Obama’s Berlin Connection

I've said it several times now that the Obama campaign reminds me of the rise of the Nazis in 1930s Germany. I wasn't there, but I saw Cabaret a bunch of times.

The most memorable scene for me was in the beer garden when a beautiful young man starts singing, and more and more of the crowd joins in as his "patriotic" song stokes their fire. Older people mostly stare in confusion about all the fuss. And as the lad finishes, he raises his hand in the the now menacingly familiar salute which reveals the Nazi armband.

Our heroes, Liza and Co, leave that scene understanding the ominous implications of it all, but even they don't grasp the scope. And at the end of Cabaret, theres a pan of the Cabaret audience that repeats the opening scene with a notable difference. In the beginning, it's just an audience that's there to be entertained. In the end, the audience is laced with individuals sporting that same armband.

That wasn't just a reflection of the changing scene, it was the result of Nazis having beaten the owner of the cabaret to a pulp for having expelled one of their members earlier.

Up to now, my comparisons to Germany were based on the mindless support for a vacuous individual who promises hope and change but who offers neither the details nor the experience nor the competence to support his "movement." That's changed. The intimidation has started. Earlier this week, Obama tried to sic the Justice Department on a guy from Texas who produced an ad Bobo doesn't like, and he has demanded that stations and channels not carry it.

And they aren't.

Thank God for the Internet.

Those in the media aren't all in the pocket of the Obama campaign, but they aren't fools either. The ad is valid. It's not a baseless attack, but owners and managers know that a President Obama won't forget, and that things can get mighty ugly, the threat of the reinstatement of the Fairness Doctrine being just the beginning of it.

And now Obama has turned his focus on a talk show host at WGN radio in Chicago whom he is trying to silence because the host is apparently relentlessly critical of the Obama-Ayers connection, something that, at the very least, hasn't been fully explored. Obama had his supporters bombard the station with calls and emails, and is likely employing other methods of intimidation. Even though he's been invited to appear on the show to state his side of things, Obama and his campaign staff have refused to appear.

This isn't just an incident or two, this is central to what an Obama Presidency will be. Bill Clinton used intimidation and investigation, most notable the IRS, in his attempts to stifle the opposition, but that was after he became President, and it was relatively benign in comparison to what candidate Obama has already done. We've seen too many third world Messiahs employ similar tactics (think Hugo Chavez), but they have always been "over there." Thugs and bullies have never risen above State government in America.

When I say that Obama is The Rottenest Man Who Ever Ran, some may think I'm joking or exaggerating. If anything, I'm understating. What we've seen is more than enough to make that assessment of Obama, but it's what's to come that's unimaginable, and if you disagree or don't understand… or you subscribe to Obama's approach, then you're the rottenest citizen there ever was.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Obama’s Berlin Connection

  1. gil says:

    if you disagree or don't understand… or you subscribe to Obama's approach, then you're the rottenest citizen there ever was.

  2. TedWest says:

    I'm sure you have others shaking their heads out there, and some even weeping and gnashing, so I sincerely hope this isn't another example of a liberal trying to employ logic?
    "We can't all be the rottenest."
    Oh really?"
    "there can only be one rottenest"
    Oh really?
    Two people can't share a sports record and both be the greatest? One might be the greater athlete, but both would be, say, the greatest homerun hitters.
    And beyond that we refer to entire categories as "the greatest" – the greatest homerun hitters, Presidents, I'm sure you get the idea.
    Conversely then, is It not possible for all to be equally rotten?
    That is it say, if one is a liberal, (s)he is already plenty rotten, but if one consciously and actively subscribes to Bobo and his tactics in any way, you're the rottenest of the rotten… as is your friend, your relative… etc.
    I confess that when I wrote that, I didn't consider that people would try reasoning at home… in their spare time.

  3. gil says:

    Ties are for sissies and communists. Which one are you, Ted? Well I guess they're not mutually exclusive, so I won't make you choose. Plus that's not your style to choose one thing over another.

  4. TedWest says:

    See, this is what happens when you try to educate a liberal, and I'm tired of being so nice and considerate while trying to do so.
    In this case, I gave you an example of how two (or more) things/people could be equally great, and you return with some amorphous examples of how one is greater than the other, and how everybody knows whatever, and this despite the fact that I had anticipated and preempted your response in my original answer.
    And then you ignore the overriding factor that "the greatest" (rottenest) can be both specific and general. I'm not saying you did that intentionally, it's just that liberals always, without exception, ignore that which is inconvenient or that which they can't answer.
    And then comes the litany. It never fails. You cannot debate specifics, and so lumping becomes both your truth and your proof. This only flies in your Circle of the Mindless, but your lot doesn't know that since you rarely venture out, and when you do, hit and run is not just your tactic, it's your salvation.
    You may not be aware of my quest to find a rational liberal, but you've already disqualified yourself from consideration by resorting (reducing) to the above bit of nonsensical pap, You've also made debate impossible since you've shown your hand… and your head.
    So for all intents and purposes, you're done, and the only thing we've established is that Mensa morons are indeed smarter than average liberals.. in some ways, that is, but not others.
    That makes you both equally rotten, but I'm perfectly willing to leave it to you to apply what you feel are other appropriate criteria and decide whether Pax or Gil is the rottenest.

  5. gil says:

    I don't have to be right, I just have to prove you wrong, which is exceedingly easy.

  6. TedWest says:

    OK, when can ya start?
    Because up to now, you haven't proven me wrong, you've proven you're a moron.
    Look, I know how tough this is for you, even if you don't, because I've encountered a thousand of you over the years, and you're all incredibly stupid, you never learn, you can't think, you can't reason, and you can't realize when you've been destroyed. Say, you're not thinking you're smarter than I am, are you?
    Take your laundry list. What did you expect to gain with that silliness> To show you're a thinker? You failed to convince me… and every other person who may read this. Maybe if you added one more item?
    Now, let's say that you and another liberal had the same IQ, and it was less than your shoe size, would you both be the stupidest? Or should I wait until you write something else before making my final determination?
    I think you'll admit I've given you every opportunity, and despite the fact that you're no good. I mean, you do support Bobo, right? So how great am I?

  7. gil says:

    I really didn't expect to gain anything from this except maybe making your day shittier. Did it work? Or do you enjoy wasting your time, because I seriously doubt anyone but me has read this ludicrous post.

  8. Lexann says:

    The intimidation has started. Earlier this week, Obama tried to sic
    the Justice Department on a guy from Texas who produced an ad Bobo
    doesn't like, and he has demanded that stations and channels not carry
    it.
    And they aren't.Who is this TX guy? What was the ad? I'd like to look it up.

  9. TedWest says:

    You might start here.
    The most interesting part of this to me is that Obama accuses the ad of being outrageously deceitful such that it would merit a federal investigation, while at the same time accusing McCain of being responsible for it when, in fact, McCain had nothing to do with it, and the ad itself, at worst, is guilty of only slight inaccuracies, none of which would alter the point of the ad.

  10. TedWest says:

    By the way, if you're not familiar with American Thinker, it's a lot like WorldNetDaily but with far fewer wacky commentaries, and, I believem, better analysis. Check it out here or here.

  11. Lexann says:

    Thanks! I found the ad here. Very enlightening!

  12. Well Obama is a lier by omission.

Leave a Reply

