The Conservative Eunuch

This morning, I came upon a piece on the American Thinker blog in which Rocco DiPippo did an absolutely tremendous job of assessing and characterizing liberals. Unfortunately, he didn't stop there, and so after he'd profiled today's essential liberal, he launched into a rant in which he seemed to hold the left solely responsible for all the trouble America is in today. I wrote a short comment about how he'd failed to hold Bush and the Republicans accountable, but I can't get Pippo's commentary out of my head because it and the other readers' comments it drew are exactly what's wrong with the conservative movement today.

Hold on, my last sentence is what's wrong with conservatives today – they don't represent a movement. They represent a "standing still." They point fingers at the left and fail utterly to hold their own accountable. Not that they don't know there's a problem, they just believe that the left with its media and education system are all-powerful and conservatives are the hapless victims. They're blind as bats. They're lemmings. That's it, they're blind lemmings. Interestingly, conservatives have created a self-fulfilling prophecy

Even now (or especially now), Republicans haven't learned one lesson from their defeat , and if anything, they've become even more closely aligned with Democrats. And all the right does is whine a bit and shift their focus to those terrible liberals.

Don't get me wrong, "terrible" is far too kind a word to describe liberals, even the best of them, but the right seems, for all intents and purposes, vanquished. McCain is the "standard bearer," Gingrich is doing climate ads with Pelosi (and where's the outrage?), and to my knowledge, there are only two conservative radio hosts who show no desire or inclination to be friendly to liberals, and one of them, Rush Limbaugh, was told by several listeners this past week about how he was letting them down by not showing stronger leadership. Last night, I saw Laura Ingraham substitute for O'Reilly, and she was sickeningly friendly and accommodating toward one liberal "guest." Look, you don't berate people without reason, but the instant a liberal starts the litany of lies, he has to be shut down.

I personally won't be friends with, or even friendly toward, even the nicest of liberals if he refuses or is unable to be rational. Irrational people are, in my book, worse than animals because you don't have to try to reason with animals, and they can't vote… at least not yet.

So I urge you to read the American Thinker commentary, but let's get a few things straight once and for all: The Dems and the left are our, meaning America's, most dangerous enemy. You may not see it, but you have more in common with Muslim radicals than you do with liberals, and so isn't it ironic that the only people who don't think Islamists need to be destroyed are… that's right… liberals. Michael Savage says they're diseased. I say they're depraved.

But conservatives and Republicans are not well by any stretch. people love to reference McCain-Feingold as John McCain's signature mistake and probably the defining moment in the start of Republicans' decline, and who am I to disagree? Except that as I keep saying, McCain's bill was a blunder, and he should have disassociated himself from it as it took final form, but in the end, McCain was merely one member of the Congressional majority that passed it, and not the one responsible for it becoming law. But there was one person responsible for that. And he's a Republican. And my own mistake was in not, many years ago, labeling the bill by it's proper name and order of blame. It's Bush-McCain-Feingold, and it shall be forever thus.

Which reminds me, can you name one thing George Bush has done since? And don't say "the Surge." Not only did Bush not initiate that, he was dragged into it as a last resort, yet one I and others had been demanding long before Bush finally had to do something, anything, to counter not just the withering criticism, but what would possibly have become a movement for impeachment had he continued to allow our troops to die without reason or reward.

And have you seen any Republican shouting from the rooftop that Democrats are totally and solely responsible for the current fuel crisis? It's a no-brainer… except to brainless Republicans.

One last thing, and I blame Scio for this since he alerted me to the Vox politics page. I now check it every few months, the latest being today, and I was struck by what a bit of liberal propaganda it's become. It may have been forever thus, but today it was in-your-face liberal garbage from the referenced commentaries right now to the descending size of the keywords. To say that I won't be part of that is ludicrous since I'm not already, but I can't be part of any service that holds liberal views in high regard – or any regard for that matter. If only I could just find some conservatives who would place brutal honesty above ideology, perhaps we could start, say, The Cold Light of Reason, or maybe buy a frozen yogurt franchise?

Fie on it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Conservative Eunuch

  1. While the "Conservative Movement" still resides as a social movement in such organizations as National Review, Hillsdale College, Grove City College and assorted "Think Tanks" – I think as a political movement it ended when President Ronald Reagan retired from the Presidency. There is no longer a catalyst to motivate voters to support it as a political movement. America has become a nation "Of the Bureaucracy, By the Bureaucracy and For the Bureaucracy." This is what the Democratic Party is really about.

Leave a Reply

