Independence Day – Liberal Style

Writing in the Philadelphia Inquirer, Chris Satullo (I felt nauseous writing his name) says this:

"Put the fireworks in storage. Cancel the parade. Tuck the soaring speeches in a drawer for another time. This year, America doesn't deserve to celebrate its birthday. This Fourth of July should be a day of quiet and atonement."

Why? The obvious lie upon lie…

"We took the coward's way. The world sees this, even if we are too dim to grasp it. We've lost respect. We've shamed the memory of Jefferson, Adams and Franklin. And all for a scam. The waterboarding, the snarling dogs, the theft of sleep – all the diabolical tricks haven't made us safer. They may have averted this plot or that. But they've spawned new enemies by the thousands, made the jihadist rants ring true to so many ears."

That's right -we- took the coward's way… you and I. And how did we do that?

"We left it to those in power to keep our precious selves from harm. Whatever it took."

I don't know about you, but I think he's got it just about right/ And I'm not going to atone for it. In fact, I'm thankful. I'm proud, and I'm pleased that it took so little to keep us safe for seven years.Sure mistakes were made. It was an enormous task. But in America, mistakes get addressed, and the input of critics is considered.

So Chris, proving he's no coward, has provided his email address in case you care to comment:

csatullo@phillynews.com.

And I, fancying myself no coward either, decided to avail myself of his invitation. I sent the following:

To quote Marlon Brando – "You remarkable pig."

I hope many are grilling various parts of Chris this Fourth.

Ted

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Independence Day – Liberal Style

  1. Let me guess, Chris Salutto voted for Jimmy Carter. 🙄

  2. TedWest says:

    It was the lead story on Glenn Beck tonight

  3. TedWest says:

    In an unrelated column this very day, Jonah Goldberg writes:

    That practice (in which we send suspected terrorists to foreign countries to be interrogated under laxer rules) began under President Clinton. Aggressive interrogations, for good or ill, surely predate 2001. Holding prisoners indefinitely at Guantanamo without benefit of a trial? As terrorism expert Andrew C. McCarthy notes in National Review, we were doing that under the first President Bush and under Clinton to innocent Haitian refugees, who got even less due process than we give captured enemy combatants.
    I think liberals need their own Independence Day – how about the first day of winter – at night?

Leave a Reply

