The Real Deal & The Natural

Genuine, humble, sincere, straight-talking. Those qualities have always been John McCain's trademarks for as long as I've known him. And while there are at least two areas in which I have strongly disagreed with him, I'm not only willing to trust that Sarah Palin will help to hold him in check, but it's important to note that were it not for John McCain, Sarah Palin would have an uphill battle to be recognized for the brilliant and tough woman that she is.

It's very doubtful, at least in my mind that any other candidate would have tapped Sarah for his VP, and it's even more doubtful that any of them could beat Barack Obama. I said several years ago that John McCain looked like the best candidate. I loved Rudy, and he showed why last night, but his battle for the Presidency would have been tougher. And while I didn't like John McCain's stance on some issues, I liked John McCain, and I saw him often on Imus. He never dodged issues, and he always showed conviction.

A lot of people blamed him for McCain-Feingold, but I saw it as his effort to change a bad situation, and while he got it wrong, so did the rest of the Congress, and that left it up to one man to veto it. When he didn't, he took responsibility forever after.

I used to be friends with a woman who literally hated John McCain. She was a staunch conservative. I told her a number of times that her hate was misguided, but it only grew, and she became more and more vocal in our forum until one day she called him a traitor. That was too much. I felt there was someone who was a traitor to conservatives, but it wasn't John McCain, and Missy absolutely loved the other guy. McCain only differed from other conservatives in some of his ideas and what he thought was best, he had done nothing to sell out his party, much less America.

And John McCain's service is virtually unparalleled in modern times. I didn't even realize the full extent of what he endured as a prisoner of war until this week, and I thought I knew quite a lot before. Anyone who calls him a traitor can't be my friend. More than that, I don't want to have to be in their company, so Missy and I parted on most unfavorable terms. Then when McCain was coming on strong for the nomination, I asked a friend, a navy man who has served in the Gulf and who was there when Missy labeled McCain a traitor and also objected strongly… I asked him if he'd come across Missy lately? He hadn't. Apparently it all became too much for her.

If Missy is still sane… or should I say, if Missy has regained her sanity, I'd truly love to hear what she has to say now. John McCain has already done Conservatives and America a great service by introducing us to Sarah Palin. Even if she floundered tomorrow, the memory of this week's experience will last a lifetime.

And I believe John McCain when he says he'll work toward energy independence. He's always done what he said he'd do in the past, even when it wasn't good for his political health. We also know that McCain will keep us strong… that he won't blink. he's a man who recognizes real evil and the threat it represents to America and the world, and he's a man who knows the horrors of war, so he's not likely to act rashly, nor is he likely to hold back when he realizes that only force will do.

I also believe that McCain will veto the pork he says he will, and that he'll appoint judges that honor the Constitution. So I'm solidly for McCain… now. I wasn't a few months ago, but that was before he began talking and acting boldly. I feel confident he won't let America down.

I've been writing this while watching his acceptance speech, and what he lacks in oratory skills, he more than makes up for in sincerity. In all honesty, there's only one President I like more than John McCain at this moment, and I think McCain has the potential to stand on the same plane. If we're lucky enough to have a second President in my lifetime who even approaches the stature of Ronald Reagan, America will be so amazingly blessed.

So bless you John McCain. I don't know how your speech has played to America, but it has moved me to tears, and I'm so thankful that you have prevailed. To see you now, standing on stage with Cindy, Sarah, The Natural, and her striking husband, Todd, well, it's just breathtaking.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Real Deal & The Natural

Leave a Reply

