftist.

  7. Jordan says:

    Liberals have already begun beating the drums of racism….look at this AP poll about the "great divide" (reminds me of the Kerry's campaign slogan of Red and Blue America)

  8. Jordan says:

    Mainstream "feminists" do not reflect the majority of women. Their agenda doesn't jive with anything that is conservative and I totally agree with my favorite radio talk show host that they are more representative of feminazi.Interestingly, when Hillary was running for prez, the focus was on her gender and how her win would have broken a huge hurdle for other women. Now that a conservative woman has been picked for VP the rationale has shifted and they want us to believe the push to elect Hillary had nothing to do with her sex.

  9. TedWest says:

    I heard a guy this AM say that Republicans don't care about what color someone is, all they care about is whether someone is fit for the job.
    And I want to add that the single biggest eye-opening event in my lifetime was seeing Obama's minister unleashing the hate and watching the congregation's response.
    I don't believe I was the only one who had no idea this sort of thing was happening in modern-day America!?

  10. Jordan says:

    It is widely known that some blacks hate whites (and for "good reasons" some would advance), but hatred from the pulpit was a first for me as well..It was reminiscent of the muslim world dancing in the streets after the 9-11 attacks.To think that the party who cries racism is also the party that promotes it and benefits from it. After all, it has succeeded in advancing rancor among classes, gender, etc.. So what's one more group!

  11. JudgeBob says:

    Please don't confuse what is "widely known" with what is widely assumed. In inter-racial crime a white man is 60 times more likely to die at the hands of a black man than the other way around. (60 times!!) The assumption is directly a result of the anti-bias rhetoric the guilty party is using to cover their own bias.

  12. Jordan says:

    As clear as day. "Widely known" carries greater validity than "assumption." Ergo, I'll stick with it.

  13. Darcy says:

    …the single biggest eye-opening event in my lifetime was seeing Obama's minister unleashing the hate and watching the congregation's response….Ditto. I was dumbstruck.

  14. TedWest says:

    I wrote at the time that my impression of black churches was one of people filled with hope and singin' hymn and being uplifted. When I saw Wright filled with hate and urging his congregation to embrace it I just couldn't believe that existed in America's second city. We are so concerned with Mosques instilling hate, and rightly so, but who knew blacks were trying to separate themselves from America as well?
    Btw, the second biggest eye-opener for me was as an ideological college student filled with desire for equality and justice for all. Then I got two part-time jobs – one at an inner city record store, in Cleveland, and another at the stadium where almost all of the vendors were black, and it each case, it was a constant battle to avoid being ripped off. We used to be amazed at the elaborate schemes people would stage to steal a record or a load of Coke. I've mentioned this many times, but the funniest one was when a vendor handed me a note, allegedly from my boss. The guy said that someone had stolen his last load and the boss' note directed, "Please give this boy another load of potcorne!"

Leave a Reply

