In Search Of A Decent Liberal

It occurred to me in light of the vicious, unprovoked and indecent attacks on John McCain today and yesterday by General Wesley Clark and Senator Jim Webb, that I haven't seen a single Democrat condemn these two indecent individuals, and that in such a case, silence constitutes complicity.

And as you know, in nearly fifteen years of searching, I have been absolutely unsuccessful in finding a single rational liberal, but I don't believe one needs to be rational to understand common decency, and so I've decided to lower the bar and launch a new search…

Very simply, are you disgusted with the antics of members of your party and other subscribers to your ideology? I'm not asking you to renounce your beliefs, I'm only asking if you recognize that the sort of tactics we've been seeing in your primary contests and now against McCain are not things that decent people do? I'm asking if you reject these evil people and their methods? If you do, you may be a decent liberal*.

I suspect that some will immediately want to engage in moral relativeness and cite past events in which they feel that someone on the right engaged in similar activities. I'll listen, but be advised that virtually all of the things liberals have screamed and whined about are allegations, fabrications, and exaggerations, and the biggest one from my perspective, the swift boat ads that sunk Kerry, were not demonstrably false, and did in fact contain elements of truth, and so if you think those ads rise to the level of depravity of the recent attacks on McCain, don't bother, you're not a decent liberal.

I wish you luck. You may soon be known as "The Decent Liberal." Of course I realize that even this bar may be too high, but as you know, I'm nothing if not hopeful and optimistic when it comes to the left. Just remember, a left turn requires more energy use, so consider turning right.

 

*Other criteria may apply, but you could still receive honorable mention even if you fail to meet them in their entiretly.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Search Of A Decent Liberal

  1. That all depends on your definition of "decent". Tim Russert, Chris Matthews, Bill Richardson? They may be decent but they are still wrong.

  2. TedWest says:

    Russert was borderline decent at best, and with emphasis on the "was," The other two are trash at best. But in any case, I'm looking locally.

  3. Richardson is a putz and I like Matthews and would have a beer with either. But leftism is a synthetic religion with roots in the French Revolution. I haven't ascertained where Obama has his guillotines hidden.

Leave a Reply

