Sarah, There Aren’t Enough Superlatives

When our jaws weren't dropping from the incredibly funny and sarcastic barbs Sarah Palin hurled at the opposition tonight, we were cheering, laughing, and we even shed a tear or two. She may not be experienced enough to walk into the Presidency on day one, but neither is Obama. The big difference is that Governor Palin isn't seeking the Presidency. And Palin is clearly a fast learner. Those styrofoam columns being returned to the prop department – no comedian could have delivered that line better.

Too bad they didn't load Obama on the truck and leave the prop.

The other morning on MSNBC (yes, I force myself just for things like this) the other plagiarist on TV these days, Mike Barnicle, asked Joe Lieberman the following stunningly stupid question:

"Who would you rather have telling Putin to knock it off, Biden or Palin?"

Lieberman responded the way most of us do when blindsided by something so idiotic that it didn't deserve an answer, but you're obligated to give a response. He gave a sort of general answer turning it back to McCain and how tough he is, but given a second to consider Barnicle's vacuous inquiry, I would have said that Vice Presidents don't tell other countries' leaders to knock it off, and I'd have invited Barnicle to provide an actual example of a Vice President having done that.

But as I said, that was yesterday. If Barnicle asked me that question right now, I'd laugh in his face and ask him if he saw the woman I just saw? Because I'd sure as heck rather have her challenging any foreign leader than either Biden or Obama, even if they were speaking in unison.

It was the speech of her life – there may not be another more important than this one even if she were to run for President, and as with her acceptance speech (was that only last week?) her poise was nothing short of astounding and her delivery nearly flawless.

It may seems strange at first, but it reminded me of what I've heard about Jackie Robinson, how he had to be not just a good ball player, he had to present a perfect image and conduct himself not just like the other white players, but as representative of higher ideals.

Jackie Robinson, of course, did it, and Sarah Palin passed her first test as magnificently as anyone could.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sarah, There Aren’t Enough Superlatives

  1. dox^2 says:

    The more I watch these hard lefty commentators on TV just railing against her speech — the more I am becoming TedWest. I made the mistake of stopping on Larry King Live "Politics is King."She was magnificent. I guess the only thing that could slap them more is when the polls come out in the next few days showing a McCain/Palin lead. Can't wait to see if the doors can become even more unhinged.I predict meltdown on the left and in the media.

  2. She is by far one of the best if not the best political speekers alive today!

  3. Jordan says:

    WOW! She was great! Not only in the delivery of the speech, which, imo, surpasses any B.O. has given, but in the substance of it!She clearly pointed out what Obama stands for and his lack of experience. Her quips were superb!I too made the mistake to check Larry King who had 3 dem women critiquing not only the manner in which she spoke (attacks/snide on Obama..forgetting she merely addressed the facts), but then twisting what she said. One of the three idiots said if all she did while being governor was "selling a plane on Ebay" that's no experience at all (paraphrased). You should have seen their disgusted face. Typical liberal sourpusses.Another moronic lib when asked about the attacks on Palin that she should take care of her family, instead of running for VP, replied she had not heard any such attacks…BUT if she was told WHO made them, then it would be sexism. The 3rd dumbo quipped, she did hear them, and they came from a conservative, Dr. Laura.I couldn't turn the channel fast enough. To listen to more distortions, lies and deceit made my stomach turn.These people are afraid of such an accomplished woman and are fabricating all kinds of lies to bring her down.If what's been were perpetrated on Gov. Palin, were inflicted on a liberal, we'd hear accusations day and night!Go Gov. Palin…Make them squirm.

  4. Jordan says:

    Ohh.. lest I forget. Shame on Palin for "attacking" Obama and the media. <smirk>She was right on about everything. Too bad most liberals prefer to keep their blinders on.Can't wait till she debate her counterpart, Joe Biden, another flip-flopper. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RDVUPqoowf8Republicans have to keep liberals own remarks alive.

  5. Jordan says:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RDVUPqoowf8&NR=1 Hope this time it works. TedWest, feel free to delete my previous one.

  6. TedWest says:

    Reading that you're becoming like me was a bit unnerving, as I wouldn't wish that on anyone, nor would I ever advise a person to be more like me, and it's even worse than that, really, but I can't elaborate because…
    You just motivated me to finish part two of my expose, Snowy, Man Or Australian?
    And I think there may even be a part three!

  7. TedWest says:

    There are two worthwhile pieces I've come upon this morning so far. The first is from an expected source, American Thinker, but the second is from a surprising source, the L.A. Times. It has a few thinly veiled barbs, but overall, it's pretty impressive, and you'll be able to relive some of last night's highlights.
    It says something, I think, when even the Times notices that Palin gave a stunning performance, and the comments, the amount of comments I've been seeing seem to indicate that Sarah didn't just impress those of us who wanted to be impressed.
    Dare I say that her speech was like someone giving a political speech in a movie, only better?

  8. TedWest says:

    I, thankfully, didn't see Larry King,, but I did see a bit of the blitzed one, and he and his panel, even the nauseating David Gergen, had praise for Sarah. I don't think there's any doubt that she made a great impression on America, and she served notice on the Dems and their media that she was not only no pushover, that she was willing to take on all comers. I said to my wife, "Biden may actually wet himself!"
    Yes, I know that's too much to hope for, so how about if his plugs fell out?

Leave a Reply

