Who Said It First?

To find anything comparable to crowds' euphoric reactions to Obama, you would have to go back to old newsreels of German crowds in the 1930s, with their adulation of their fuehrer, Adolf Hitler. With hindsight, we can look back on those people with pity, knowing now how many of them would be led to their deaths by the man they idolized.

Unfortunately for us, now we could be those people.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Who Said It First?

  1. Jordan says:

    Obama's people have laid claims to the "messiah" and the "one" status. Palin's supporters are excited about her, but she is no idol to us.

  2. Darcy says:

    It reminds me of this poster…Or was it this one?

  3. Jordan says:

    ROTFL. So appropriate!

  4. TedWest says:

    Jordan,
    I deleted that idiot liberal's comment after determining that yours would stand on its own. I simply won't indulge nonsense anymore, and anyone who compares the trance-like followers of Obama to the throngs who have embraced Palin as a remarkable representative of American values and women's values is engaging in something less than nonsense.

  5. Jordan says:

    The copycat posturing was silly, but I am resigned to liberals unable to tell the diff. Liberals have gone apoplectic over Sarah Palin, intent on destroying her. It's only backfiring, as more and more people see through the prevarications.I

  6. TedWest says:

    I agree with everything you said. We were just talking this morning, my wife and I, and she said how shocked she was at what we're seeing. It's truly without precedent, not just about attacking a vice presidential candidate, but in the sheer unbridled hate being heaped on both Palin and McCain. It seems to be catching the attention of people who may have been previously unaware and disinterested.

  7. Jordan says:

    An excerpt from the article you posted. Terrific analysis! Incidentally those are not the "racist" words of a White man, but someone who, though he shares race with Obama, has not bought into his "solutions" to the problems we face today. Primarily, because he has not let the facade dumb his brain. Barack Obama is truly a
    phenomenon of our time— a presidential candidate who cannot cite a
    single serious accomplishment in his entire career, besides advancing
    his own career with rhetoric. He has a rhetorical answer for
    everything. Those of us who talk about the threat of Iran are just
    engaging in "the politics of fear" according to Obama, something to
    distract us from "the real issues," such as raising taxes and handing
    out largesse with the proceeds.

  8. TedWest says:

    No, those words are from Uncle Tom!?! 😉

  9. Jordan says:

    I stand, humbly, corrected. No self-respecting Black person can voice reasonable beliefs that run counter to liberal ideology, without encountering the latter's "righteous" high-tech, global-thumping, pro-choice, pacifist-loving lynching.Have I forgotten anything?

  10. Darcy says:

    I've recently been called a Nazi myself. I think this analogy is a little more fitting.

  11. Washington, DC has done more damage to America than foreign competition or the 9/11/01 Islamic Terrorists.

  12. salaryman says:

    Hmmm so comparing Obama to Hitler doesn't count as 'sheer unbridled hate'???

  13. TedWest says:

    No, you moron, it doesn't. Now you tell me why?

  14. TedWest says:

    I was amused myself. That's why I was nicer to him than I normally would have been. What was funny to me was that his question was also his defense. I mean, he brushed past all the very real things I mentioned as if they had no significance whatsoever, saw the word "Hitler," and he concluded that -I'm- the one guilty of hate.
    So in twelve words (sort of) he demonstrated precisely why there's no reasoning with these clowns.

  15. salaryman says:

    no you moron it doesn't
    Wow, you really nailed me with the strength of your argument
    (this is sarcasm btw, I know you guys sometimes find it a tricky concept)
    I'm sure it sounded better in your head, with a "U-S-A!! U-S-A!!" soundtrack
    But no 'pinko liberal' insult, I'm disappointed.

  16. Scio, Scio says:

    Hmmm so comparing Obama to Hitler doesn't count as 'sheer unbridled hate'
    Contextually, comparing Obama's meteoric rise to fame and potential power to that of Adolf Hitler is eminently doable. True, it violates a law of Internet debate, but so what?
    Hitler came from complete obscurity in the 1920s, to head of the Nazi Party, to Chancellor and then Fuhrer of Germany. All in about ten years of effort.
    For what it's worth Hitler had more experience than Obama.
    But anyway, Obama went from a community organizer to…actually, I'm not even sure what the story is, shouldn't we have had some hard questions about his work experience by now?…but then he made it through the Chicago political scene/machine into the state Senate, eliminated opponenets by unsealing their divorce records and came to D.C., and is now poised to sit in the White House. All in about ten years of effort.
    Comparable rise, absolutely. Exact…of course not. Obama only advocates murdering people while they are in the womb…or wait, sometimes after they are born.

  17. salaryman says:

    The 'no Hitler' rule has served the internet well for many years…..
    Pro-life is a fairly minority view in the UK, and isn't really politicised; so we don't have the same level of debate. But I've have always been curious about people who are pro-war, pro-gun, pro-death penalty AND pro-life. The principles don't seem to fit together?

  18. TedWest says:

    Now let me explain how it works here…
    When I ask you a question, you either answer it or don't respond at all.
    Unfortunately, Scio took the time to do what I wouldn't and you couldn't.
    Any more irrelevant comments, and you won't be back. I should do that right now, but I'm taking pity on morons today.

  19. TedWest says:

    Scio, thanks, but you know your effort is wasted. he has no interest in addressing any of the outrageous transgression of the Obama camp, and in fact, I'm sure he'd like to see more.
    I want to mention that I purposely labeled Bobo as a Hitler impersonator rather than Hitler-lite, because I, in no way, think he would resort to Hitler's later tactics, and I was thus indicating exactly what Obama is – just as an Elvis impersonator is not Elvis.
    Also, I didn't violate any protocol since if Hitler is off limits, then no analysis can ever be done, and we would therefore not be able to understand that the Obamanomenon is nothing new, but it is something both hideous and dangerous.

  20. Scio, Scio says:

    Pro-life is a fairly minority view in the UK, and isn't really politicised; so we don't have the same level of debate. But I've have always been curious about people who are pro-war, pro-gun, pro-death penalty AND pro-life. The principles don't seem to fit together?
    UK is also playing host to sharia law these days, which should scare all progressive folk.
    Respect for life from conception to natural death is a cornerstone of the pro-life movement here in the US, and there are many abortion foes who are both anti-war and anti-death penalty.
    Guns, incidentally, have nothing to do with the subject since they are tools. Gun control is about state power, pure and simple.
    The death penalty should be used sparingly, in my opinion. But it should be reserved for those who are a serious threat to the safety of others, even while in prison. Our human concepts of justice cannot hope to be perfect, so we have to make do with what we've got…and what we've got is an effective deterrent. Besides, if you believe in repentance then nothing gets you to examine your conscience like impending death…rather macabre, but that's the reality.
    Reasonable people can debate on the morality of any war, but bloodshed should always be weighed against the consequence of inaction.

  21. Scio, Scio says:

    Ted,
    As usual I am helplessly in the thrall of optimism regarding the liberals. Perhaps one day, one of them will see sense.

  22. salaryman says:

    You argue your position rather than relying on bluster and rant. Which is quite a contrast. And always refreshing to see in a….(I'm sorry I don't know the equivalent insult to 'Liberal')
    Don't believe what you hear on Fox News about Sharia Law in the UK though. It isn't the case.

  23. TedWest says:

    You remind me of a Dutchman who said something similar about Dutchland years ago… BVG. Sharia Law is being recognized in England such that it prompts one to ask, can it be long before we all call is Musland?

  24. TedWest says:

    Or would you prefer Musgland?

  25. TedWest says:

    I think optimism is good when it's grounded in reality, but what prompted me to comment was my wife just now expressing shock at today's slate of sheer hate from the liberals – Sandra Bernhard, Charles Rangel, and a huge supporting cast.
    We have never seen such in-your-face hate in our lives, and if you go to any site that has liberals commenting, you see that the hate of the unwashed dwarfs that which we're seeing from public officials and celebrities.
    These people are exactly the way we used to think of communists. There is literally no difference, and I feel certain that if they could seize power, they would. Do you not see that they have no shame, they have no concern for even the worst things their side does, they never apologize, and for a final touch of audacity, they accuse you of being hateful for saying virtually anything that rubs them the wrong way. You've just seen it right here.
    But since you're an optimist, I'd be interested in hearing how you think it can get better?

  26. Scio, Scio says:

    It's happening, buddy. The issue to keep at the forefront of your mind is that in the normal course of immigration, new arrivals to a country conform their views and norms to those of their adopted land. What seems to be happening in the UK is that a segment of the Muslim population is refusing to assimilate, and the government and people seem too woefully mired in political correctness to correct them.As for ranting, you've caught me in a good mood. I assure you I am just as intolerant of liberal ideology as Ted. I'm just less honest about it.

  27. A very keen observation. Recently when I called Charles Rangle a dog someone in the audience scolded me in that he thought that no human should be referred to as a dog. I also had complaints from several dogs.

  28. salaryman says:

    Then allow me a little rant of my own 😉
    It always amuses me about you Fox News fanboys (I'm road testing this as a comparable insult to 'Liberal'). You swallow whatever Hanity or Coulter tell you. Regardless of there being no evidence whatsoever that the UK has adopted Sharia law, you accept it like the holy writ of fatwa. You've got to appreciate the irony.

  29. Scio, Scio says:

    Firstly, I am a National Review and Mark Steyn fanboy. I like Hannity, but he's not my favorite. Coulter is alright for giving voice to some of the frustration conservatives feel, but too often I feel she doesn't advance her argument with the other side.At any rate, there is plenty of documentation about Sharia being allowed to not replace the current legal system but exist alongside it…which is the real problem. Competing legal standards for Muslim and non-Muslim residents is sure to breed resentment and interfere with Muslim assimilation. The article to which I linked gives a fair assessment of some of the problems that might arise from having those courts rule on certain issues.

  30. TedWest says:

    I'm curious as to why anyone should indulge your "ranting" when it appears that you don't even know what's going on in your own country?
    And about Fox News, you much watch it a lot to know all that's on it? I ask only because from past experience in matters like this, the party claiming to know Fox or Rush Limbaugh, or… anything, for that matter, usually just throws out names in hopes of creating an illusion that he's informed.
    But not knowing what's happening right there in Jolly Old, taken along with the response that got you to where you currently are, and the vague reference to Fox News, they might raise suspicion that you don't know what's going on most anywhere outside your room and mum's kitchen… we'll what you call a kitchen, anyway…
    And to you viewers, we may be moments away from seeing another example of what happens when liberals remain too long in one place.

Leave a Reply

