A Dialogue About Race? No, No, No, A Monologue!

I'm sitting here listening to Ole Reverend Wright talk to the National Press Club in Washington, and he's saying that what's transpired is not an attack on him, it's an attack on the black church, and that he hopes it will result in the black church no longer being invisible, and that it will start an honest dialogue about race.

Well, not if I have anything to say about it, it won't.

First off, our professional victim is sort of Wright… er… right – it is an attack on the black church – Trinity Church specifically. But he's wrong that it's not an attack on him, and I'd be happy to demonstrate that personally were I to be given the opportunity.

As I said in an earlier post, my conception of "the black church," was one of spirituality set to up-tempo gospel music. It was an absolute shock for me to hear such a vicious man as Reverend Wright say the things he said from a church pulpit, and it was a bigger shock to learn that his church is not alone in hosting such "sermons."

And now that Wright is being lauded and applauded by a seemingly wide cross-section of black people, my feeling is that it is setting race relations back decades. Which brings me to the point that I've also attempted to make before: I have no interest in racial dialogue. That's not to say that I have no use for black people – or Hispanics, or Asians (I married one, God damn America), it is to say that race is over for me. I allowed myself to get sucked into it when I was younger, and I've come to my senses.

See, no one in my family ever had anything to do with the mistreatment of any member of any other race, and it took me a long time to realize that i have no responsibility whatsoever for what blacks experienced. So I will not accept any guilt. But I'll take it further – even if your family has a history that goes back to the days of slavery, you have no responsibility now either.

Blacks, whether it's conscious or not, have an interest in maintaining a "racial dialogue," because it gets them special favors even as it continues the evils of discrimination. So please, include me out. Reverend Wright can rant all he wants, and believe me, he is as I write, but this "reasonable bigot," only has my attention insofar as I can deride and, hopefully, minimize him.

Interestingly, the magnificent and irreplaceable Jackie Mason was on earlier this morning, and he left with a memorable observation – Jackie said that Barack Obama tells us that the Reverend Wright took him into his church, baptized him, married him to Michelle, tutored him and counseled him – for twenty years… but he didn't hear a word Wright said.

Well, I'm done, and so is Wright. He's now answering questions, and I must say, they are direct and specific, the sort of questions Barack Obama should have to answer, and from what I've heard, Obama will have almost endless explaining to do now. For example, I just heard Wright say that Louis Farrakhan is not his enemy – that "he did not put me in chains, he did not make me a slave, and he did not make me this color."

Now I could be wrong, but I'm willing to bet everything I own that no one ever enslaved the reverend or even put him in chains… not that there's anything wrong with that… in his case.. so to speak. but that's just my glib guiltlessness talking.

UPDATE: Having just posted the above, I next came upon this terrific bit of commentary that, I feel, greatly expands on the point I was attempting to make

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Dialogue About Race? No, No, No, A Monologue!

  1. snow-flower says:

    thanks for the website..

  2. Catalina says:

    Reverend Wright is a much as a devil as Louis Farrakhan.

  3. Nick says:

    Great post, and great link. Regarding its view of race, the left is everthing it claims to oppose. No ethical school of western civilisation – in fact, nothing in our philosophical heritage – endorses the idea that moral culpability can be transmitted genetically, or transfered from person to person. The latter views are subrational. We all know they're subrational. So when we nurture a philosophical milieu in which white people can be considered, and can consider themselves, somehow guilty by association, we're keeping the race debate on a subrational level, which is precisely what the left is happy to do. Doesn't take an Immanuel Kant to see the insidious racism at work.
    I was speaking to some black teenagers recently about media reports of 'black on black' gun crime, and one said that he thought the term was disgusting. He said it was as though blacks weren't expected to understand the rarified moral idea that all gun crime is wrong; the media acts as though when a black guy shoots a black guy, the crime is against ethnic solidarity, not against universal ethical standards. That's treating black people as moral imbeciles. The black victimhood / white guilt-by-association model is a refusal to apply even basic moral reasoning to race relations, and as long as the race dialogue is continued in this way, we should wash our hands of the whole sorry business.
    By the way, how much work does the reverend do to address modern day slavery in, say, Sudan? Seriously, is he particularly vocal on the subject?

  4. Jeff D says:

    Slightly tangential topic, but that dude is the whitest black guy I've ever seen. He's almost as pale as me, and that's saying something.

  5. Chad says:

    Hi Ted,Long time no hear my friend. I am tired…so tired…of it all. I haven't even had time to blog since coming back from retreat (now there's an unintentional pun). What's worse is I haven't even missed it that much. What does that mean?Anyway, I don't think any sentient being takes Wright, much less/more Obama, seriously…which makes me wonder about all those quack jobs who, in spite of everything, are voting for Oblahmah. What has he done? Nothing. What has he said? Nothing…but his voice has such great pitch and timbre; I think I'll vote for him. 'Cause after all, I think I know what he means and he sounds so good saying it. (PUKE!)Someone please do whatever it takes to wake me from this nightmare. Is it live or is it Memorex? 'Coming soon to a bad dream near you: President Barack Obama…"I have a dream"; I'm having a dream…someone else had a dream…and this wasn't it.

  6. TedWest says:

    I think a lot of people are feeling what you're feeling, including myself. I was going to post about an experience I had just today, but couldn't be bothered – until I read your comment. It'll be relatively short, so I'm going to do it now.

Leave a Reply

