The Obama I Know

I think it's long past time to correct a few misconceptions that many people seem to hold about Barack Obama. For example, I've seen and heard it said that he's good looking. If you think that, there's something wrong with you. Not that he's bad looking, but his looks are off-putting. He's been called a girly-man by one of my favorite local radio personalities, but that doesn't cover it for me. I've said he's like an undertaker you'd see in the movies. or worse, he's vampire-like creepy. he also alternately reminds me of a wax figure that bears a strong resemblance to himself and a retail store mannequin.

That's it, he's like a wax mannequin who's mistaken for an undertaker because he's missing his cape. He comes off as unmanly and he fills you with suspicion – like maybe presidential candidates should be have sex tests like they do with the Olympics athletes?

A lot of people also think Obama speaks well. In fact, you know that's an understatement. Those who admire him say he speaks in soaring tones. But "sleep inducing" is more like it. He's sing-song in his speech patterns, and his voice quickly becomes very grating – unless of course he's got you under his spell as vampires are known to do.

And about Obama's vaunted intelligence. It may be there, I just haven't seen any evidence of it. I mean he's got a degree from Harvard, so one must presume that at some point in his life he displayed some sliver of intelligence, but that's all in the past. Now, the more he talks, the dumber he looks. Perhaps that's due to his spiraling descent into narcissism.

It could also be that he's stunningly presumptuous and that breeds laziness. But then it could easily be the other way around considering his ethnicity and his many unearned accolades.

But now don't mistake what I've just said. I don't mean to imply that black people are lazy. I do mean to say that some blacks who feel entitled are. They appear to feel they are owed something, and Obama's comments at the recent minority conference of minority journalists could well be construed to indicate that he regards himself as one of them. This despite the fact that he's perhaps the least black in terms of the American black experience that a semi-black candidate could possibly be.

So just how dumb is Obama? Well, he's the dumbest Candidate for President in my lifetime, which probably makes him the dumbest presidential candidate ever. A gross exaggeration, you say? Well, then you haven't encountered this quote yet:

"There are things you can do individually, though, to save energy. Making sure your tires are properly inflated – simple thing. But we could save all the oil that they're talking about getting off drilling – if everybody was just inflating their tires… and getting regular tune-ups. You'd actually save just as much!"

Nuff said? No. Let me add that if Obama is the dumbest ever, and he is, John McCain seems determined to wrest that title from the Senator-in-Training.

I know that I long ago labeled Obama an empty suit, although it may just seem like long ago since listening to and looking at Obama makes it seem as if an eternity has passed. But back when I was undecided about Barama, he had ample opportunity to demonstrate that he really was what his admirers were making him out to be.

And he failed utterly. There is not a single area in which he's managed to impress. His experience is even less than we'd realized… his vision – far less… his insight, all but non-existent… his judgment, invariably wrong to dangerously so. His naiveté? Seemingly boundless, although we could be confusing that with his disinterest in details. The film Coming To America comes to mind, but Bobo is not the Eddie Murphy character, he's Arsenio Hall's.

And humility? Huh? I'd love to hear him define that. I've mentioned that all this reminds me of 1930s Germany. That's easy for me to say, I wasn't there, but Obama's allure is totally emotion based. His speeches are soaring invitations into mindlessness. Any rational person would reject him outright.

And now that the focus on Obama is intensifying, he's trying to control the environment. He's on defense and he and his campaign hacks are quick to lash out at anything and anyone perceived to be critical of him, returning fire with often hilarious, but at the same time pathetic, non-sequiturs. In short, Obama is not only reinforcing my assessment that he's the Rottenest Man Who Ever Ran, he's building on it. I think he may actually be descending into insanity, but I could be wrong – he could have been insane from the beginning.

In any case, I no longer think of him as an empty suit. I don't think he's anywhere in the vicinity of that suit. He's somewhere in the clouds – from where he intends to rule.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Obama I Know

  1. Paxton says:

    Okay, so you don't like Obama. We get it. In case we might have thought you were chums with him.

  2. TedWest says:

    See, it's not that I don't like Bobo, it's that you do, and that you apparently think that pointless and flimsy comment might accomplish something.

Leave a Reply

