McCain – Hero – Film At Eleven

Let me say again at the outset, I'm no fan of John McCain. I hate his positions on immigration, drilling in Alaska, and the "global warming" scam, to name a few. OK, "hate' is too weak, but it'll have to do since I can't spend a lot of time thinking of something more appropriate when it's not what this entry is about.

What I want to bring to your attention is the segment on today's Special Report with Brit Hume in which a former Hanoi cellmate of Senator McCain went into considerable detail regarding the nature of McCain's heroism, and it was far more extensive and impressive than I'd known – awe-inspiring, I'd say. OK, "awe-inspiring" is too weak, but it will have to do because it can't be described in a word or two.

This is the sort of guy in the sort of situation movies are made of… and one was. I saw it, and as reflective as it was of McCain's character in the face of circumstances I couldn't begin to endure, the film didn't convey the sentiments a fellow prisoner did in a short interview. I urge you to catch a replay.

Does heroism qualify one to be President? No, but it's one indication of temperament, ability to focus, and potential coolness in a crisis. And McCain has a long political and legislative track record which,shows that he's the man for the times. I expect that I won't like a lot of what he does in office, but I also know that he'll be a leader, a strong and capable one – an honest one, and I can't say that about his potential opponents.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to McCain – Hero – Film At Eleven

  1. I'll second this opinion.

  2. Jack Yan says:

    His war record is what impresses me most about John McCain. Like you, Ted, I really dislike some of his policies and he’s too laissez-faire economically for me. But when you realize that before 1980 the most time he had spent anywhere was Hanoi, and put up with the crap the Viet Cong gave him, then it does suggest an incredibly strong character.

  3. Jack: There is virtually no "Laissez-faire" proponents left in American except members of the Libertarian Party and a few think tanks like the Cato Institute, FEE, Reason Foundation and the Heritage Foundation.

  4. Jack Yan says:

    Relatively speaking in comparison to Keynesian economics, of course

  5. Planning and deficit spending are two pillars holding up the US Capitol. 😉

  6. TedWest says:

    Jack,
    "he’s too laissez-faire economically for me"
    I don't want to rush to interpret what you meant by that, so I'd appreciate some clarification. I ask because to me, McCain is too much in favor of government solutions and for using government to block free-market solutions, but I may have misunderstood your meaning.
    Case in point: I just read that McCain may be planning a "global warming tour." If true, I would consider that a deal-breaker, which only means that it will be four consecutive elections in which I will have not voted for a Presidential candidate.

  7. Jack Yan says:

    Hi Ted: I may well be wrong (and it seems I am). Here, my impression of Sen. McCain is that he is prepared to let the market do everything (e.g. subprime), but I am prepared to be corrected since I hear less in general about the candidates. I have never felt that where we are right now we should allow the market to simply take its course, though of course that is an ideal.

  8. TedWest says:

    Now I understand, Jack, and that's for being so candid. My big concern with McCain is that he'll use government in the wrong places. I would agree that the subprime mess may need some government involvement, but it appears that if the Dems get their way, it will be over-involvement as only they can.
    But now as I say that, I'm mindful of the fact that the Republicans are no longer prepared to automatically cede Dems the spending/regulatory crown year after year.

  9. Jack Yan says:

    Thank you, Ted, especially for giving me a chance to clarify that. The Democratic solutions do sound far too messy for me, too. I think Americans will have to vote on the “lesser evil”, and on that basis neither Obama nor Clinton have any appeal to me.

  10. TedWest says:

    Jack,
    I meant to say "thanks" for being so candid. Sorry the typo made me sound patronizing.

  11. Jack Yan says:

    No worries, Ted: I didn’t read that in at all.

Leave a Reply

