Obama: He’s No Colin Powell

I've never liked Barack Obama. I see his as a slick undertaker.

Now,.thanks to Reverend Wright, I see the freshman Senator as something else that might have gone unnoticed because I didn't care about Barack Obama. Wright has accomplished the impossible – he made me care, and I hope a lot of other people care too, because Obama isn't just an inexperienced politician, he's a bad guy.

If you think that's too strong, what kind of guy sits in a racist's church for twenty years and says nothing, but demands the firing of Don Imus for an inconsequential remark? Still not enough for you? What kind of a guy won't reject a racist outright, but is willing to use his living grandmother in a weak attempt to bolster his case?

Contrary to what Obama had been saying, his campaign is very much about race and very much race based. A February, 2007 Rolling Stone article, which I'd never have read were it not for Reverend Wright's hateful remarks, paints a picture of Obama manipulating and exploiting white women by playing to a segment of that group's fascination with black men..In the larger sense, Obama is appealing to white guilt: "Vote Obama and clear your conscience" could be his slogan

In 1996, many hoped Colin Powell would be the Republican candidate for President. Powell easily transcended race, and I believe he could have been elected. He had every asset that's being attributed to Obama and far more – Powell was accomplished, mature, and a war hero.

I dare say that race, if it ever reared its ugly head if Powell were the candidate, would have been quickly dismissed as irrelevant or absurd. Powell is a man who doesn't need his blackness to gain votes, nor could it be used against him since, for example, it is unthinkable that he'd have sat still for a moment during one of Reverend Wright's hideous sermons.

Barack Obama, on the other hand has shown he's not hesitant to use race when it suits him, and it suits him because that's about all he's got going for him.

He's being compared to a Rorschach Test, and Obama himself has said, "I serve as a blank screen on which people of vastly different political stripes project their own views." Shelby Steele says of that, "Human visibility is Mr. Obama's Achilles heel. If we see the real man, his contradictions and bents of character, he will be ruined as an icon, as a 'blank screen.'"

That's the invisible service Reverend Wright has performed, he's introduced us to Obama, the man, and he's rather unremarkable… at best. In fact, he's incredibly common for a Harvard educated lawyer. He's a man who sat meekly silent in tacit agreement with the evil rantings of a lunatic pastor, and he did that for 19 years and 364 days longer that I would have and probably 19 years, 364 days and one second longer than Colin Powell would have if you get my drift. Luckily, John McCain never visited. He may have just shot Wright where he stood.

Steel asks, "How does one 'transcend' race in this church?"

Perhaps even worse is the willingness of Barack Obama to drag his white and still living grandmother into the mess he created for himself, equating her with his minister and going so far as to relate that she's apparently made what he considers to be racist remarks about blacks.

And this man thinks of himself as a uniter.

Another thing I learned from this whole sordid matter is that apparently many blacks and many black preachers subscribe to the sort of philosophy that Reverend Wright espouses. That wasn't something I'd previously suspected. It wasn't even something I'd considered. My concept of the black church was one of joy and redemption set to up-tempo spirituals. Now my conception is that many black churches bear a closer resemblance to a Palestinian mosque.

As for Barack Obama's family, it's now perfectly clear what sentiments are behind Michelle Obama's remarks that America is just mean and that she's never been proud of her country, but while that's bad enough, consider what the Obamas have subjected their children to hearing and seeing – and probably not just in church.

According to Steele, "the floodlight of a presidential campaign has trained on this usually hidden corner of contemporary black life: a mindless indulgence in a rhetorical anti-Americanism as a way of bonding and of asserting one's blackness. Yet Jeremiah Wright, splashed across America's television screens, has shown us that there is no real difference between rhetorical hatred and real hatred…. there is already enough pathos in Barack Obama to make him a cautionary tale. His public persona thrives on a manipulation of whites (bargaining), and his private sense of racial identity demands both self-betrayal and duplicity. His is the story of a man who flew so high, yet neglected to become himself."

Obama and Wright have performed a real service. After this, I don't think white America will feel quite as guilty, and black America might understand that preaching hatred in any context is unacceptable. We can only hope (thanks again, Barack) they also come to believe it's wrong.

Unfortunately, I know it's too much to think that Democrats will finally realize that identity politics is divisive and ultimately self-defeating.

As I said, if Colin Powell had run in 1996, I believe he could have been elected, and think of what that could have meant:

– No chaotic second term for Bill Clinton and thus no Democratic abandonment of values and the rule of law,

– A general in the Presidency when 9/11 happened,

– No incumbent in 2004, but an incumbent in 2008 - so Obama, if he ran, would more likely be seen for what he is – nothing… and besides, America would then have already been there and done that on race – and way better.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About tedwest

A longtime veteran of comedy and political forums, I decided that I needed a more restful venue because... well... I finally hate everybody. Except my wife that is... and my ex-wife.. and... no, that's about it. I lead about as simple a life as one can, preferring activities that include anything that doesn't involve going out and seeing YOU! And I particularly enjoy what I call "Get the Bitch" movies on Lifetime. You know the ones where the intended victim finally does something so incredibly stupid that she forfeits her right to live, and from that moment on you're rooting for the stalker. Of course, it rarely works out the way you want, but when it does, the feeling you get is... well, there's nothing else like it, other than, maybe, eating chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and I'm proudly anti-wildlife, both foreign and domestic, and anti-environment - especially foreign environments. I think Howard Stern put it best when he said, "If fifty percent of the population died tomorrow, I can live with that." And I feel the same about the other fifty percent, so together, we've pretty much got it all covered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Obama: He’s No Colin Powell

  1. Jeff D says:

    Unfortunately for all of us, Powell didn't want to put his family through the living hell of a Presidential campaign and have every aspect of his past put up for national review. Wise of him, but we're the worse for it.

  2. TedWest says:

    I agree.
    And in addition to Powell being too dignified to subject himself to all the garbage, there was still the concern that someone would try to take him out, and conservatives had already started to do the same thing the did with McCain – "Is he conservative enough?"

  3. This is a classic Ted- by far your best work here. Obama has played out his hand and we now know that he was bluffing and that he's a phony. Shelby Steele for President then!

  4. Snowy says:

    I wonder if you even watched Obama's speech. That was the speech of a true statesman, and far superior to anything your hero, McCain, could ever deliver. Obama spoke of uniting your country to fight common evils such as the current health care disaster. Did you miss that bit, Ted? McCain seems to have nothing at all to say on the matter. How come you never mention that? I don't recall McCain taking the late unlamented Republican hero, Jerry Fawell, to task for his 9/11 rantings on why the attack took place. And I haven't noticed McCain taking any of the many conservative talk show stooges and evangelicals to task for spewing forth their divisive crap on a daily basis. By his silence does that then mean he agrees with them? Well, does it?So spare me your sanctimonious ranting about a decent man who just may bring some civility and decency to politics in the U.S. God knows you sure could use it.

  5. TedWest says:

    Snowy, I'm going to resist the almost overwhelming urge to call you every name in the book because that's all you deserve, and I'll simply say that I'm no McCain fan, and Obama is nothing more than a common house pig.
    But coincidentally, head one of his manifestos published today, and I'll be talking about that very soon, so I want to assure you that I'm in touch, I only wish you were.
    Now about you and why I'm being so charitable – as I've said many times, I don't explain things to idiots. It's just all insults all the time when someone demonstrates that he lacks even a rudimentary understanding of events, is detached from principle, and then engages in moral relativism in trying to excuse the inexcusable.
    So if you think Barry is a decent man, then you have no conception of decency, and I'll spare you nothing from here on out if you choose to post here and ignore what's relevant in favor of your blind bias.
    Zak,
    Thanks. Wait until you see what Obama posted… the nerve.
    I also want to say that this is hard. I don't want to be singularly focused, but there's so much that needs to be said that I'm ignoring my favorite subjects, such as "Global Warming" idiots and McCain surrounding himself with non-conservatives

  6. TedWest says:

    Snow,
    I thought I'd run your comment by my wife without mentioning anything about you, and her reaction was succinct – "Where is his brain?"
    She's so much better at sizing people of and cutting to the heart of the matter than I am, and I felt humbled for being so critical of you, an anencephalic.
    But it's positively amazing, the advances being made in Australian health care that they are able to keep alive people like you who would ordinarily just die!?!

  7. Snowy says:

    So you didn't watch the speech, then. Enough said. And forget the insults, Ted. They demean you, and do nothing for your argument. You're better than that, and we both know it. My regards to your wife.

  8. TedWest says:

    Snowy, you stupid bunt, I tried to spare you and you'd have none of it. Of course I didn't watch "The Speech." He didn't merit such attention. He'd already failed utterly. And nothing demeans me, because i'm not better than anybody. However, the problem is that you aren't even aware enough to know when you've made a fool of yourself, but you can prove me wrong simply by critiquing your own first post and telling us where you went awry. And if you aren't willing to do that, post nothing else.
    My wife offers chuckles in return.

  9. Snowy says:

    Heh, heh, heh. I don't really need to say anything do I Ted. You just said it all. Go well. Tell your wife she's still welcome to emigrate to Oz when Obama becomes President. Oh what the hell, I'm feeling generous. You can come too.

  10. TedWest says:

    See, there's the problem, isn't it? I mean you can't even see the errors in your own writing, so I hope you understand why it is that nothing you offer by way of criticism can be taken seriously. When you are able to do that – regognize your own mistakes, that is, I shall be happy to engage you, but I fear the problem is endemic among liberals, what with my never having seen evidence to the contrary.
    Perhaps if Hen is reading this, he'd deign to offer to translate your remarks into Rational?

  11. Snowy says:

    There you go again, Ted. You don't even bother to watch one of the finest speeches ever made, and yet feel qualified to critique it. And that's rational? Tell you what. Go off and watch the speech. Put your prejudice aside for a moment, and listen to what the man says. I think he speaks a lot of sense, and not only America, but the world will move forward when he becomes President. After all, we in other countries have a stake in this election too. And deep down we do feel a kinship with the American people, despite Bush's clumsy efforts to destroy it. We would like to be part of that unity of which Obama speaks too.

  12. TedWest says:

    Snowy, let me be absolutely straight with you, since you seem to require the application of a piece of timber between the eyes to get your attention…
    I'd be perfectly willing to parse your initial comment line by line with you in order to help you understand the problems you create for yourself, and insofar as you are able to comprehend the discovery.
    And once you've demonstrated some ability to grasp the obvious and to form rational and logical associations, I'd then be willing to consider one of your submissions, given the then considerably less likely possibility that you'd still find it relevant for consideration.
    Failing that, I shall only provide you with referrals that say perfectly clearly and simply what the problem is with the lowly Senator from the "noise" State.
    Here's a great one:
    There is no believable way anyone can serially expose their own young children to this kind of racial hatred and then convince thinking Americans that he is the man we should elect to help us transcend such racism. Even my liberal acquaintances wince when I pose the question to them…

  13. TedWest says:

    Snowy, let me be absolutely straight with you, since you seem to require the application of a piece of timber between the eyes to get your attention…
    I'd be perfectly willing to parse your initial comment line by line with you in order to help you understand the problems you create for yourself, and insofar as you are able to comprehend the discovery.
    And once you've demonstrated some ability to grasp the obvious and to form rational and logical associations, I'd then be willing to consider one of your submissions, given the then considerably less likely possibility that you'd still find it relevant for consideration.
    Failing that, I shall only provide you with referrals that say perfectly clearly and simply what the problem is with the lowly Senator from the "noise" State.
    Here's a great one:
    There is no believable way anyone can serially expose their own young children to this kind of racial hatred and then convince thinking Americans that he is the man we should elect to help us transcend such racism. Even my liberal acquaintances wince when I pose the question to them…

  14. TedWest says:

    Snowy, let me be absolutely straight with you, since you seem to require the application of a piece of timber between the eyes to get your attention…
    I'd be perfectly willing to parse your initial comment line by line with you in order to help you understand the problems you create for yourself, and insofar as you are able to comprehend the discovery.
    And once you've demonstrated some ability to grasp the obvious and to form rational and logical associations, I'd then be willing to consider one of your submissions, given the then considerably less likely possibility that you'd still find it relevant for consideration.
    Failing that, I shall only provide you with referrals that say perfectly clearly and simply what the problem is with the lowly Senator from the "noise" State.
    Here's a great one:
    There is no believable way anyone can serially expose their own young children to this kind of racial hatred and then convince thinking Americans that he is the man we should elect to help us transcend such racism. Even my liberal acquaintances wince when I pose the question to them…

  15. Snowy says:

    Well, I suppose it beats endlessly repeating inane insults in place of reasoned discussion, Ted, but not by much. I do think it's no substitute for actually watching the speech, and offering a few of your own considered thoughts. That's what rational people do. Otherwise you just speak from prejudice, and that achieves nothing for yourself or anyone else. And don't bother parsing my comments. I've tried to talk reason with you, and failed. I won't be back. That should make both of us happy. Go well.

  16. Don't sweat it Ted, Snowy can't vote here anyway. "Sometimes I wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on or by imbeciles who really mean it." –Mark Twain

  17. TedWest says:

    I hear ya, Zak…er… Mark!
    Once again I've tried to communicate with a liberal and he's turned tail and run. It seems that as soon as they have to reflect on their own words, it dawns on them that they may not be able to support thier shallow and baseless asertions.

  18. TedWest says:

    Zak,
    I've been thinking about all this, and here's what it seems to boil down to: Snowy isn't gonna talk to me anymore if I won't admit that Obama's a uniter?!?
    A typical liberal person.

  19. Scio, Scio says:

    You don't even bother to watch one of the finest speeches ever made, and yet feel qualified to critique it. One of the finest speeches ever made? You can't even mean that. And of course because Ted doesn't feel like watching a speech that has been endlessly reviewed on the news, in print and online that somehow invalidates his ability to have an opinion about Barack Obama.I missed the speech, and I have noticed no gaping hole in my soul. He spoke about race and asked us to get past it, but he also refused to distance himself from a man who has insulted and condemned the country Obama wants to lead. By all accounts, he reiterated his disagreement while refusing to actually distance himself from a central figure in his life. Troubling, that. The President is the one person you can't really fault for being too patriotic. As President he would have to stridently oppose world leaders who share Wright's opinions. Aspersions have been cast.

  20. Catalina says:

    "what kind of guy sits in a racist's church for twenty years and says nothing, but demands the firing of Don Imus for an inconsequential remark?"
    Barack is bad for America, especially if you want to vote for the guy because he can deliver a speech.

Leave a Reply

