An African-American Hole Deep In The Heart Of Texas

In case you're wondering what's going on here lately, if you think you've detected a change in tone, let me assure you – you have. I'm fed up, I don't care who I offend and I have nothing to lose by telling it like it is, and as I've seen one person after another succumb to the absurdities of the day, I figure it's either time to not mince words or to leave.

As I said last week, I understand why some around here are discouraged. That's not to say they are not weak people, they are, it's just that I know where they are coming from, even if I've never been there myself.

And I reject it… and I've been rejecting it all my adult life since the moment I learned shortly after high school that adulthood is not synonymous with personal growth and reason. In fact, today it's just the opposite, people are regressing. I get it – It turns out, high school was a lot more fun and being an adult is a lot less fun than I'd expected.

But I have no interest in coddling anyone. If you're weak, by all means, get out. Go play your silly games and whine about how unfulfilling this blogging thing is. Explore Myspace or Facebook, or whatever else, and open up a whole new world of friends for life – FFL!.

As for me, I'll keep doing what I do as long as it suits me, and that's been fifteen years so far, and it involves being as direct as I can be and naming names.

So I left the politics group I'd been in since I started here. The head of it, W, turned out to be a weasel. I know none of this matters to anyone else, but I don't relate well to weasels as you may have noticed.

W is one of those who revently announced he's "pursuing other interests." Fine. Except, hey, aren't you the head of a fairly good-sized group? But OK, I understand, really I do. I couldn't stand the forum I ran any longer. Although at least I had the decency to alienate almost everyone first and run them off before I shuttered the place. I figured I owed them that much.

Besides, I was already down on W as a result of him contacting me about one post that he felt didn't fit his group's parameters. As a joke, I added about three words, one of them being "politics," and he responded that it was now plenty good enough for him. Great, he's easy to please…..

Until he contacted me again, a bit out of breath this time. because I had deleted one of Lenny's posts. Turns out W's a big free speech fan which is great. Except that I run my blog the way I want, and I wanted Lenny's post off it, so it eventually came down to me telling W to either butt out or I'd leave his group. Since he never responded, and he didn't remove me, I figure he chose the former. In retrospect, my biggest rtegret is that I didn't delete all of Lenny's posts.

But now W's apparently gone, so why would I be sticking around? Most especially because there are far too many liberals in the group anyway (at least one for sure).

And Scio bit the big one around the same time. I'd have figured him for sterner stuff, but then he's young, so I probably should have known better. I knew he was headed for a fall because he kept talking about "debate," so it was only a matter of time. I mean. since when do you debate the enemy? Besides, who does he think he is, John McCain?

Now if you think I'm burning bridges, you should know that there were none to burn. We all had the weakest of associations at best, and it an Ayn Rand, Vortue of Selfishness, kind of thing. I fought with my partner for thirteen years because he'd never fully commit to our endeavor. This online thing was a diversion to him whereas I felt that whatever you do, you should do it all the way or don't do it at all.

Come to think of it, maybe that's how W and Scio felt, and that would be OK.

So what prompted all this? I mean you know something always triggers this sort of thing.

Well, you may have heard about the one of the best examples yet of how stupidity leads even greater stupidity. There's this fool in Texas who thinks the term "black hole" is racist – thus the title of this piece. And what's perhaps more significant about that title is that to my knowledge, it's the first time in my life that I used the term "African-American." Because it's the only thing that fit – because it's an absurd term itself. One day I may tell you why.

Anyway, this jackass in question is a a county commissioner who took offense at the term "black hole." Here's the story:

County commissioners were discussing problems with the central collections office that is used to process traffic ticket payments and handle other paperwork normally done by the JP Courts.

Commissioner Kenneth Mayfield, who is white, said it seemed that central collections "has become a black hole" because paperwork reportedly has become lost in the office.

Commissioner John Wiley Price, who is black, interrupted him with a loud "Excuse me!" He then corrected his colleague, saying the office has become a "white hole."

That prompted Judge Thomas Jones, who is black, to demand an apology from Mayfield for his racially insensitive analogy.

That's right, black hole #2 is a judge.

Unbelievable?

And yet, believable.

Because there is literally no limit to what people don't know nowadays. Which reminds me, I've been keeping a running tab on examples of my favorite pet peeve – people who don't know when two simple words should be combined to form one, still simple, word. Some of the examples are downright hilarious even as they're unbelievably pathetic.

Which brings me to Drudge today. I went there early this morning and the lead headline was about the Feds considering a takeover of Fanny Mac and Freddie Mae…

Except Drudge didn't say "takeover." It read "Take Over."

I mean, enough already!

Here's what bothers me so much about this sort of thing – how many times in their lives have these dopes encountered the correct spelling of such simple words? And yet in all that time, they never noticed. They never cared to notice. And nobody (or should I say, no body?) ever cared enough to embarrass the hell out of them them so they might be motivated to learn simple English.

So I wrote Drudge. he has a little box on the bottom right so you can report breaking news you come upon… and I considered his stupidity breaking news, so I wrote in the box:

It's TAKEOVER, you idiots!

Then I waited ten minutes and revisited the page.

The headline had changed:

FEDS EYE FANNIE, FREDDIE

There, I've done my bit to improve the world today. Now it's your turn…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

